Knowledge Synthesis Grants

Leveraging public investments in higher education research and development to stimulate innovation

Warning This funding opportunity is no longer offered. For information on currently offered SSHRC funding opportunities, see Funding

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Value and Duration
Application Process
Evaluation and Adjudication
Administrative Regulations and Related Information
Contact Information


Innovation is key to improving Canada’s productivity, economic prosperity and quality of life. Research and development (R&D) is an important factor in stimulating innovation. Key participants in R&D—both as funders and as performers—are found in the private, higher education and not-for-profit sectors, as well as in government departments and agencies.

Several recent reports have noted that Canada has a relatively high level of investment in higher education R&D (HERD), low levels of business expenditures on R&D (BERD), and weak indicators of innovation and productivity. The research performed in Canada’s higher education sector is world-class and delivers many tangible and intangible benefits for Canadians. Focusing in on one subset of such benefits, a question of concern for government policy-makers is “How can we ensure that our public investments in HERD do more to stimulate innovation and economic growth?”

Canada’s granting agencies have experience in targeting HERD investments in cross-sectoral partnerships, large-scale multiyear networks, and technology transfer and knowledge translation, and in targeting investments to particular priority areas. Canada’s federal science and technology (S&T) strategy of 2007 (Mobilizing Science and Technology to Canada’s Advantage) also targeted innovation—for instance by setting federal S&T priorities. Canada’s provincial governments, universities and colleges have also undertaken different strategies that focus on engaging with the private sector and on generating economic benefits in the short and longer term.

Canada has multidisciplinary research expertise on: regional innovation and clusters, firm-level dynamics, and the dynamics of formal research networks, to mention only a few. Internationally, the field of science policy has developed considerably, and there are active networks of researchers addressing innovation strategies in general, as well as in particular industrial sectors and particular national contexts.

These bodies of research can inform and provide an evidence base for future directions in Canadian S&T policy. Recognizing the potential of this existing research, Industry Canada has partnered with SSHRC to offer this funding opportunity for Knowledge Synthesis Grants on leveraging public investments in HERD to stimulate innovation.


The specific objectives of this funding opportunity are to:

  • describe the state of knowledge about international best practices in leveraging public investments in R&D in the higher education sector in order to stimulate innovation;
  • mobilize knowledge about innovation and innovation systems between the academic and public policy sectors; and
  • form the basis of dialogue between academic researchers, and science and innovation policy-makers in government.

Knowledge Synthesis Grants are not intended to support original research. They are intended to support the synthesis of existing research knowledge and the identification of knowledge gaps in a format that is accessible for a particular audience—in this case, primarily government policy-makers.

Supported knowledge syntheses should examine the experiences of various national and subnational funders and performers of HERD—both in Canada and abroad—with different strategies to ensure that public investment in HERD brings greater economic benefit. Supported syntheses should also examine the applicability of these strategies to the Canadian context.

Syntheses should focus on what the emerging best practices are in one or more of the following areas:

  1. creating and sustaining effective networks, collaboration and linkages of higher education researchers with industry, communities, governments and others;
  2. supporting cross-disciplinary research for greater innovation potential;
  3. the transfer of knowledge from higher education institutions to industry, including through technology transfer; commercialization; management of intellectual property agreements; and the mobility of people trained in research; and
  4. stimulating and supporting knowledge receptor capacity in industry, including the role of government-funded or private sector intermediaries in identifying opportunities for university research to support firm and market objectives and needs.

This call for proposals invites applications from researchers in various disciplines (including, but not limited to, economics, public policy, business, geography and sociology, and multidisciplinary approaches) that can inform and contribute to science and innovation policy.


Value and Duration

Grants are worth up to $25,000 over 14 weeks. Up to 12 grants will be awarded.

A draft of the resulting synthesis must be submitted by April 30, 2012. All reports must be completed by May 15, 2012.

Successful applicants or their delegates will be expected to attend a launch meeting in Vancouver in February 2012 (during the American Association for the Advancement of Science annual meeting) and a knowledge exchange meeting between researchers and government policy-makers in Waterloo in June 2012 (during the annual Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences). Travel costs for these meetings should be included in the budget submitted with the application.



Note: The term “institution” from hereon in this description refers to both postsecondary institutions and not-for-profit organizations.


Applicants must be affiliated with an eligible Canadian institution at the time of application.

Applicants who have received a SSHRC grant of any type but have failed to submit a final research report by the deadline specified in their Notice of Award are not eligible to apply for another SSHRC grant until they have submitted the report.

Postdoctoral fellows/researchers are eligible to apply for a Knowledge Synthesis Grant. However, in order for SSHRC to release grant funds, successful applicants must formally establish an affiliation with an eligible Canadian institution before the grant is awarded, and maintain such an affiliation for the duration of the grant period.


Co-applicants may be individuals from any of the following:

  • Canadian: Postsecondary institutions; not-for-profit organizations; philanthropic foundations; and municipal, territorial or provincial governments.
  • International: Postsecondary institutions.


Any individual who will make a significant contribution to the research initiative is eligible to be a collaborator. Collaborators do not need to be affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution. Collaborators may be individuals from any of the following:

Canadian or international: Postsecondary institutions; not-for-profit organizations; public sector or private sector organizations; philanthropic foundations; think tanks; and municipal, territorial, provincial or federal governments.

Note that individuals from the private sector or federal government may only participate as collaborators.


Grant funds may only be administered by an eligible Canadian institution. Federal, provincial, territorial and municipal government departments and for-profit organizations are not eligible to administer SSHRC funds.

Note: Any institution that wishes to administer SSHRC funding for a Knowledge Synthesis Grant and is not currently on SSHRC’s list of eligible institutions, should contact SSHRC immediately at


Application Process

The application must include the following:

  1. a letter (maximum four pages) containing:

    • a description of the knowledge synthesis project, including the significance, expected contribution and impact of the proposed synthesis, contextualized within the current literature and accounting for previous work done in the area(s);
    • an outline of the relevant expertise and experience of the applicant/team;
    • a work plan, including timelines, and a description of the proposed methodology and approach; and
    • the applicant’s signature;
  2. an itemized budget (maximum two pages), including justification of all proposed expenditures;
  3. the SSHRC web-based CV for each applicant and co-applicant;
  4. a separate page containing an authorized signature from the applicant’s institution certifying that the institution will administer any award in accordance with SSHRC policies; and
  5. the signed Consent to Disclosure of Personal Information.

All application materials must be submitted in hard copy and must be received by January 27, 2012.

Deliver complete applications by regular mail, by courier or by hand to the address below. Applications submitted in whole or in part by any other means (such as fax or email) will not be considered.

Tim Russwurm
Chief of Staff, Office of the President
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
16th Floor, 350 Albert Street
P.O. Box 1610
Ottawa, ON  K1P 6G4
Tel.: 613-995-5488


Evaluation and Adjudication

An expert adjudication committee will assess all applications using the following criteria:


  • expected contribution to the objectives of the funding opportunity;
  • significance of the chosen area(s) for synthesis, based on the issues identified in this call for proposals; and
  • potential influence and impact on informing policy and practice in the public, private and not-for-profit sectors, and on identifying research gaps that might be addressed in a forward-looking research agenda in the chosen area(s).


  • ability to meet the objectives of the funding opportunity;
  • appropriateness of the methodology or approach and of the work plan, including the timelines for the design and conduct of the activity; and
  • appropriateness of the requested budget.


  • qualifications of the applicant/team for carrying out the proposed project (including expertise in the content area to be covered by the synthesis, expertise in synthesis methods, expertise in information retrieval, etc.).


Administrative Regulations

All applicants and grant holders must comply with the Regulations Governing Grant Applications and with the regulations set out in the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide.

For descriptions of SSHRC terms, see Definitions of Terms.

Successful applicants will be required to share the results of their project with SSHRC. SSHRC will use this information to develop its policies and practices. It may also share this information with other interested sectors of the Government of Canada. This does not in any way limit how researchers may otherwise publish or use the results of their research.


Contact Information

For more information about this funding opportunity, or for advice on how to prepare your application, please contact:

Adam Holbrook
Scientific Director
Tel.: 778-782-5192
Fax: 778-782-5239

Catherine Beaudry
Associate Scientific Director
Tel.: 514-340-4711 ext. 3357
Fax: 514-340-4173

Suzanne Board
Senior Policy Analyst, Policy, Planning, Governance and International
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
Tel.: 613-992-4301
Fax: 613-943-1153

Tim Russwurm
Chief of Staff, Office of the President
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
Tel.: 613-992-0502
Fax: 613-995-5498

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

COVID-19 : impact sur les programmes du CRSH, base de données d'experts et perspectives de la communauté.


Subventions de synthèse des connaissances

Optimiser les investissements publics en recherche et en développement dans le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur pour inciter l’innovation

Avertissement Cette occasion de financement n’est plus disponible. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les occasions de financement actuellement offertes par le CRSH, consultez la section Financement.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Contexte
Description
Valeur et durée
Admissibilité
Processus de mise en candidature
Évaluation et sélection
Règlements administratifs et renseignements supplémentaires
Coordonnées


Contexte

L’innovation est un élément essentiel à l’amélioration de la productivité, de la prospérité économique et de la qualité de vie au Canada. Les travaux de recherche et de développement (R et D) contribuent énormément à stimuler l’innovation. Les principaux participants au R et D – tant ceux qui financent les projets que ceux qui les exécutent – appartiennent au secteur privé, au secteur de l’enseignement supérieur, au secteur sans but lucratif ainsi qu'à des ministères et à des organismes gouvernementaux.

De récents rapports révèlent que le Canada, en comparaison d'autres pays, possède un niveau élevé de dépenses intramuros de R et D du secteur de l'enseignement supérieur (DIRDES), de faibles taux de dépenses intramuros de R et D du secteur des entreprises (DIRDE) ainsi que de faibles indicateurs d’innovation et de productivité. Les travaux de recherche du secteur de l’enseignement supérieur du Canada sont de calibre mondial et présentent de nombreux avantages tangibles et abstraits pour les Canadiens. En ciblant une partie de ces avantages, les responsables de l’élaboration de politiques gouvernementales veulent trouver des façons pour les DIRDES de stimuler encore plus l’innovation et la croissance économique.

Les organismes subventionnaires canadiens ont déjà employé des stratégies visant à cibler les DIRDES pour stimuler l’innovation, par exemple en appuyant davantage les partenariats intersectoriels, les réseaux pluriannuels à grande échelle, les fonctions de transfert de technologie et de diffusion des connaissances et aussi, en ciblant des domaines prioritaires précis. La stratégie sur les sciences et la technologie du Canada de 2007 (Réaliser le potentiel des sciences et de la technologie au profit du Canada) a également ciblé l’innovation, en déterminant les priorités fédérales en sciences et en technologie entre autres. Les gouvernements provinciaux du Canada, les universités et les collèges ont aussi élaboré diverses stratégies axées sur l’engagement avec le secteur privé et sur les retombées économiques à court et à long terme.

Le Canada dispose d’une expertise de recherche multidisciplinaire au sujet entre autres de l’innovation régionale et des grappes; des dynamiques au niveau de l’entreprise; et des dynamiques des réseaux formels de recherche. À l’échelle internationale, le domaine des politiques scientifiques s’est considérablement développé et il existe des réseaux actifs de chercheurs qui se penchent sur les stratégies liées à l’innovation en général et dans des secteurs industriels particuliers ainsi que dans des contextes nationaux particuliers.

Ces connaissances peuvent éclairer l’orientation future des politiques canadiennes sur les sciences et la technologie et déterminer une orientation basée sur les faits. Dans l’optique de ce potentiel, Industrie Canada a établi un partenariat avec le CRSH afin d’offrir des subventions de synthèse des connaissances sur les façons d’optimiser la valeur des investissements publics en R et D dans le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur pour inciter l’innovation.


Description

Les objectifs particuliers de cette occasion de financement sont les suivants :

  • décrire l’état des connaissances sur les pratiques exemplaires internationales visant à optimiser les investissements publics en R et D dans le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur pour inciter l’innovation;
  • mobiliser les connaissances au sujet de l’innovation et des systèmes d’innovation entre le secteur universitaire et le secteur de l’élaboration des politiques publiques;
  • établir un dialogue entre les chercheurs universitaires et les responsables de l’élaboration de politiques gouvernementales en sciences et en innovation.

Les subventions de synthèse des connaissances ne doivent pas servir à mener de nouveaux travaux de recherche. Elles visent à soutenir la synthèse de connaissances existantes et de l’identification de lacunes dans un format accessible à un public en particulier, en l’occurrence, les responsables de l’élaboration de politiques gouvernementales.

Les synthèses de connaissances devraient porter sur les expériences de divers acteurs qui financent et exécutent les projets en R et D dans le secteur d’enseignement supérieur à l’échelle nationale et infranationale – au Canada et à l’étranger – relativement à diverses stratégies pour s’assurer que ces investissements en R et D génèrent des retombées économiques importantes. Les synthèses appuyées devraient également porter sur l’applicabilité de ces stratégies dans le contexte canadien.

Les synthèses devraient porter sur les pratiques exemplaires émergentes dans l’un ou plusieurs des contextes énoncés ci-dessous:

  1. créer et soutenir des réseaux, des collaborations et des liens efficaces entre les chercheurs dans le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur et les intervenants des entreprises, des communautés, des gouvernements, etc.;
  2. appuyer la recherche interdisciplinaire pour accroître le potentiel d’innovation;
  3. transférer des connaissances des établissements d’enseignement supérieur aux entreprises, y compris au moyen du transfert de technologie, de la commercialisation, de la gestion des ententes liées à la propriété intellectuelle et de la mobilité des personnes formées dans les domaines de la recherche;
  4. stimuler et appuyer la capacité des récepteurs de connaissances dans les entreprises, y compris le rôle des intermédiaires financés par le gouvernement ou par le secteur privé en déterminant les occasions pour la recherche universitaire d’appuyer les objectifs et les besoins des entreprises et des marchés.

Cet appel de propositions invite les demandes des chercheurs de diverses disciplines (notamment l’économie, les politiques publiques, les affaires, la géographie et la sociologie ainsi que les approches multidisciplinaires) qui peuvent enrichir et améliorer les politiques liées aux sciences et à l’innovation.


Top

Valeur et durée

Les subventions sont d’au plus 25 000 $ et d’une durée de 14 semaines. On peut attribuer un maximum de 12 subventions.

Une ébauche de la synthèse doit être présentée au plus tard le 30 avril 2012. Tous les rapports doivent être complétés avant le 15 mai 2012.

Les candidats retenus ou leurs représentants devront participer à une réunion de lancement à Vancouver en février 2012 (durant la réunion de l’American Association for the Advancement of Science) et à une réunion de partage des connaissances entre les chercheurs et les responsables de l’élaboration de politiques gouvernementales à Waterloo en juin 2012 (durant le Congrès annuel des sciences humaines). Les frais de déplacement pour se rendre à ces réunions devraient être inclus dans le budget soumis dans le cadre de la demande.


Top

Admissibilité

Remarque : Dans les paragraphes suivants, le terme établissement fait référence à la fois aux établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et aux organismes sans but lucratif.

Candidats

Les candidats doivent être affiliés à un établissement canadien admissible au moment de présenter la demande.

Les candidats ayant reçu une subvention du CRSH qui n'ont pas remis leur rapport final de recherche avant la date limite indiquée dans l’avis d'attribution ne peuvent pas soumettre une nouvelle demande avant d’avoir remis leur rapport.

Les chercheurs postdoctoraux peuvent présenter une demande de subvention de synthèse des connaissances. Toutefois, pour que le CRSH libère les fonds, les candidats retenus doivent s'affilier officiellement à un établissement canadien admissible avant la date de l’attribution de la subvention et conserver cette affiliation durant la période de subvention.

Cocandidats

Les cocandidats peuvent provenir de l’un des types d’organisme suivants :

  • Au Canada : établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire, organismes sans but lucratif, organisations caritatives, administrations municipales et gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux.
  • À l’étranger : établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire.

Collaborateurs

Toutes les personnes qui feront une contribution importante à l’initiative de recherche peuvent détenir le statut de collaborateur. Les collaborateurs n’ont pas à être affiliés à un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible. Les collaborateurs peuvent provenir de l’un des types d’organisme suivants :

Au Canada ou à l’étranger : établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire, organismes sans but lucratif, organismes des secteurs public ou privé, organisations caritatives, groupes de réflexion, gouvernement fédéral, administrations municipales et gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux.

Les membres du secteur privé et du gouvernement fédéral ne peuvent participer qu’à titre de collaborateurs.

Établissements

Les subventions ne peuvent être administrées que par un établissement canadien admissible. Les ministères fédéraux, les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux ainsi que les organismes à but lucratif ne peuvent pas administrer de fonds du CRSH.

Remarque : Tout établissement qui désire administrer les fonds du CRSH attribués dans le cadre d’une subvention de synthèse des connaissances qui ne figure pas sur la liste des établissements admissibles devrait communiquer immédiatement avec le CRSH à secretariat@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.


Top

Processus de mise en candidature

La demande doit comprendre les éléments suivants :

  1. une lettre (maximum de quatre pages) qui comprend ce qui suit :

    • une description du projet de synthèse des connaissances montrant l’importance, la contribution prévue et l’impact de la synthèse proposée, tenant compte de la documentation actuelle et des travaux déjà réalisés dans les secteurs concernés;
    • un aperçu de l’expertise et de l’expérience pertinentes du candidat ou de l’équipe;
    • un plan de travail comprenant un calendrier et une description de la méthodologie ou de l’approche proposée;
    • la signature du candidat.
  2. un budget détaillé (maximum de deux pages) comportant une justification de toutes les dépenses;
  3. le C.V. Web du CRSH de chaque candidat ou cocandidat;
  4. une page distincte présentant la signature autorisée de l’établissement du candidat garantissant que l’établissement administrera le financement conformément aux politiques du CRSH;
  5. le Consentement à la divulgation de renseignements personnels dûment signé.

Tous les documents concernant la demande doivent être reçus sous forme imprimée au plus tard le 27 janvier 2012.

Les demandes complètes doivent être transmises par courrier ordinaire, par messagerie ou en personne à l’adresse ci-dessous. Les demandes présentées en entier ou en partie par d’autres moyens (comme le télécopieur ou le courriel) ne sont pas acceptées.

Tim Russwurm
Chef du personnel, Bureau du président
Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines
350, rue Albert, 16e étage
C.P. 1610
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 6G4
Tél. : 613-995-5488


Top

Évaluation et sélection

Un comité de sélection d’experts évalue toutes les demandes en fonction des critères énoncés ci-dessous.

Défi :

  • la contribution prévue au respect des objectifs et de la portée de l’occasion de financement;
  • la pertinence qu’ont les secteurs choisis pour la synthèse en fonction des questions énoncées dans cet appel de propositions;
  • la possibilité d’avoir un impact sur l'élaboration des politiques et des pratiques des secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif ainsi que de déterminer les lacunes de recherche pouvant faire l’objet de travaux novateurs dans les secteurs choisis.

Pertinence :

  • la capacité de se conformer aux objectifs et à la portée de l’occasion de financement;
  • le caractère adéquat de la méthodologie ou de l’approche et du plan de travail, ce qui comprend le calendrier de la conception et de la tenue de l’activité;
  • le caractère adéquat du budget demandé.

Capacité :

  • les qualifications du candidat ou de l’équipe concernant la réalisation du projet proposé (ce qui comprend l’expertise liée au secteur couvert par la synthèse ainsi que l’expertise relative aux méthodes de synthèse et à la recherche documentaire).


Top

Règlements administratifs et renseignements supplémentaires

Tous les candidats et les détenteurs de subvention doivent répondre aux exigences des Règlements régissant les demandes de subvention et des règlements du Guide d'administration financière des trois organismes.

Pour obtenir la définition des termes utilisés par le CRSH, veuillez consulter la page Définitions.

Les candidats retenus devront partager les résultats de leur travaux avec le CRSH, qui les utilisera afin d’élaborer des politiques et des pratiques ou qui pourra possiblement partager ces renseignements avec d’autres secteurs intéressés du gouvernement du Canada, ce qui ne limite nullement la publication ou l’utilisation de ces résultats par les chercheurs.


Coordonnées

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur cette occasion de financement ou des conseils sur la préparation de votre demande, veuillez communiquer avec :

Adam Holbrook
Directeur scientifique
Tél. : 778-782-5192
Téléc. : 778-782-5239
Courriel : jholbroo@sfu.ca

Catherine Beaudry
Directrice scientifique associée
Tél. : 514-340-4711, poste 3357
Téléc. : 514-340-4173
Courriel : catherine.beaudry@polymtl.ca

Suzanne Board
Analyste principale des politiques, Politiques, planification et affaires internationales
Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines
Tél. : 613-992-4301
Téléc. : 613-943-1153
Courriel : suzanne.board@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Tim Russwurm
Chef du personnel, Bureau du président
Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines
Tél. : 613-992-0502
Téléc. : 613-995-5498
Courriel : tim.russwurm@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca