COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Thérèse F. Casgrain Fellowship

Warning This funding opportunity is not currently offered. For information on currently offered SSHRC funding opportunities, see Funding

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

October 2010 Competition

Objectives
Description
Value and Duration
Eligibility
Evaluation and Adjudication
Administrative Regulations
More Information


Objectives

The Thérèse F. Casgrain Fellowship supports research on women and social change in Canada.


Top

Description

This program is administered by SSHRC on behalf of the Thérèse F. Casgrain Foundation , which was established in 1982 to perpetuate the memory of Thérèse F. Casgrain by encouraging others to pursue her thought and action in the field of social justice.

This fellowship supports research in the field of social justice, particularly in defence of individual rights and the promotion of the economic and social interests of Canadian women. The Foundation is particularly interested in research that includes a discussion of public policy options and makes concrete recommendations for change.


Value and Duration

The non-renewable fellowship, tenable for 12 months and only in Canada, is available every fourth year. The award consists of a $40,000 stipend, paid in three instalments, of which up to $10,000 may be used for travel and research expenses. Note that the successful applicant must take up the award between April 1 and October 1 following the announcement of awards.


Top

Eligibility

Applicants

Applicants must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada. Preference will be given to applicants with at least five years of proven research experience in their field, as this fellowship is not intended for scholars just beginning their research careers. Accordingly, this award may not be used to complete the requirements for a degree program. Please note that applicants, and anyone else participating in any capacity in the proposed project, must not be under SSHRC sanction for financial or research misconduct.

Note: Affiliation with a university or an appropriate research institute or similar organization is desirable, but is not a condition of the award.

Institutions

Institutions that propose to administer any fellowship awarded under this program must meet the requirements for the management of SSHRC funds and hold or obtain institutional eligibility.


Evaluation and Adjudication

All applications for the Thérèse F. Casgrain Fellowship are reviewed by a multidisciplinary selection committee of experts from the research community. Applications are evaluated according to these criteria:

  • academic achievement, experience, publication record and research aptitude of the applicant;
  • quality of the proposed research project;
  • applicant's discussion of policy options and concrete recommendations for change in Canadian society.

Top

Administrative Regulations

Applicants must comply with SSHRC's Regulations Governing Grant Applications and with the regulations set out in the Grant Holder's Guide. In particular, the Financial Administration section of the Guide gives detailed information on eligible and ineligible expenses.


More Information

For more information about the Thérèse F. Casgrain Fellowship, please contact:

Thérése F. Casgrain Fellowship
Fellowships and Institutional Grants Division
SSHRC
350 Albert Street
P.O. Box 1610
Ottawa, ON K1P 6G4

Tel.: 613-943-7777
Fax: 613-943-1329
Email: fellowships@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

COVID-19 : impact sur les programmes du CRSH, base de données d'experts et perspectives de la communauté.


Bourse Thérèse-F.-Casgrain

Avertissement Cette occasion de financement n’est pas disponible pour l'instant. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les occasions de financement actuellement offertes par le CRSH, consultez la section Financement.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Concours de octobre 2010

Objectifs
Description
Valeur et durée
Admissibilité
Évaluation et sélection
Règlements administratifs
Renseignements supplémentaires


Objectifs

La bourse Thérèse-F.-Casgrain a pour objectif d'appuyer la recherche sur les femmes et le changement social au Canada.


Top

Description

Administré par le CRSH au nom de la Fondation Thérèse-F.-Casgrain, ce programme a été créé en 1982 pour perpétuer la mémoire de Thérèse F. Casgrain en incitant d'autres personnes à poursuivre leur réflexion et leur action pour la justice sociale.

Cette bourse appuie la recherche dans le domaine de la justice sociale, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux droits individuels et à la promotion des intérêts socio-économiques des femmes canadiennes. La Fondation s'intéresse en particulier à toute recherche qui examine les politiques d'intérêt public et qui conduit à des recommandations concrètes de changement.


Valeur et durée

La bourse de 12 mois, non renouvelable et utilisable au Canada seulement, est mise en concours tous les quatre ans. La bourse consiste en une allocation de 40 000 $, payée en trois versements, dont 10 000 $ peuvent servir à couvrir les frais de déplacement et de recherche. Le boursier doit toucher sa bourse entre le 1er avril et le 1er octobre de l'année pour laquelle la bourse est octroyée.


Top

Admissibilité

Candidats

Les candidats doivent être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents du Canada. Ceux qui ont au moins cinq ans d'expérience de recherche reconnue dans leur domaine obtiendront la préférence. La bourse n'est pas destinée aux nouveaux chercheurs. Par conséquent, la bourse ne peut pas servir à l'obtention d'un diplôme. Veuillez noter que le candidat et toute autre personne participant d'une façon ou d'une autre au projet de recherche proposé ne doivent pas faire l'objet d'une sanction du CRSH pour inconduite en matière de finances ou de recherche.

Remarque : Il est souhaitable mais non obligatoire que le candidat soit affilié à une université, à un établissement de recherche reconnu ou à un organisme du même genre.

Établissements

Les établissements qui offrent d'administrer les bourses accordées dans le cadre de ce programme doivent répondre aux exigences en matière de gestion des fonds du CRSH ainsi qu'être ou devenir admissibles à le faire.


Évaluation et sélection

Un comité de sélection multidisciplinaire se composant de spécialistes de la communauté des chercheurs évalue toutes les demandes présentées pour l'obtention de la bourse Thérèse-F.-Casgrain en se fondant sur les critères suivants :

  • les réalisations universitaires, l'expérience, le dossier de publications et l'aptitude à la recherche du candidat;
  • la qualité du projet de recherche proposé;
  • une discussion sur les politiques possibles et les recommandations concrètes visant le changement de la société canadienne.

Top

Règlements administratifs

Tous les candidats doivent répondre aux exigences des Règlements régissant les demandes de bourse et des règlements du Guide des détenteurs de bourse. Plus particulièrement, la section du guide portant sur l'administration financière donne des détails concernant les dépenses admissibles et non admissibles.


Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la Bourse Thérèse-F.-Casgrain, veuillez communiquer avec :

Bourse Thérèse-F.-Casgrain
Bourses et des Subventions institutionnelles
CRSH
350, rue Albert
C.P. 1610
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 6G4

Tél. : 613-943-7777
Téléc : 613-943-1329
Courriel : bourses@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca