Shared Services Canada System Maintenance Notice

Please note that the network will not be available for 15 min on December 3, 2022, anytime between 19:00 and 23:00 (EST).


COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Application Instructions—SSHRC Institutional Grants


NewSIG application is online this year

The institutional representative—research grants officer (RGO) or equivalent—must complete the SSHRC Institutional Grant (SIG) application form on the Convergence Portal and upload all necessary supporting documents.

Note that if you do not yet have RGO access for your institution, you will need to contact SIG@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca to request that you be granted such access. Since this process can take a few days, we strongly recommend that all new Convergence Portal users begin the application process early.

Before filling out the application form, read the SIG funding opportunity description to ensure that your institution meets all requirements. In addition, we recommend that you read this entire document before starting your application.


Help


If you are having problems with the online application, contact the Online Services Helpdesk by email at websupport@convergence.gc.ca or by phone at 613-995-4273.



Application process

Creating an account and application on the Convergence Portal

Creating an account

If you are a new user, you need to create a Convergence Portal account and receive research grants officer (RGO) status from SSHRC before you can access the SSHRC Institutional Grants (SIG) application form:

Creating an application

Note: The portal saves your work so that you can log out before completing and submitting your application. When you log back in, go to the “Institutional applications” tab and your draft application should be listed there.


Accommodations and accessibility

If you need help completing online application forms due to circumstances arising from a disability, contact your institution (scholarship liaison officer, research grant office or other applicant support office) as early in the application process as possible to investigate available supports. If your institution cannot provide help, or needs SSHRC to collaborate on a solution, contact SSHRC at accommodations-adaptation@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca. You can also contact SSHRC if you have questions or are seeking specific adaptation arrangements. You do not need to share your medical or sensitive personal information, and, to protect your privacy, should avoid doing so.

Frequently requested accommodations include, but are not limited to:


Instructions for completing the data input table for full-time teaching staff (mandatory)

These instructions are also available on the first tab of the Excel template for the data input table.

Application format

The application attachment must be saved as a PDF file before it can be uploaded with your application.

Postsecondary institutions—Complete “Staff-main” tab

Indicate the number of full-time teaching staff, broken down by department, whose disciplines fall within the humanities and social sciences as of September 2021. Table 1 lists the disciplines eligible under SSHRC’s mandate.

Full-time teaching staff includes all academic staff within faculties who are teachers and/or senior academic staff (e.g., deans, chairpersons, directors), full-time research staff who have an academic rank and a salary scale similar to teaching staff, and staff appointed for a minimum of 12 months who are teaching a full load.

Do not include the following:

Feel free to add rows to the list of full-time teaching staff if you need more space than what has been provided.

Affiliated or federated institutions—Complete “Staff-affiliated” tab

Note: A parent institution can apply for funds for an affiliated or federated institution only if that institution is not eligible to apply directly to the SIG funding opportunity.

To be eligible to apply directly to the SIG funding opportunity, affiliated or federated institutions must:

Indicate the name of the federated/affiliated institution as well as that of the parent institution.

Indicate the number of full-time teaching staff, broken down by department, according to the same instructions as above.

If you need to enter information for more than one federated/affiliated institution, create a new tab in the Excel file as follows:

Table 1

Disciplines eligible under SSHRC’s mandate

Anthropology

Archaeology

Archival science

Classics, classical and dead languages

Communications and media studies

Criminology

Demography

Economics

Education

Fine arts

Folklore

Geography

History

Industrial relations

Interdisciplinary studies

Law

Library and information science

Linguistics

Literature and modern languages

Management, business and administrative studies

Mediaeval studies

Philosophy

Political science

Psychology

Religious studies

Social work

Sociology

Urban and regional studies and environmental studies

Women’s studies

Completing the institutional plan for the use, distribution and governance of funds (mandatory)

Maximum three pages

Application format

The application attachment must be saved as a PDF file before it can be uploaded with your application. Ensure that the document matches these specifications:

Application content

Explain any acronyms and abbreviations used.

  1. Institutional plan for the use of SIG funds

    Describe the institution’s plan to use the SIG funds to award SSHRC Explore and Exchange grants that will develop, maintain and/or enhance research in the social sciences and humanities.

    Outline the activities that will be undertaken and state how the initiatives pursued will meet the SIG objectives. In addition, describe how they will influence or otherwise have an impact on the social sciences and humanities and/or broader community.

    Note: Institutions eligible to receive a supplement must provide a separate plan for its use only if the funds are to be used for capacity-building projects that exceed $7,000 each. The separate plan for the supplement can be included as a subsection of the “Institutional plan for the use of SIG funds.”

  2. Governance structure

    Using an organizational chart, outline the governance structure in relation to the administration and stewardship of SIG funds. Staff responsibility should be clearly identified.

  3. Method of distribution of funds within the institution

    Describe how SIG funds are distributed at the institution (e.g., centrally, by faculty, by department) and why these distribution methods were chosen. Explain how decisions are made regarding the distribution of funds and how the institution monitors the grants and collects data on the research outputs resulting from the grant.

  4. Merit review processes

    Describe the institution’s internal application processes and eligibility criteria. Provide details on the merit review process in place at the institution used to award SIG funding and how it is managed. Include information on the number of competitions held per year, how selection committees are structured, how members are chosen and how membership is renewed. Explain how the institution monitors the rigour and fairness of the processes.


Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Subventions institutionnelles du CRSH – Instructions pour la préparation de la demande


Nouveauté – La demande doit être présentée en ligne cette année

Le représentant de l'établissement – agent des subventions de recherche ou l'équivalent – doit remplir le formulaire de demande de subventions institutionnelles du CRSH dans le portail Convergence et téléviser tous les documents à l’appui nécessaires.

Veuillez noter que si vous n'avez pas encore le statut d'agent des subventions de recherche pour votre établissement, vous devrez envoyer un message à SIG@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca. Étant donné que ce processus peut prendre quelques jours, nous recommandons vivement à tous les nouveaux utilisateurs du portail Convergence d’amorcer le processus rapidement.

Avant de remplir le formulaire de demande, lisez la description de l'occasion de financement afin de vous assurer que votre établissement satisfait à toutes les exigences. En outre, nous vous recommandons de lire l'intégralité du présent document avant de commencer à remplir le formulaire de demande.


Aide


Si vous avez des problèmes avec la demande en ligne, communiquez avec le Bureau de soutien des services en ligne, par courriel (soutienweb@convergence.gc.ca) ou par téléphone (613-995-4273).



Présentation de la demande

Création d'un compte et d'une demande dans le portail Convergence

Création d'un compte

Si vous êtes un nouvel utilisateur, vous devez créer un compte dans le portail Convergence et obtenir du CRSH le statut d'agent des subventions de recherche avant de pouvoir accéder au formulaire de demande de subvention institutionnelle du CRSH :

Création d'une demande

Remarque : Le portail enregistre vos données afin que vous puissiez vous déconnecter et continuer de remplir la demande ultérieurement. Lorsque vous vous reconnectez, allez à l'onglet « Demandes de l'établissement ». Votre demande devrait y figurer.


Adaptation et accessibilité

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour remplir le formulaire de demande en ligne en raison de circonstances découlant d'un handicap, communiquez avec votre établissement (agent de liaison des bourses, bureau des subventions de recherche ou autre bureau de soutien aux candidats) le plus tôt possible dans le processus de demande afin de vous renseigner sur les mesures de soutien disponibles. Si votre établissement ne peut pas vous aider ou s'il a besoin de la collaboration du CRSH pour trouver une solution, écrivez à CRSH à accommodations-adaptation@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca. Vous pouvez également communiquer avec le CRSH si vous avez des questions ou si vous souhaitez obtenir des mesures d'adaptation particulières. Vous n'avez pas à communiquer vos renseignements médicaux ni vos renseignements personnels de nature délicate. D’ailleurs, pour protéger votre vie privée, vous devriez éviter de le faire.

Les mesures d'adaptation fréquemment demandées comprennent notamment :


Instructions pour remplir le Tableau de saisie des données pour le personnel enseignant à temps plein (obligatoire)

Ces instructions se trouvent également dans le premier onglet du modèle Excel du Tableau de saisie des données.

Format de la demande

La pièce jointe à la demande doit être enregistrée en format PDF avant d'être téléversée avec votre demande.

Établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire – Remplir l'onglet « Personnel – principal »

Indiquez le nombre d'enseignants à temps plein, par département, dont les disciplines relèvent des sciences humaines, à compter de septembre 2021. Le tableau 1 énumère les disciplines admissibles en vertu du mandat du CRSH.

Le personnel enseignant à temps plein comprend tous les membres du personnel des facultés qui sont des professeurs ou des membres du personnel supérieur (par exemple doyens, directeurs), le personnel de recherche à temps plein qui a un rang universitaire et une échelle salariale semblables à ceux du personnel enseignant et le personnel nommé pour une période minimale de 12 mois qui assume une charge d’enseignement complète.

Ne pas inclure les personnes suivantes :

N'hésitez pas à ajouter des lignes à la liste du personnel enseignant à temps plein si vous avez besoin de plus d'espace que ce qui a été prévu.

Établissements affiliés ou fédérés – Remplir l'onglet « Personnel – affilié »

Remarque : Un établissement parent peut demander des fonds pour un établissement affilié ou fédéré uniquement si cet établissement n'est pas admissible à présenter directement une demande à cette occasion de financement.

Pour présenter directement une demande dans le cadre de cette occasion de financement, les établissements affiliés ou fédérés doivent :

Indiquez le nom de l'établissement fédéré ou affilié ainsi que celui de l'établissement parent.

Indiquez le nombre d'enseignants à temps plein, ventilé par département, selon les mêmes instructions que ci-dessus.

Si vous devez saisir des renseignements pour plus d'un établissement fédéré ou affilié, créez un nouvel onglet dans le fichier Excel comme ceci :

Tableau 1

Disciplines admissibles en vertu du mandat du CRSH

Anthropologie

Archéologie

Archivistique

Communication et études médiatiques

Criminologie

Démographie

Économie

Éducation

Beaux-arts

Folklore

Géographie

Histoire

Lettres classiques, langues classiques et langues mortes

Relations industrielles

Études interdisciplinaires

Droit

Bibliothèconomie et sciences de l'information

Linguistique

Littérature et langues modernes

Gestion, affaires et administration

Études médiévales

Philosophie

Sciences politiques

Psychologie

Études religieuses

Travail social

Sociologie

Études urbaines et régionales et de l'études environnement

Études des femmes

Remplir le plan de l'établissement pour l'utilisation, la répartition et la gouvernance des fonds (obligatoire)

Trois pages au maximum

Format de la demande

La pièce jointe à la demande doit être enregistrée en format PDF avant d'être téléversée avec votre demande. Assurez-vous de respecter les exigences suivantes :

Contenu de la demande

Expliquez tous les acronymes et toutes les abréviations utilisés.

  1. Plan de l'établissement pour l'utilisation des fonds

    Décrivez le plan de l'établissement pour l’utilisation des fonds en précisant comment il attribuera les subventions d'exploration et les subventions d'échange de connaissances du CRSH, qui permettront de développer, de maintenir ou d'améliorer la recherche en sciences humaines.

    Décrivez les activités qui seront menées et indiquez comment elles contribueront à l’atteinte des objectifs de cette occasion de financement. De plus, décrivez quelle sera leur influence ou tout autre impact sur les sciences sociales et humaines et (ou) la collectivité en général.

    Remarque : Les établissements pouvant bénéficier d'un supplément doivent fournir un plan distinct pour son utilisation uniquement si les fonds doivent être utilisés pour des projets de renforcement des capacités d’une valeur de plus de 7 000 $ chacun. Le plan distinct pour le supplément peut être inclus en tant que sous-section du plan de l'établissement pour l'utilisation des fonds SIG.

  2. Structure de gouvernance

    À l'aide d'un organigramme, décrivez la structure de gouvernance en lien avec l'administration et la gestion des fonds. Les responsabilités du personnel doivent être clairement définies.

  3. Méthode de répartition des fonds au sein de l'établissement

    Décrivez comment les fonds sont répartis au sein de l'établissement (p. ex. de manière centralisée, par faculté, par département) et pourquoi ces méthodes de répartition ont été choisies. Expliquez comment les décisions sont prises en ce qui concerne la répartition des fonds et comment l'établissement fait le suivi et recueille des données sur les extrants de recherche résultant des subventions.

  4. Processus d'évaluation du mérite

    Décrivez les mécanismes de demande internes de l'établissement et les critères d'admissibilité. Fournissez des détails sur le processus d'évaluation du mérite que l'établissement a mis en place pour attribuer les fonds et sur la manière dont il est géré. Incluez des informations sur le nombre de concours organisés par année, la manière dont les comités de sélection sont structurés, la manière dont les membres sont choisis et la manière dont l'adhésion est renouvelée. Expliquez comment l'établissement supervise la rigueur et l'équité du processus.


Date de modification :