COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Application Instructions—Canada Graduate Scholarships—Michael Smith Foreign Study Supplement

Introduction

Applicants must complete the SSHRC web-based Canada Graduate Scholarships—Michael Smith Foreign Study Supplements (CGS—MSFSS) application form

Information to read before applying:

Signature

After you have verified and printed your application, proofread it carefully. By signing the application, the applicant confirms that they:

Consent to disclosure—Mandatory

In accordance with the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research, applicants must also complete and sign the Consent to Disclosure of Personal Information Form and include it with their application.

Application deadline

The deadline for the CGS—MSFSS program is June 10, 2021. However, all eligible candidates must submit their applications by the internal deadline set by their institution. Contact the Faculty of Graduate Studies (or its equivalent) to confirm this deadline.

Where to submit your application

If you are a qualified applicant, you must complete the necessary documentation and submit it to the Faculty of Graduate Studies (or its equivalent) in hard copy format for consideration. Refer to the CGS—MSFSS program description for more information on the selection process. A complete application consists of:

  1. the online CGS—MSFSS application form, completed and signed;
  2. the detailed description of proposed research (research proposal) (max. 2 pages);
  3. a Letter of Support from the current research supervisor (max. 1 page);
  4. a Letter of Support from the host supervisor (max. 1 page); and
  5. the completed, printed and signed Consent to Disclosure of Personal Information form.

Acknowledgement of receipt of applications

SSHRC will acknowledge receipt of your printed and signed application form and will assign you an application number. Cite this number in all correspondence with us. This acknowledgement refers only to the receipt of your application, not to its completeness or its eligibility in the competition.


Identification

Provide the information requested using the "List…" button. The Country list will appear. Select the country, the province or state (if applicable), then the organization. If the appropriate information is not listed, select "Other" from the list and type the information in the box provided.

Title of research proposal

Provide a short, descriptive title for your intended research in nontechnical terms. Restrict use of acronyms (e.g., UN, NATO). Use sentence-style capitalization, uppercasing only the first word of the title, proper nouns and acronyms.

Active scholarship

Funding opportunity name and file number

Indicate the program, i.e., Canada Graduate Scholarships (CGS) Doctoral Program or Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship (Vanier CGS), and application number (e.g., 767-2019-1234; 201911DVC-123456-SSH-CBBA-987654). If you are a Canada Graduate Scholarships Master’s holder, write “CGS–Master’s”.

End date

Indicate the end date of your active CGS. The CGS—MSFSS award can only begin while the CGS award is still active (before the end date of the active CGS).

Applicant

Names and initials

SSHRC uses the information you provide here to address its correspondence to you.

If you use your second or third name as your given name, see the examples below for help in completing the initials box.

Example 1: A.J. Paul Moore

If you prefer to have your initials appear before your given name, you would enter:

Given Name Initials Family Name
A.J. Paul   Moore

SSHRC correspondence would address you as Mr. A.J. Paul Moore.

Example 2: Joanne Francine Mélanie Trudeau (normally addressed as Mélanie)

If you usually use your second or third name as your given name and do not want your initials appearing before your given name, you would enter:

Given Name Initials Family Name
Mélanie J.F. Trudeau

SSHRC correspondence would address you as Ms. Mélanie J.F. Trudeau.


Address

The address you provide must be complete and accurate. For countries other than Canada and the United States, select the "Other" address format and enter the city/municipality, province/state and postal code in the address lines.

Current mailing address

We will use this address for all correspondence with you, including sending the competition results if necessary. Therefore, if you change your current mailing address during the period of the competition, it is your responsibility to advise SSHRC of the change in writing.

Contact information

The following information will help us contact you more rapidly. Secondary information will not be released by SSHRC without your consent (e.g., home coordinates are considered to be personal information and are protected under the Privacy Act).

Email address

We can consult with you promptly and easily when you provide your personal/business email address.


Program Information

Ethics

State whether your proposal will involve human beings as research subjects. If Yes and the research differs from the initial proposal approved by the Research Ethics Board (REB) of your organization, resubmit the proposal to the REB for approval. You must also ensure that an ethics review is conducted in the host country (as per the Latest Edition of the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans, article 8.3).

Support requested

Start date and End date of your stay abroad

Indicate when you expect to start and end your stay abroad. The start of your research study period abroad must be after the competition deadline date but within one year of receiving the notice of the award. Also, your travel abroad must begin before the end date of your active CGS.

If you do decide to leave before the results from the competition are announced, SSHRC would not be liable for any costs incurred should the application be deemed ineligible.

Number of months of support requested

Indicate the number of months of support sought through this application. A defined research study period abroad is for a minimum of two months to a maximum of six months.


Host institution

Provide a complete and accurate address of the foreign postsecondary institution where you plan to undertake your research studies abroad. Identify the Organization and Department/Division by using the "List…" button. If the appropriate information is not listed, select "Other" from the list and type the information in the box provided.


Budget proposal

The supplement will cover costs associated with travel, living and other expenses (such as accommodation, meals, tuition, insurance and other necessary costs) during the research study period abroad.

Before completing this section, students should research the cost of living abroad as it may vary significantly from one country to another.

Enter amounts rounded up to the nearest dollar without any spaces or commas. The total budget proposal may exceed $6,000; however, your supplement will not exceed the maximum $6,000. If you enter a greater amount, our system will automatically print $6,000 on your form.

Any ineligible expenses will be removed from the total amount requested in the application.


Supervisors

Provide complete and accurate information about the Current Research Supervisor and the Supervisor at the Host Institution who will each complete a Letter of Support. Host supervisors must be affiliated and employed full time at a foreign university, interuniversity research centre, international or national research institute or laboratory, or other institution with a research mandate. Research assistants and postdoctoral fellows are not eligible as host supervisors.

If the host supervisor’s primary place of employment is outside academia, he or she must demonstrate that they have supervised graduate student researchers.

The choice of host institution, host supervisor, and how the research study period abroad will further your research goals, must be justified in your application.

If you are uncertain whether your host supervisor or foreign host institution is eligible, contact SSHRC prior to submitting your application.

Note: Provide the information requested using the "List…" button. If the Organization and/or Department/Division are not listed, select "Other" from the list and complete the address. The Host Supervisor's address will print on Page 3 of the printed form if "Other" was selected for the Organization and/or Department/Division. If you select an Organization and/or Department/Division from the list, SSHRC will use the department's mailing address already stored in its corporate database.


Attachments

General presentation

All required material should be attached to your application printout as additional pages. Ensure your attachments are presented according to these specifications:

Attachments — for completion by applicant

Research proposal — maximum two pages

Write your proposal in clear, plain language (nontechnical terms) and avoid jargon. Ensure that your proposal includes the following:

Attachments — for completion by designated persons

Letters of Support — maximum one page each

Two letters of support are required. One must be completed and signed by the current research supervisor and the other by the supervisor at the host institution.

Note: All letters must be signed and written on institution letterhead. Any emails must be sent from an institutional email address (emails sent from personal email addresses will not be accepted).


Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Instructions pour la préparation de la demande de bourse d'études supérieures du Canada – supplément pour études à l'étranger Michael-Smith

Introduction

Les candidats doivent remplir le formulaire de demande électronique du Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada – Suppléments pour études à l'étranger Michael-Smith (BESC–SEEMS) du CRSH.

Documents à lire avant de commencer à remplir le formulaire de demande :

Signature

Lorsque vous avez vérifié et imprimé votre demande, révisez-la attentivement. La signature du formulaire par le candidat confirme qu'il :

Consentement à la divulgation de renseignements personnels – Obligatoire

Conformément au Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche, les candidats sont tenus de remplir, de signer et d'inclure avec leur demande le formulaire de consentement à la divulgation de renseignements personnels.

Date limite

La date limite du Programme de bourse d'études supérieures du Canada – Suppléments pour études à l'étranger Michael-Smith est le 10 juin 2021. Cependant, les candidats doivent présenter leur demande avant la date limite interne fixée par leur établissement. Communiquez avec la Faculté des études supérieures (ou son équivalent) pour connaître cette date.

Envoi de la demande

Pour présenter une demande, les candidats admissibles doivent fournir tous les renseignements requis et les transmettre à la Faculté des études supérieures (ou son équivalent) de leur établissement en format papier aux fins d’évaluation. Consultez la description des bourses d’études supérieures du Canada – suppléments pour études à l’étranger Michael-Smith pour en savoir plus sur le processus de sélection. Une demande complète comprend :

  1. le formulaire de demande électronique du Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada – Suppléments pour études à l'étranger Michael-Smith dûment rempli et signé;
  2. la description détaillée de la recherche proposée (proposition de recherche) (maximum de deux pages);
  3. une lettre d'appui du directeur de recherche actuel (maximum d'une page);
  4. une lettre d'appui du directeur de recherche de l'établissement d'accueil (maximum d'une page);
  5. le formulaire de consentement à la divulgation de renseignements personnels dûment rempli et signé.

Accusé de réception

À la réception de votre demande dûment imprimée et signée, le CRSH vous fera parvenir un accusé de réception sur lequel figurera le numéro de votre demande. Indiquez ce numéro chaque fois que vous communiquez avec le CRSH. L'accusé confirme la réception de votre demande; il ne confirme pas que celle-ci est complète ni qu'elle est admissible au concours.


Identification

Sélectionnez les renseignements demandés en utilisant le bouton «  Liste... ». La liste des pays apparaîtra. Sélectionnez le pays, la province ou l'état (s'il y a lieu), puis l'organisme. Si aucune des options offertes ne convient, sélectionnez l'option « Autre » dans la liste et écrivez directement dans la boîte.

Titre de la proposition de recherche

Donnez un titre court et descriptif à votre proposition de recherche. Évitez les termes techniques et limitez l'usage d'acronymes (p. ex. ONU ou OTAN). Réservez l'usage des lettres majuscules au premier mot du titre, aux noms propres et aux acronymes.

Bourse active

Nom de l'occasion de financement et numéro de la demande

Indiquez le nom du programme (c.-à-d. Bourse de doctorat du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada ou Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier) et le numéro de la demande (p. ex., 767-2019-1234; 201911DVC-123456-SSH-CBBA-987654). S’il s’agit d’une bourse de maîtrise du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada, indiquez « BESC maîtrise ».

Date de fin de la bourse active

Indiquez la date de fin de votre bourse active. Le supplément pour études à l'étranger Michael-Smith ne peut débuter que si la bourse du Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada est active (et avant sa date de fin).

Candidat

Noms et initiales

Le CRSH utilise les renseignements que vous inscrivez ici pour adresser la correspondance qu'il vous envoie.

Si votre prénom usuel est votre deuxième ou troisième prénom, consultez les exemples donnés ci-dessous pour vous aider à remplir la boîte Initiale(s).

Exemple 1 : A.J. Paul Moore

Si vous voulez que vos initiales apparaissent avant votre prénom usuel, vous devez inscrire :

Prénom Initiale(s) Nom de famille
A.J. Paul   Moore

Le CRSH adresserait sa correspondance à M. A.J. Paul Moore.

Exemple 2 : Joanne Francine Mélanie Trudeau (Mélanie est son prénom usuel)

Si votre prénom usuel est votre deuxième ou troisième prénom et que vous ne voulez pas que vos initiales apparaissent avant votre prénom, vous devez inscrire :

Prénom Initiale(s) Nom de famille
Mélanie J.F. Trudeau

Le CRSH adresserait sa correspondance à Mme Mélanie J.F. Trudeau.


Adresse

Assurez-vous que l'adresse que vous fournissez est complète et exacte. Dans le cas d’autres pays que le Canada et les États-Unis, sélectionnez le format d'adresse « Autre » et inscrivez le nom de la ville ou de la municipalité, la province ou l'état et le code postal dans les boîtes de l'adresse.

Adresse postale courante

Le CRSH enverra toute correspondance à cette adresse, y compris les résultats du concours au besoin. Si votre adresse postale change durant la période du concours, vous êtes responsable d'en aviser par écrit le CRSH.

Pour vous joindre

Les renseignements suivants aideront le CRSH à vous joindre plus rapidement. Le CRSH ne divulguera pas les renseignements secondaires sans votre consentement (p. ex. votre numéro de téléphone à domicile est un renseignement personnel et est protégé en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels).

Courriel

Il est plus rapide et plus facile de vous joindre si vous indiquez votre courriel au travail ou à domicile.


Renseignements à fournir au Programme

Éthique

Indiquez si votre projet de recherche prévoit la participation de sujets humains. Dans l'affirmative et si la recherche est différente de la proposition initiale approuvée par le comité d'éthique de la recherche de votre établissement, présentez votre proposition de nouveau pour en obtenir l’approbation. Vous devez également veiller à ce qu'une évaluation éthique soit effectuée dans le pays d'accueil (conformément à l’article 8.3 de la dernière édition de l’Énoncé de politique des trois Conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains.)

Appui demandé

Date de début et date de fin de votre séjour à l'étranger

Indiquez les dates auxquelles vous prévoyez débuter et finir votre séjour à l’étranger. Votre période d’études doit débuter après la date limite du concours, mais durant l’année suivant la réception de l’avis d’attribution. En outre, votre séjour doit débuter avant que votre bourse d’études supérieures du Canada ne prenne fin.

Si vous décidez de partir à l’étranger avant l’annonce des résultats du concours, le CRSH n’aura pas à couvrir les coûts engagés si, au final, votre demande n'est pas considérée admissible.

Nombre de mois de financement demandé

Indiquez le nombre de mois de financement que vous demandez dans la demande. La durée habituelle d’un séjour d’études ou de recherche à l'étranger est de deux à six mois.


Établissement d'accueil

Fournissez l'adresse complète et précise de l'établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire étranger où seront menées vos recherches à l'étranger. Sélectionnez l'organisme et le département ou la division à l'aide du bouton « Liste... ». Si aucune des options offertes ne convient, sélectionnez l'option « Autre » dans la liste et écrivez directement dans la boîte.


Proposition de budget

Le supplément couvre les coûts de déplacement, les frais de subsistance et les autres dépenses comme l’hébergement, les repas, les frais de scolarité, les assurances et les autres frais nécessaires durant le séjour de recherche à l’étranger.

Avant de remplir cette section, les étudiants doivent connaître le coût de la vie dans le pays d'accueil puisque cela peut varier considérablement d’un pays à l’autre.

Arrondissez les montants au dollar près et écrivez-les sans espace ni virgule. Le total de la proposition budgétaire peut excéder 6 000 $, mais le supplément ne peut pas dépasser ce montant. Si vous indiquez une somme plus élevée, le système imprimera automatiquement 6 000 $ sur votre formulaire.

Toute dépense non admissible sera déduite du montant total demandé.


Directeurs

Fournissez des renseignements complets et précis concernant votre directeur de recherche actuel ainsi que votre directeur de recherche à l'établissement d'accueil, chacun devant rédiger une lettre d'appui. Le directeur de recherche à l’établissement d’accueil doit être employé à temps plein dans une université, un centre de recherche interuniversitaire, un institut ou un laboratoire de recherche national ou international ou tout autre établissement à l’étranger ayant un mandat de recherche et y être affilié. Un adjoint de recherche ou un boursier postdoctoral ne peut pas agir comme directeur de recherche. Si le principal lieu de travail du directeur de recherche est situé à l’extérieur du milieu universitaire, le directeur doit démontrer qu’il a déjà dirigé les travaux d’étudiants-chercheurs des cycles supérieurs.

Vous devez expliquer dans votre demande le choix de l’établissement d’accueil et du directeur de recherche ainsi que la façon dont le séjour de recherche à l’étranger vous permettra d’atteindre vos objectifs de recherche.

Si vous n’êtes pas certain de l’admissibilité d’un directeur de recherche ou d’un établissement d’accueil, communiquez avec le CRSH avant de présenter votre demande.

Remarque : sélectionnez les renseignements demandés à l'aide du bouton « Liste... ». Si l'organisme, le département ou la division n’apparaissent pas, sélectionnez « Autre » dans la liste et tapez l'adresse. L'adresse du directeur de l'établissement d'accueil s’imprimera à la page 3 du formulaire de demande. Si vous sélectionnez l'organisme, le département ou la division à partir de la liste, le CRSH utilisera l'adresse postale du département qui est actuellement enregistrée dans sa base de données.


Annexes

Présentation générale

Tous les documents doivent être joints en annexes à votre demande imprimée. Les annexes doivent :

Annexe – à remplir par le candidat

Proposition de recherche – maximum de deux pages

Rédigez votre proposition dans un langage clair et simple. Évitez le jargon et les termes techniques. Votre proposition doit inclure :

Annexes – à remplir par les personnes désignées

Lettres d'appui – maximum d'une page chacune

Vous devez inclure deux lettres d’appui – l’une devant être rédigée et signée par le directeur de recherche de votre établissement d’attache et l’autre devant être rédigée et signée par le directeur de recherche de votre établissement d’accueil.

Remarque : les lettres doivent être signées et présentées sur le papier à en-tête de l’établissement. Tous les courriels doivent être envoyés à partir d’une adresse de l’établissement. Les courriels envoyés à partir d’une adresse personnelle seront refusés.


Date de modification :