COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Guidelines for setting up joint initiatives with SSHRC

SSHRC undertakes joint initiatives as part of its Partnerships Strategy. The agency is committed to supporting partnerships that create knowledge, share understanding, develop talent and produce critical insights. Successful partnerships—including joint initiatives—will allow Canada to respond to the emerging research challenges and questions of the 21st century.

SSHRC welcomes the opportunity to discuss potential joint initiative proposals with other organizations to fulfil mutual priorities and objectives.

As a funding mechanism, joint initiatives facilitate resource pooling and attract new sources of funding for all types and modes of research related to the social sciences and humanities.

Joint initiatives can support and promote training and knowledge mobilization, enable new research approaches, and facilitate collaboration across disciplinary, geographic and sectoral boundaries. They can bring diverse perspectives to bear on the research process. They can also contribute to a dynamic training environment that prepares students and postdoctoral researchers for successful careers within and beyond academia.

Joint initiatives are designed to reflect the objectives and mandates of both parties. They can also inform the decision-making processes for each party while they address current and emerging knowledge needs.

Joint initiatives with SSHRC

The following conditions must be met to establish a joint initiative with SSHRC:

  1. Alignment: The proposed initiative correlates with SSHRC’s mandate
    • The initiative falls within both SSHRC’s mandate and its corporate strategic objectives.
    • The initiative must address the overall goal and objectives of at least one of SSHRC’s programs, namely Talent (research training), Insight (research) or Connection (knowledge mobilization), or the Imagining Canada’s Future initiative.
    • The partners agree to work within the framework of the existing funding opportunities offered under SSHRC’s Talent, Insight and Connection programs and Imagining Canada’s Future initiative.
  2. Excellence: Adherence to SSHRC’s regulations and independent merit review process
  3. Cost-sharing: Resources from SSHRC and all partners
    • All partners agree to provide substantial financial and/or in-kind support for training, research and/or related activities in the social sciences and humanities, resulting in an efficient cost-benefit ratio for all involved.
    • All partners agree to provide reasonable support for the operational and management costs related to the initiative’s application and merit review process, communication, brokering, monitoring and evaluation activities.
  4. Impact: Benefits of the joint initiative to the social sciences and humanities research community
    • The benefits to the public good and to the social sciences and humanities research community are clearly articulated and understood before SSHRC and the partners enter into a formal agreement.

Developing an agreement

Joint initiatives support research, research training or related activities. To formalize a joint initiative, SSHRC and its partner will develop and sign an agreement, most likely a memorandum of understanding, the content of which is tailored to the nature of the joint initiative. In general, the agreement will address topics such as:

  • the initiative’s objectives, scope and duration;
  • its administrative governance and funding model; and
  • the process for implementing and managing the initiative, including the partners’ respective roles and responsibilities in matters related to:
    • communications;
    • information and budget management; and
    • program delivery.

More information

For more information about joint initiatives, contact:

Tel.: 613-943-1007
Fax: 613-947-0223
Email: jointinitiatives@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Date modified:

Mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19

Lignes directrices pour l’établissement d’initiatives conjointes

Comme le prévoit sa stratégie de partenariat, le CRSH établit des initiatives conjointes. Il s'engage à appuyer des partenariats qui permettent de produire et de diffuser les  connaissances, de développer le talent et de susciter des intuitions audacieuses. Par des partenariats réussis, y compris des initiatives conjointes, le Canada sera en mesure de relever de nouveaux défis et de trouver réponse aux questions de recherche émergentes du 21e siècle.

Le CRSH s’engage à appuyer les partenariats qui permettent de produire et de partager les connaissances dont le Canada a besoin pour relever les défis du 21e siècle.

Le CRSH est heureux de discuter avec d’autres organismes de propositions d'initiatives conjointes visant la réalisation de priorités et d’objectifs communs.

Les initiatives conjointes constituent un mécanisme de financement qui facilite la mise en commun des ressources et permet d’attirer de nouvelles sources de financement pour tous les types et modes de recherche en sciences humaines.

Les initiatives conjointes peuvent soutenir et promouvoir la formation et la mobilisation des connaissances, rendre possibles de nouvelles approches de recherche et faciliter la collaboration sans égard aux frontières disciplinaires, géographiques et sectorielles. Elles peuvent apporter des points de vue différents sur le processus de recherche. Elles peuvent également favoriser un contexte de formation dynamique, qui prépare les étudiants et les chercheurs postdoctoraux à des carrières fructueuses aussi bien à l’intérieur qu’en dehors du milieu universitaire.

Les initiatives conjointes tiennent compte des objectifs et des mandats de toutes les parties. Elles peuvent également éclairer les processus décisionnels de chacune d’elles tout en répondant aux besoins en connaissances actuels et émergents.

Initiatives conjointes avec le CRSH

Il faut remplir les conditions suivantes pour établir une initiative conjointe avec le CRSH.

  1. Harmonisation : lien entre l’initiative proposée et le mandat du CRSH
    • L’initiative proposée correspond au mandat et aux objectifs organisationnels du CRSH.
    • L’initiative cadre avec le but et les objectifs d’au moins un programme du CRSH, à savoir le programme Talent (formation en recherche), le programme Savoir (recherche), le programme Connexion (mobilisation des connaissances) ou l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada.
    • Les partenaires acceptent de travailler selon les modalités des occasions de financement que le CRSH offre en vertu des programmes Talent, Savoir et Connexion et de l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada.
  2. Excellence : adhésion aux règlements du CRSH et à son processus d’évaluation du mérite indépendant
  3. Partage des coûts : ressources du CRSH et de tous les partenaires en cause
    • Tous les partenaires acceptent de fournir une contribution en espèces et (ou) en nature substantielle pour la formation, la recherche et (ou) les activités connexes en sciences humaines, ce qui se traduit par un ratio coûts-avantages efficient pour toutes les parties en cause.
    • Tous les partenaires acceptent de fournir une contribution raisonnable pour les coûts opérationnels et les coûts de gestion reliés aux processus de présentation des demandes et d’évaluation du mérite ainsi qu'aux activités de communication, de courtage, de suivi et d'évaluation de l’initiative.
  4. Impacts : avantages de l'initiative conjointe pour le milieu de la recherche en sciences humaines
    • Les avantages pour le bien commun et le milieu de la recherche en sciences humaines sont clairement définis et compris, et ce, avant que le CRSH et le ou les partenaires ne concluent une entente en bonne et due forme.

Élaboration d’une entente

Les initiatives conjointes soutiennent la recherche, la formation à la recherche ou des activités connexes. Pour officialiser une initiative conjointe, le CRSH et son ou ses partenaires élaborent et signent une entente, fort probablement sous la forme d’un protocole d’entente, dont le contenu est adapté à la nature de l’initiative conjointe. En général, l’entente porte sur des sujets tels que :

  • les objectifs, la portée et la durée de l’initiative;
  • la gouvernance administrative et le modèle de financement;
  • le processus de mise en œuvre et de gestion, y compris les rôles et les responsabilités respectifs des partenaires en ce qui concerne :
    • les communications,
    • l’information et la gestion du budget,
    • l’exécution du programme.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour plus de précisions au sujet des initiatives conjointes :

Tél : 613-943-1007
Téléc : 613-947-0223
Courriel : initiativesconjointes@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Date de modification :