Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences for 2013-14

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2014. It also provides the variance explanations for the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act. SSHRC’s purpose is to promote and assist research and scholarship in the social sciences and humanities. Social sciences and humanities research builds knowledge about people in the past and present, with a view toward creating a better future.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are for the most part directly related to supporting departmental mandate(s) and the Government of Canada’s priorities.

By focusing on developing talent, generating insights and forging connections across campuses and communities, SSHRC strategically supports world-leading initiatives that enhance our understanding of modern social, cultural, technological, environmental, economic and wellness issues. Further information on SSHRC’s mandate and program activities can be found in SSHRC’s 2013-14 Report on Plans and Priorities.

SSHRC’s program delivery is centred on a merit review model. External experts from across the country and around the world contribute their time and expertise to adjudicate grant proposals and scholarship and fellowship applications, with the aim of funding excellence for the benefit of Canada. The vast majority of SSHRC’s travel and hospitality expenses are to support this merit review process.

SSHRC’s total annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences are summarized below:

Expenditure category Expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2014
(a)
Expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2013
(b)
Variance


(a-b)
  (in thousands of dollars)
Travel–Public servants 259 187 72
Travel–Non-public servants 491 739 -248
International travel by minister and minister’s staff* 0 0 0
Total travel 750 926 -176
Hospitality 90 117 -27
Conference fees 40 35 5
TOTAL 880 1,078 -198

* Includes international travel that is part of a department’s program.

Compared with fiscal year 2012-13, SSHRC’s public servant travel and conference expenditures have increased, mainly due to the following:

  • increase in travel for outreach activities; and
  • increase in travel for the Canadian Excellence Research Chairs evaluations.

SSHRC was able to decrease its non-public servants travel and hospitality expenditures by:

  • using teleconferencing technologies for, but not limited to, the Insight Development Grants adjudication process; and
  • limiting the number of people attending meetings or conferences.

Rapports sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada pour 2013-2014

Comme l’exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements, du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) pour l’exercice financier se terminant le 31 mars 2014. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Le CRSH a pour but de promouvoir et de soutenir la recherche et l’érudition dans le domaine des sciences humaines. La recherche en sciences humaines permet de produire des connaissances sur les gens d’hier et d’aujourd’hui afin de créer un avenir meilleur.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et organismes fédéraux sont pour la plupart directement liées aux mandats ministériels et aux priorités du gouvernement du Canada.

En accordant la priorité au développement du talent, à la génération du savoir et à la création de connexions dans tous les campus et toutes les communautés, le CRSH appuie de manière stratégique les initiatives de calibre mondial qui permettent de mieux comprendre les nouvelles questions sociales, culturelles, technologiques, environnementales, économiques et de mieux-être contemporains. On peut obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le mandat et les activités de programme du CRSH dans son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2013-2014.

L’exécution des programmes du CRSH est axée sur un modèle d’examen du mérite. Des experts externes provenant de partout au Canada et de l’étranger consacrent du temps et ont recours à leur expertise pour évaluer les propositions de subventions et les demandes de bourses dans le but de financer l’excellence au profit du Canada. La majorité des dépenses de voyages et d’accueil du CRSH sont engagées pour appuyer le processus d’examen du mérite.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences du CRSH sont résumées ci-dessous :

Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l’exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2014
(a)
Dépenses pour l’exercice précédent se terminant
le 31 mars 2013
(b)
Écart


(a-b)
  (en milliers de dollars)
Voyages – fonctionnaires 259 187 72
Voyages – non-fonctionnaires 491 739 -248
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre* 0 0 0
Total des dépenses de voyages 750 926 -176
Accueil 90 117 -27
Frais de participation aux conférences 40 35 5
TOTAL 880 1 078 -198

(*) Comprend les voyages internationaux dans le cadre d’un programme du ministère.

Comparativement à l’année financière 2012-2013, les dépenses de voyages des fonctionnaires et les dépenses de conférences du CRSH ont augmenté, principalement en raison de ce qui suit :

  • l’augmentation du nombre de voyages liés aux activités de sensibilisation;
  • l’augmentation du nombre de voyages liés aux évaluations du Programme des chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada.

Le CRSH a été en mesure de diminuer ses dépenses de voyages des non-fonctionnaires et ses dépenses d’accueil en prenant les mesures suivantes :

  • l’utilisation des technologies de téléconférence, notamment pour le processus d’évaluation des demandes de subventions de développement Savoir;
  • l’imposition d’une limite du nombre de personnes pouvant assister à des réunions ou à des conférences.