2014-2015 Annual Report on the Administration of the Access to Information Act

Introduction

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) is a federal agency that promotes and supports research and research training in the social sciences and humanities.

SSHRC is pleased to provide its annual report on the administration of the Access to Information Act, as required by section 72 of the Act. Annual Reports are tabled in Parliament in accordance with this same section of the Act.

The Act provides Canadians with a right of access to information in records under the control of a government institution in accordance with the principle that government information should be available to the public, that necessary exceptions to the right of access should be limited and specific, and that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently of government.

Administration of the Access to Information Act

At SSHRC, processing requests under the Access to Information Act and providing support and advice on its administration is the responsibility of the manager, Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) and Corporate Operations. The ATIP office is located within SSHRC’s Corporate Strategy and Performance Division and the manager, ATIP and Corporate Operations reports to its executive director. During the period covered by this report, the manager, ATIP and Corporate Operations spent approximately one-and-a-half days per week processing requests and administering the various requirements of Treasury Board in connection with the Act.

All formal requests and complex informal requests are handled by the ATIP office. Program and other divisions may respond to other informal requests for information as appropriate. The ATIP office holds full records of all access to information requests received within the last two years.

SSHRC’s president and senior management are kept informed of key decisions and developments in the administration and implementation of the Act, as appropriate.

When advice on the administration of the Act is required, it is sought from one or several of the following: the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS), Department of Justice legal counsel, the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC), SSHRC’s ATIP consultant and/or other federal government ATIP offices.

Access to Information Act Delegation Order

A copy of SSHRC’s delegation order for the Access to Information Act is attached. The order states that the persons holding the positions of executive vice-president; executive director, Corporate Strategy and Performance; and the manager, ATIP and Corporate Operations, are designated to exercise or perform most of the powers, duties and functions of the head of a government institution under the Act insofar as they may be exercised or performed in relation to SSHRC.

Statistical Report for Fiscal Year 2014-2015

The statistical report for the period of April 1, 2014 to March 31, 2015 is appended.

Nine formal requests under the Access to Information Act were received by SSHRC in the 2014-2015 fiscal year. This is a slight decrease from 2013-2014, in which 13 formal requests were received, and is slightly lower than SSHRC’s average of 13 requests per year over the previous four fiscal years.

Formal Requests Received
2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Formal Requests 13 19 8 13 9

Three of these requests were received from the academic sector, and six from the private sector. Six requests from the previous year were carried over to 2014-2015 and were closed in that fiscal year. One request received in 2014-2015 was carried over to the subsequent fiscal year.

Of the requests closed during the reporting period, seven requests were processed in less than 15 days and one request was processed in 15 to 30 days. Three requests were completed in 31 to 60 days, and three requests were processed in 61 to 120 days. These latter three requests were carried over from 2013-2014 and required consultations and/or extensive search time. All records were disclosed in electronic format.

For two of the requests, portions of the documents were exempted in accordance with section 19 (1) of the Access to Information Act, which pertains to personal information of individuals other than the requestor. For four of the requests, portions of the documents were exempted in accordance with section 20 (1) (b) of the Act, which pertains to financial, commercial, scientific or technical information that is confidential information supplied to a government institution by a third party and is treated consistently in a confidential manner by the third party. In two cases, no records responsive to the request were located. Four of the requests were abandoned.

SSHRC received and completed 10 consultations from other Government of Canada institutions and three consultations from other organizations in the 2014-2015 fiscal year.

Education and Training

Throughout the year, staff and management are reminded and encouraged to consult the ATIP office on any issues that might affect the implementation of the Act when and where appropriate.

The manager, ATIP and Corporate Operations delivered, during 2014-2015, two training sessions to approximately 32 staff members. One session was provided to the Chairs Secretariat, a tri-agency group housed within SSHRC composed of SSHRC, Natural Sciences and Engineering Council (NSERC) and Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) employees. The other session was the annual training opportunity open to all SSHRC staff. The sessions covered the principles of the access to information legislation, key concepts and definitions, SSHRC’s procedures for processing both formal and informal access to information requests, and employee responsibilities with respect to the Act.

SSHRC’S New or Revised Policies, Guidelines and Procedures Related to Access to Information

No new or revised access to information policies or guidelines were formally implemented during this past fiscal year. As of April 1, 2014, SSHRC began using Access Pro software (a case management and redaction tool) to process and track all access to information requests. This software has grealty improved the ATIP office’s ability to monitor timelines and keep detailed records of all activities undertaken with respect to the requests.

SSHRC’s 2014 Info Source update was published in January 2015. In accordance with the Info Source Decentralized Publication requirements, the chapter aligns with SSHRC’s 2014-2015 Program Alignment Architecture (PAA). Several substantive improvements to the chapter were made, both in response to feedback from TBS on the 2013 publication and based on SSHRC’s own review of the material. Several SSHRC-specific classes of records were updated, one standard Personal Information Bank that had been deregistered was removed and the following sections were added: Manuals, Additional Information and Reading Room. SSHRC will update its Info Source chapter as needed in order to ensure continued harmonization with the agency’s PAA and to confirm the accuracy and clarity of information.

Complaints to the Office of the Information Commissioner

Six complaints pertaining to requests submitted to SSHRC were filed with the OIC during the 2014-2015 fiscal year. These complaints were related to the reasonableness of extensions taken, search fees, applied exemptions and the completeness of record retrieval.

The OIC has also carried out investigations of complaints in previous years and SSHRC has cooperated fully in these processes. The complaints have typically concerned the application of exemptions and record retrieval. The OIC resolved, and issued a report of finding in relation to sixcomplaint investigations over the course of the 2014-2015 fiscal year.

Monitoring processing times

The executive director, Corporate Strategy and Performance was regularly kept apprised (normally on a weekly basis) by the manager, ATIP and Corporate Operations of all matters and developments pertaining to the requests, including processing time, consultations undertaken and any necessary extensions. The transition to the use of Access Pro software has greatly facilitated the ATIP office’s ability to monitor the time to process and respond to requests.

Rapport annuel de 2014-2015 sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Introduction

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) est un organisme fédéral qui appuie la recherche et la formation avancée dans le domaine des sciences humaines et qui en fait la promotion.

Le CRSH a le plaisir de soumettre son rapport annuel sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, comme le prévoit l’article 72 de la Loi. Les rapports annuels sont déposés au Parlement conformément au même article de la Loi.

La Loi accorde aux Canadiens le droit d’accès aux documents de l’administration fédérale en établissant les principes suivants : le public a le droit de consulter les documents de l’administration fédérale; les exceptions indispensables qui restreignent ce droit sont précises et limitées; les décisions relatives à la communication sont susceptibles de recours indépendants du pouvoir exécutif.

Administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Au CRSH, le gestionnaire, accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) et opérations organisationnelles, est responsable de traiter les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et d’offrir du soutien et des conseils sur l’application de la Loi. Le bureau de l’AIPRP fait partie de la Division de la stratégie et du rendement organisationnels du CRSH et le gestionnaire, AIPRP et opérations organisationnelles, relève du directeur exécutif de cette division. Durant la période visée par le présent rapport, la gestionnaire, AIPRP et opérations organisationnelles, a consacré environ une journée et demie par semaine au traitement des demandes et à l’administration des diverses exigences du Conseil du Trésor relatives à la Loi.

Les demandes officielles et les demandes non officielles complexes sont traitées par le bureau de l’AIPRP. La Direction des programmes et d’autres directions répondent, au besoin, aux demandes de renseignements non officielles. Le bureau de l’AIPRP conserve tous les documents sur les demandes d’accès à l’information reçcues au cours des deux dernières années.

Quand cela est jugé nécessaire, le président et les membres de la haute gestion sont tenus au courant des principales décisions prises quant à l’administration et à l’application de la Loi.

En ce qui concerne l’administration de la Loi, on sollicite les conseils de l’une ou plusieurs des entités ou personnes suivantes : le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, un conseiller juridique du ministère de la Justice, le Commissariat à l'information du Canada, l’expert-conseil en matière d’AIPRP du CRSH ou d’autres bureaux du gouvernement fédéral chargés de l’AIPRP.

Arrêté de la délégation en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Un exemplaire de l’arrêté de délégation de pouvoirs du CRSH aux fins de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est joint au présent rapport. L’arrêté confère aux titulaires des postes de vice-président directeur, de directeur exécutif, Stratégie et rendement organisationnels, et de gestionnaire, AIPRP et opérations organisationnelles, la plupart des pouvoirs et fonctions confiés au responsable d’un organisme fédéral en vertu de la Loi, et ce, dans la mesure où ceux-ci se rapportent au CRSH.

Rapport statistique de l’exercice financier 2014-2015

Le rapport statistique de la période allant du 1er avril 2014 au 31 mars 2015 est joint en annexe.

Au cours de l’exercice 2014-2015, neuf demandes officielles ont été présentées au CRSH en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il s’agit d’une légère diminution par rapport à l’exercice 2013-2014, au cours duquel le CRSH avait reçu 13 demandes officielles. Ce nombre est également légèrement inférieur à la moyenne de 13 demandes par exercice reçues au cours des quatre derniers exercices.

Demandes officielles reçues
2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Demandes officielles reçues 13 19 8 13 9

Trois demandes provenaient du secteur universitaire et six, du secteur privé. Six demandes de l’exercice précédent avaient été reportées à l’exercice 2014-2015, et elles ont été complétées au cours de cet exercice. Une demande reçue durant l’exercice 2014-2015 a été reportée au prochain exercice.

De l’ensemble des demandes complétées au cours de l’exercice sur lequel porte ce rapport, sept demandes ont été traitées en moins de 15 jours et une demande a été traitée dans un délai de 15 à 30 jours. Trois demandes ont été traitées dans un délai de 31 à 60 jours et trois demandes, dans un délai de 61 à 120 jours. Ces trois dernières demandes, qui avaient été reportées de l’exercice 2013-2014, ont nécessité des consultations ou ont exigé énormément de temps pour la recherche de documents. Tous les documents ont été transmis sur support électronique.

Dans le cas de deux demandes, certaines sections des documents ont fait l’objet d’une exception conformément au paragraphe 19(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, lequel traite des renseignements personnels relatifs à d’autres personnes que le demandeur. Dans le cas de quatre demandes, certaines sections des documents ont fait l’objet d’une exception en vertu de l’alinéa 20(1)b) de la Loi, qui porte sur les renseignements financiers, commerciaux, scientifiques ou techniques fournis à une institution fédérale par un tiers, qui sont de nature confidentielle et qui sont traités comme tels de façon constante par ce tiers. Dans deux cas, aucun document correspondant à la demande n’a pu être trouvé. Quatre demandes ont été abandonnées.

Le CRSH a reçu dix demandes de consultation provenant d’autres institutions du gouvernement du Canada et trois demandes de consultation provenant d’autres organismes au cours de l’exercice 2014-2015, et il y a donné suite.

Initiation et formation

Pendant tout l’exercice, on rappelle au personnel et aux membres de la haute gestion de consulter au besoin le bureau de l’AIPRP pour toute question pouvant être liée à l’application de la Loi et on les encourage à le faire.

Au cours de l’exercice 2014-2015, la gestionnaire, AIPRP et opérations organisationnelles, a offert deux séances de formation à quelque 32 membres du personnel. Une séance a été offerte au Secrétariat des chaires, entité qui partage les locaux du CRSH et qui est composée d’employés du CRSH, du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie et des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada. L’autre séance a eu lieu à l’occasion de la formation annuelle proposée à tous les employés du CRSH. Ces séances ont permis de traiter de sujets tels que les principes qui sous-tendent la législation sur l’accès à l’information, les concepts et les définitions clés, les procédures du CRSH concernant le traitement des demandes d’accès tant officielles que non officielles et les responsabilités qui incombent aux employés en vertu de la Loi.

Politiques, directives et procédures nouvelles ou révisées du CRSH touchant à l’accès à l’information

Aucune politique ou directive, nouvelle ou révisée, concernant l’accès à l’information n’a été officiellement mise en application au cours du dernier exercice financier. À compter du 1er avril 2014, le CRSH a commencé à se servir du logiciel Access Pro (outil de gestion de cas et de rédaction) pour traiter et suivre de près toutes les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ce logiciel a amélioré considérablement la capacité du bureau de l’AIPRP de suivre des échéanciers et de conserver des dossiers détaillés de toutes les activités effectuées en lien avec les demandes.

Une fois mis à jour, le chapitre Info Source 2014 du CRSH a été publié en janvier 2015. Conformément aux exigences relatives à la publication décentralisée des chapitres d’Info Source, le chapitre du CRSH est harmonisé avec son architecture d’alignement des programmes 2014-2015. Plusieurs améliorations importantes ont été apportées à ce chapitre, tant pour donner suite aux commentaires du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor au sujet du chapitre de 2013 que par suite de l’examen qu’a fait le CRSH du texte. Plusieurs catégories de documents propres au CRSH ont fait l’objet d’une mise à jour, un fichier de renseignements personnels ordinaire qui avait été désinscrit a été supprimé, et les sections suivantes ont été ajoutées : Manuels, Renseignemenets supplémentaires et Salle de lecture. Le CRSH mettra à jour son chapitre Info Source aussi souvent que ce sera nécessaire, afin qu’il demeure harmonisé avec son architecture d’alignement des programmes et qu’il présente l’information de façon claire et exacte.

Plaintes au commissariat à l’information du Canada

Six plaintes liées à des demandes présentées au CRSH ont été déposées auprès du Commissariat à l’information du Canada au cours de l’exercice 2014-2015.Ces plaintes étaient liées au caractère raisonnable des prorogations, aux frais exigés pour les recherches, aux exceptions invoquées et au degré d’exhaustivité de l’extraction des documents.

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a enquêté sur des plaintes soumises au cours d’exercices antérieurs, et le CRSH a apporté sa pleine collaboration. Ces plaintes avaient trait en général à l’application de certaines exceptions et à l’extraction des documents. Au cours de l’exercice 2014-2015, la Commissaire à l’information du Canada a réglé six plaintes après enquête et a remis un rapport de conclusions à leur égard.

Surveillance des délais de traitement

La directrice exécutive, Stratégie et rendement organisationnels, a été tenue régulièrement au courant (toutes les semaines habituellement) par la gestionnaire, AIPRP et opérations organisationnelles, des questions touchant aux demandes, notamment des délais de traitement, des consultations menées et de toutes les prorogations nécessaires. La transition à l’utilisation du logiciel Access Pro a amélioré considérablement la capacité du bureau de l’AIPRP de suivre le temps nécessaire pour traiter les demandes et y donner suite.