COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Training for the Traditional Craft Trades


Duration

1:02

Release Date

March 24, 2014


Description

Monica Shore discusses the Traditional Craft Trades (TCT) sector, representing Nicole Vaugeois. This knowledge synthesis report explores the labour market needs for the TCT sector and identifies challenges and enhancements for training and skill development for artisans. Her research called for a greater connection between entrepreneurship and craftsmanship, the attraction of young people to work in TCT, and training in digital technology and business development for craftspeople.

Read the transcript

Monica Shore
Research assistant
Vancouver Island University


Monica Shore: Formerly, there were no—there have been no statistics on the traditional craft trades sector. One of the problems has been lack of a good definition of this sector using words that people don’t understand or just a variety of definitions. So one of the major contributions of this knowledge synthesis report has been on defining what this sector is about.

Further implications include a better understanding of the development, the development needs of training institutions, so how schools and universities can improve their apprenticeship programs, can improve that transition from the education institution into the marketplace into the workforce and just generating a much more widespread awareness of what this sector is about in order to enable growth.

Développer le commerce de l’artisanat traditionnel


Durée

1 min 2 s

Date de publication

24 mars 2014


Description

Monica Shore – à titre de représentante de Nicole Vaugeois – parle du secteur du commerce de l’artisanat traditionnel. Elle mentionne que les besoins du marché du travail dans ce secteur ainsi que les défis et les améliorations possibles en matière de formation et de développement des compétences des artisans figurent parmi les points abordés dans la synthèse des connaissances. Au nombre des recommandations formulées : établir de meilleurs liens entre entrepreneuriat et artisanat, inciter les jeunes à travailler dans ce secteur et offrir aux artisans une formation en technologie numérique et en développement d’entreprise.

Lire la transcription

Monica Shore
Assistante de recherche
Vancouver Island University



Il n’existe pas de statistiques officielles sur le secteur du commerce de l’artisanat traditionnel. Cela s’explique en partie par l’absence d’une définition précisant ce qu’est ce secteur, par le choix de mots que les gens ne comprennent pas ou par la variété des définitions existantes. L’une des principales contributions de notre rapport de synthèse des connaissances a donc été de déterminer ce qui définit ce secteur.

Parmi les autres répercussions, mentionnons une meilleure compréhension des besoins de développement des établissements de formation, c’est-à-dire la façon dont les écoles et les universités peuvent améliorer leurs programmes d’apprentissage, faciliter la transition vers le marché du travail et veiller à mieux faire connaître ce secteur afin d’en favoriser la croissance.