COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Workplace Inclusion


Duration

1:02

Release Date

March 24, 2014


Description

Sally Lindsay talks about her knowledge synthesis project, which focused on identifying ways to improve the participation of persons with disabilities whose talents are underutilized in the Canadian labour market. Her research identified policies, programs and employment practices in order to demonstrate the importance of people with disabilities being included in the workforce. The report calls for more research in the area, and for different agencies to communicate and work together on the issue.

Read the transcript

Sally Lindsay
Scientist at the Bloorview Research Institute


Sally Lindsay: Our research synthesized the most promising programs and policies to include people with disabilities in the Canadian labour market. And we found that there will be significant implications for employers in how to further include people with disabilities in their workplaces for the further development of programs to help people train to learn more skills, and also for policy, to further include people with disabilities.

I think what would be important is for different agencies to speak to one another a bit more clearly rather than working in silos, so for employers to work with employment service agencies and also with policy-makers and people with disabilities to get a better understanding of how they can be included.

Accroître la participation des personnes handicapées au marché du travail


Durée

1 min 3 s

Date de publication

24 mars 2014


Description

Sally Lindsay présente une synthèse des connaissances qui vise à trouver des façons d’accroître la participation des personnes handicapées, un groupe sous-utilisé, au marché du travail canadien. Dans le cadre de ses travaux, elle a cerné des politiques, des programmes et des pratiques susceptibles d’améliorer l’intégration des personnes handicapées au sein du marché du travail. Parmi ses recommandations : faire davantage de recherche sur le sujet et inciter les différents intervenants à travailler ensemble.

Lire la transcription

Sally Lindsay
Scientifique
Institut de recherche Bloorview



Notre projet propose une synthèse des plus prometteurs programmes et politiques d’intégration des personnes handicapées au sein du marché du travail canadien. Les employeurs ont encore beaucoup à faire pour mieux inclure les personnes handicapées en milieu de travail, établir des programmes qui les aideront à acquérir les compétences nécessaires, et élaborer des politiques qui faciliteront leur insertion.

Il me semble essentiel que les différents intervenants travaillent davantage ensemble plutôt qu’isolément, c’est-à-dire que les employeurs collaborent avec les agences de placement, les responsables des politiques et les personnes handicapées afin de mieux comprendre comment intégrer les personnes handicapées.