COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Leveraging Mentoring


Duration

1:16

Release Date

March 24, 2014


Description

Catherine Elliott, on behalf of Joanne D. Leck, discusses the state of mentoring in Canada and some of the challenges faced by women, visible minorities and immigrants, disabled persons and Aboriginal people in advancing to senior positions in the workplace. Elliott, Leck and their research team document how mentoring is associated with numerous benefits, including improved work performance, promotions, and enhanced skills development. They examine various approaches to mentoring and aim to discover how best to leverage mentoring as a tool to promote employee learning and advancement in order for Canada to access the leadership potential of all employees.

Read the transcript

Catherine Elliott
Representing Joanne Leck
University of Ottawa Telfer School of Management


Catherine Elliott: So our research was done on mentoring a diverse population. So we were looking at individuals who are under-represented in areas of management like Aboriginal Canadians, women and other disadvantaged groups, visible minorities, etc.

So our findings, we were looking at the challenges that these groups face in reaching more leadership positions in organizations. So we believe that our findings are going to contribute towards improved strategies that we can make in trying to help advance these groups, specifically in the area of mentoring.

From a pragmatic standpoint, what we did find out there in our knowledge synthesis was that there’s a need for mentors, who look like those disadvantaged groups. So there’s a dearth of mentors who represent – women, there’s more, but those other disadvantaged groups like disabled Canadians, aboriginals, there aren’t mentors at more senior levels in the organization who, with whom, they can actually relate. So that was one of the main findings. We need to actually get people in there who they can mentor with because they like to be mentored by people who are somewhat similar to them in terms of cultural background, values, et cetera.

So one of the other things we found is that people have mentors who are largely at this point white males, do tend to have subconscious or maybe conscious biases towards some of these groups. So these tend to cause the mentors to view these groups in more negative ways. They’re less likely to mentor those people from disadvantaged groups. It’s more of a risk for them because they don’t believe in the success of these groups in order for them to advance in the organization.

Tirer profit du mentorat


Durée

1 min 16 s

Date de publication

24 mars 2014


Description

Catherine Elliott – en son nom et au nom de Joanne D. Leck – parle de l’état actuel du mentorat au Canada et de certains défis auxquels doivent faire face les femmes, les minorités visibles, les immigrants, les personnes handicapées et les Autochtones pour accéder à des postes de niveau supérieur en milieu de travail. Mmes Elliott et Leck ainsi que leur équipe de recherche ont examiné les nombreux avantages associés au mentorat, notamment l’amélioration du rendement, du développement des compétences et de l’accessibilité aux promotions. Elles ont aussi étudié diverses approches de mentorat et tenté de voir comment utiliser le mentorat comme un levier favorisant l’apprentissage et l’avancement des employés, de façon à ce que le Canada puisse profiter du potentiel de leadership de tous les employés.

Lire la transcription

Catherine Elliott
Professeure adjointe
École de gestion Telfer, Université d’Ottawa



Notre synthèse portait sur l’encadrement d’une population hétérogène. Nous nous sommes intéressés aux groupes sous-représentés dans le domaine de la gestion, comme les Autochtones canadiens, les femmes, les minorités visibles et d’autres groupes désignés.

Nous avons examiné les défis auxquels ces groupes doivent faire face pour accéder à des postes de direction, et nous croyons que nos résultats permettront d’élaborer de meilleures stratégies afin d’aider ces groupes à gravir des échelons, plus précisément en ce qui a trait au mentorat.

D’un point de vue pragmatique, nous avons constaté, en réalisant notre synthèse des connaissances, qu’il y a une pénurie de mentors, de mentors auxquels ces groupes désignés pourraient s’identifier. En ce qui concerne les femmes, il y en a plus, mais les groupes désignés, comme les personnes handicapées ou les Autochtones, eux, n’ont pas de « modèles » aux échelons supérieurs en qui se reconnaître. C’est là l’une des principales conclusions de notre synthèse. Il faut qu’il y ait des mentors issus de ces groupes à des échelons supérieurs, car les membres de ces groupes aiment être guidés par des personnes qui leur ressemblent sur le plan culturel et qui partagent leurs valeurs.