COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Investing in Human Capital


Duration

1:06

Release Date

March 24, 2014


Description

Benoit Dostie discusses his knowledge synthesis about the impacts of employer-sponsored training. His research looks at business strategies in human investment, at links between training and an organization’s productivity, and the complementary elements between investments in human, organizational and physical capital. His research synthesis has shown that employee training yields positive outcomes for businesses, and that the benefits outweigh the loss of wages of employees undergoing training.

Read the transcript

Benoit Dostie
Associate professor,
Institute of Applied Economics


Benoit Dostie: So our Knowledge Synthesis Grant project focuses on the impact of employer-sponsored training on a company’s productivity and on the complementary elements that might exist between investments in training and physical capital and investments aimed at adopting high-performance management practices.

We find that employer-sponsored training has a significant impact on company productivity—the impact is even greater than on wages [of] the employees who undergo the training. There are also complementary aspects between the investments in training and physical capital, more specifically investments in information technology. This outcome is particularly true for large companies. We also find similarities between investments in training and the adoption of high-performance management practices for small companies.

Investir dans le capital humain


Durée

1 min  6 s

Date de publication

24 mars 2014


Description

Benoit Dostie explique en quoi consiste sa synthèse des connaissances sur l’impact de la formation parrainée par l’employeur. Dans le cadre de ses travaux, il s’est intéressé aux stratégies d’affaires liées aux investissements en capital humain, à l’interaction entre la formation parrainée par l’employeur et la productivité des employés ainsi qu’à la complémentarité qui existe entre les investissements en formation, en capital physique et en capital organisationnel. Sa synthèse a permis de démontrer que les investissements en formation ont un impact positif sur les entreprises et que les avantages dépassent la perte salariale relative à la formation.

Lire la transcription

Benoit Dostie
Directeur de l’Institut d’économie appliquée
HEC Montréal



Notre synthèse des connaissances s’intéresse à l’impact de la formation parrainée par l’employeur sur la productivité d’une entreprise et sur les complémentarités qu’il pourrait y avoir entre les investissements en formation, les investissements en capital physique et les investissements en adoption de pratiques de gestion de haute performance.

On observe que la formation parrainée par l’employeur a un impact important sur la productivité d’une entreprise, plus important même que celui qu’elle peut avoir sur les salaires des employés qui suivent la formation. On observe aussi qu’il y a des complémentarités entre les investissements en formation et les investissements en capital physique, plus précisément dans les technologies de l’information – un résultat qui vaut surtout pour les grandes entreprises. On observe également – et ça vaut pour les petites entreprises – qu’il existe des complémentarités entre les investissements en formation et l’adoption de pratiques de gestion de haute performance.