COVID-19 Update

Due to COVID-19, many deadlines are being revised. Learn more about the impacts of COVID-19 on SSHRC's programs.


Date published: March 20, 2020

Annual SSHRC Leaders Meeting, December 2016

Executive Summary

On December 1 and 2, 2016 SSHRC held its ninth annual SSHRC Leaders meeting at Library and Archives Canada in Ottawa. The event was attended by 57 Leaders representing institutions across Canada.

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Following the welcome and opening remarks from Ursula Gobel, associate vice-president, Future Challenges, Ted Hewitt, SSHRC president, provided highlights of work undertaken to make progress on SSHRC’s key strategic priorities and to support the research community.

During a dedicated session with SSHRC Leaders and the executive team, a range of topics were discussed, including the Canadian Common CV (CCV); the research portal; funding opportunities; funding for universities from the Research Support Fund; international opportunities for emerging scholars; and research creation funding.

Data Management and the needs of researchers were discussed in the context of two presentations. Jeff Moon, data librarian, academic director, Queen’s University Research Data Centre, presented an overview of the survey results into research data practices and needs among social sciences and humanities researchers. Mark Leggott, executive director, Research Data Centre, highlighted the importance of on-going dialogue with researchers regarding research data management. The latter also discussed his support of efforts by Research Data Canada for a national data service; over the next 6-8 months, they will be working with stakeholders, including the Leadership Council for Digital Infrastructure (LCDI), to define and build a national research data ecosystem.

Roundtable discussions and a plenary session followed the presentations where participants discussed three questions, focussing on capacity, training and skills, and culture. Dialogue concerning what counts as “data”, what should be shared and what should be exempt, will be critical as researchers move forward.

An update on SSHRC’s programs and competitions included four presentations:

  • report on competitions,
  • update on research grants (Insight grants evaluation outcomes, new funding opportunities for Insight grant and Partnership grants, and SSHRC Institutional Grants (SIG) and Aid to Small Universities (ASU) merger),
  • results of the Canada Graduate Scholarships (CGS) program evaluation with regards to support to students, and
  • meta-analysis of the Scholarship/Fellowship evaluation with regards to support for students.

A panel of three SSHCR Leaders, from York University, University of Regina, and Memorial University of Newfoundland, presented an overview of activities at their respective institutions related to Aboriginal Research and Reconciliation. The Leader from Mount Royal University also outlined the institution’s new indigenous strategic plan.

Concurrent sessions featuring round table discussions on one of two topics were offered:  a) Undergraduate Research and b) Future of the PhD. The importance of the undergraduate research support system and NSERC’s approach with the Undergraduate Student Research Awards’ approach were noted.

The Honorable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, addressed the SSHRC Leaders before the evening reception. The Minister reiterated the importance of social science and humanities research and answered questions related to Canada’s Fundamental Science Review and interdisciplinary research, among other topics of interest.

Friday, December 2, 2016

Ursula Gobel, associate vice-president, Future Challenges provided a high-level overview of the new framework approved by SSHRC’s governing council to address the next generation of the Imagining Canada Future (2.0) initiative. This framework consists of three pillars of foresight activity: the monitoring of long-term future societal trends, connecting research on issues in the public interest, notably with a focus on public policy, and identifying future trends in research and scholarship. She also highlighted key activities for 2017 being undertaken to address the current six future challenge areas.

Christine Tausig Ford, interim executive director, Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences provided an updated on the Federation’s activities and the search for a new executive director. Mention was made of the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences, to be held at Ryerson University in the spring of 2017 (May 27 to June 2).

Leaders participated in a series of World Café sessions, rotating between topics related to SSHRC programs, policies and strategic initiatives:

  • open discussion on plans for celebrating Canada's 150th anniversary;
  • interdisciplinary research; proposal for changes to health research and implications for eligibility (two topics);
  • new “Engage Stream” for Partnerships;
  • two streams for Insight Grants; merger of SIG and ASU (two topics); and
  • review of SSCHC’s doctoral programs.

The meeting concluded with a summary of key messages and takeaways.

Rencontre annuelle des leaders pour le CRSH, les 1er et 2 décembre 2016

Sommaire

Le CRSH a tenu la neuvième réunion annuelle des leaders pour le CRSH les 1er et 2 décembre 2016 à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, à Ottawa. En tout, 57 leaders représentant des établissements d’un peu partout au Canada étaient présents.

Jeudi 1er décembre 2016

Après l’allocution de bienvenue et les observations préliminaires d’Ursula Gobel, vice-présidente adjointe, Défis de demain, Ted Hewitt, président, présente les faits saillants des travaux entrepris pour faire progresser les priorités stratégiques clés du CRSH et à l’appui de la communauté des chercheurs.

Une session dédiée entre les leaders pour le CRSH et l’équipe de direction a pris forme et celle-ci a portée sur un éventail de sujets incluant le CV commun canadien (CVC), le portail de recherche, les occasions de financement, le financement des universités par le Fonds de soutien à la recherche et les occasions internationales de financement pour les nouveaux chercheurs et la création de recherches.

Deux présentations ont été livrées portant sur la gestion des données et les besoins des chercheurs. Jeff Moon, bibliothécaire de données, directeur académique, Centre de données de recherche de la Queen’s University, présente une vue d’ensemble des résultats de l’enquête sur les pratiques et les besoins de données de recherche parmi les chercheurs en sciences humaines. Mark Leggot, directeur exécutif, Centre de données de recherche, souligne l’importance d’un dialogue permanent avec les chercheurs au sujet de la gestion des données de recherche. Il parle aussi de son appui aux efforts de Données de recherche Canada en vue de la création d’un service national de données. Un travail sera entrepris dans les 6 à 8 mois à venir avec les intervenants, notamment le Conseil du leadership sur l’infrastructure numérique, afin de définir et de construire un écosystème nationale de données de recherche.

Les participants discutent de trois sujets en table ronde et lors de la session en plénière. Ces questions se rapportent à la capacité, à la formation et aux compétences, et à la culture. Le dialogue concernant ce qui doit être considéré comme des « données », ce qui doit être partagé ou exclu, sera critique pour les chercheurs à l’avenir.

Une mise à jour sur les programmes et les subventions, comporte quatre présentations :

  • un rapport sur les concours;
  • une mise à jour sur les subventions de recherche (résultats de l’évaluation des subventions Savoir, nouvelles occasions de financement pour les subventions Savoir et les subventions de partenariat, et fusion des subventions institutionnelles du CRSH et de l’aide aux petites universités);
  • les résultats de l’évaluation du programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada en ce qui concerne l’appui aux étudiants;
  • une méta­analyse de l’évaluation des bourses en ce qui concerne l’appui aux étudiants.

Trois leaders pour le CRSH, de l’Université York, de l’University of Regina et de la Memorial University of Newfoundland, présentent ensuite un aperçu de leurs activités au sujet de la recherche et la réconciliation dans leurs établissements respectifs. Le leader de la Mount Royal University, décrit brièvement le nouveau plan stratégique pour les autochtones provenant de son établissement.

Des séances simultanées sont offertes, comportant des tables rondes de discussion sur l’un des deux thèmes suivants : a) La recherche au premier cycle et b) avenir du doctorat. L’importance du système de soutien à la recherche de premier cycle et la démarche des bourses de recherche de premier cycle du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) ont été soulignées.

L’honorable Kirsty Duncan, ministre des Sciences, s’adresse aux leaders pour le CRSH avant la réception en soirée. La ministre insiste sur l’importance de la recherche en sciences humaines et répond aux questions qui portent sur l’examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences et la recherche interdisciplinaire au Canada, parmi d’autres sujets d’intérêt aux leaders.

Vendredi 2 décembre 2016

Ursula Gobel, vice-présidente adjointe, Défis de demain, a fourni un aperçu du nouveau cadre approuvé par le conseil d’administration du CRSH à l’adresse de la prochaine génération de l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada. Ce cadre est composé de trois piliers d’activités de prévoyance : le suivi des tendances sociétales futures à long terme, reliant la recherche sur les questions d’intérêt public, notamment en mettant l’accent sur les politiques publiques et cerner les tendances futures dans la recherche et l’érudition. Elle décrit également les principales activités entreprises en 2017 pour répondre aux six domaines des défis de demain.

Christine Tausig Ford, directrice générale par intérim, Fédération des sciences humaines, fait le point sur les dernières activités de la Fédération et la recherche d’un nouveau directeur général. Une mention est faîte du Congrès des sciences humaines qui se tiendra à la Ryerson University au printemps 2017 (du 27 mai au 2 juin).

Les leaders participent à une série de séances selon la technique du « Café du Monde », faisant une rotation entre les groupes de discussion de leur choix, en lien avec les programmes, les politiques et les initiatives stratégiques du CRSH :

  • discussion ouverte sur les plans de célébration du 150e anniversaire du Canada;
  • recherche interdisciplinaire, proposition de changements de la recherche sur la santé et incidences sur l’éligibilité (deux thèmes);
  • nouveau volet « Engagement » pour les partenariats;
  • deux volets pour les subventions Savoir, fusion des subventions institutionnelles du CRSH et de l’aide aux petites universités (deux thèmes);
  • examen des programmes de doctorat du CRSH.

La réunion se conclut par un résumé des messages clés et des éléments à retenir.