COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Annual SSHRC Leaders Meeting, December 4 to 5, 2014

On December 4 and 5, 2014, SSHRC held its seventh annual SSHRC Leaders meeting at the Marriott Hotel. The event was attended by SSHRC Leaders representing 52 institutions. The aim of the meeting was to:

  1. identify and address issues of key interest from the research community about SSHRC programs and policies;
  2. facilitate a discussion between university administrators and senior leaders in the public sector;
  3. share best practices that promote and support excellence in research, research training and knowledge mobilization in the social sciences and humanities in Canada; and
  4. engage senior university administrators in the consultation process for development of new policies and research-related initiatives.

Thursday, December 4, 2014

After the welcome from Ursula Gobel, associate vice-president, Future Challenges, and the introductory sessions, Brent Herbert-Copely, vice-president, Research Programs, moderated a full morning of discussion on the merit review process and funding opportunity success rates.

Adèle Savoie, director, programs planning and operations, provided an overview of committee structures and composition, outlined the challenges of recruiting members and assessors, and highlighted the high satisfaction rate, among observers and members with adjudication procedures.

Jean-François Fortin, director, research training portfolio, provided an update on scholarship and fellowship competition results and procedures, as well as on the new Canada Graduate Scholarships—Master’s Scholarships competition protocols and acceptance rates.

Tim Wilson, director, research grants and partnerships, presented a compilation of data on success rates in SSHRC’s grant competitions, which demonstrated the pressure on the merit review system.

Following the presentations, the Leaders discussed ways in which SSHRC and the universities can relieve pressure on the merit review system, and made a number of suggestions.

Ursula Gobel provided an update on engagement activities related to the Imagining Canada’s Future initiative before hosting a panel session, during which SSHRC Leaders provided updates on regional events held at their institutions, focussing on the six Future Challenge Areas. The panelists were Marilyn Taylor (Royal Roads University), Ruby Heap (University of Ottawa), Carmen Robertson (University of Regina), Marie-Andrée Roy (Université du Québec à Montréal), Andrew Nelson (Western University), Julia Wright (Dalhousie University) and Sandra Crocker (Carleton University).

SSHRC Leaders were invited to join SSHRC staff for a special presentation by Public Policy Forum Executive Vice-President Paul Ledwell, who is also an advisory board member for ERA-Can+. Ledwell provided an overview of Horizon 2020, the new European Union framework in support of research and innovation.

The final session for the day was a panel discussion featuring SSHRC Leaders and Deputy Minister university champions, on the relationship between academics and policy-makers, and the role of research in government policy-making. The panel participants were SSHRC Leaders David Wolfe (University of Toronto) and Serge Brochu (Université de Montréal), and Deputy Minister University Champions Jean-François Tremblay (deputy secretary to the Cabinet, Privy Council Office) and Colleen Sword (deputy minister, Aboriginal and Northern Development Canada).


Friday, December 5, 2014

Ted Hewitt, executive vice-president and COO, opened the day by advising that SSHRC continued to be focussed on its strategic priorities while the search for a new president was underway. He then provided an update on a number of strategic priorities and funding areas at SSHRC, including the Research Support Fund, the newly announced Canada First Research Excellence Fund and Community and Colleges Social Innovation Fund, as well as the new tri-agency open access and data management policies.

Hewitt then hosted a panel discussion on open access and data management initiatives in the research and research funding context. Panelists provided their perspectives on the data revolution and how to manage access and retention. The panelists were Kevin Fitzgibbons (associate vice-president, corporate planning and policy, NSERC), Jean-Marc Mangin (executive director, Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences), Leslie Weir (chief librarian, University of Ottawa) and Amos Hayes (technical manager, Geomatics and Cartographic Research Centre, Carleton University).

A “World Café” session gave Leaders an opportunity to participate in breakout discussions and ask questions on a number of developments related to programs and policy at SSHRC, including the Research Portal and the Canadian Common CV; effective research training; industry-academic partnerships; Mitacs internships for social sciences and humanities; cross-agency interdisciplinarity; and the SSHRC Impact Awards.

The Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences presented the report Measuring the Impacts of Research in the Social Sciences and Humanities, and hosted a noontime discussion focussing on issues of scholarship, capacity-building–such as through mentorship and the impacts of research on the economy, society and culture.

Brent Herbert-Copley hosted a session on SSHRC’s Aboriginal research integrated strategy (ARIS), featuring SSHRC and university research policy leaders. Senior Program Officer Gail Zboch provided an overview of the history and evolution of SSHRC’s policies and Aboriginal research funding programs, emphasizing the key role that the Aboriginal Advisory Circle played in developing SSHRC’s definition of Aboriginal research, Aboriginal Research Statement of Principles, and Aboriginal Research Guidelines for Merit Review. Craig McNaughton, special advisor to the vice-president, Research Programs, provided an overview of the consultation, and of ongoing development work on the Talent portion of ARIS, which will focus on graduate students and emerging scholars.

Carmen Robertson, associate dean, graduate and research, University of Regina, provided insights into her research experience involving indigenous art. She explained that, in order to work with aboriginal knowledge keepers, strong bonds must be built, and researchers must take a community-building approach.

Carrie Dyck, vice-president, research, pro tempore, Memorial University of Newfoundland, emphasized the importance of establishing relationships with First Nations, and how these will be enhanced by ARIS’s guiding principles.

The meeting concluded with a plenary discussion.

Réunion annuelle des leaders pour le CRSH, les 4 et 5 décembre 2014

Les 4 et 5 décembre 2014, le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) tient sa septième réunion annuelle des leaders pour le CRSH à l’hôtel Marriott. Cette réunion, à laquelle assistent des leaders pour le CRSH représentant 52 établissements, vise les objectifs suivants :

  1. déterminer les principales questions d’intérêt pour les intervenants du milieu de la recherche en ce qui concerne les programmes et les politiques du CRSH et aborder ces questions;
  2. faciliter les échanges entre les administrateurs universitaires et les hauts dirigeants du secteur public;
  3. faire connaître les bonnes pratiques qui favorisent et soutiennent l’excellence en matière de recherche, la formation en recherche et la mobilisation des connaissances en sciences humaines au Canada;
  4. inciter les administrateurs de haut rang des universités à participer au processus de consultation mené en vue de l’élaboration de nouvelles politiques et de nouvelles initiatives liées à la recherche.

Jeudi 4 décembre 2014

Après le mot de bienvenue d’Ursula Gobel, vice-présidente adjointe, Défis de demain, et les présentations d’usage, Brent Herbert-Copley, vice-président, Programmes de recherche, anime une matinée de discussions sur le processus d’évaluation du mérite et les taux de réussite observés dans le cadre des occasions de financement.

Adèle Savoie, directrice, Planification et opérations des programmes, donne un aperçu des structures et de la composition des comités d’évaluation du mérite, décrit les défis que pose le recrutement des membres des comités et des examinateurs et souligne le taux élevé de satisfaction des observateurs et des membres à l’égard des procédures de sélection.

Jean-François Fortin, directeur, Portefeuille de la formation en recherche, fait le point sur les procédures et les résultats des concours visant l’attribution des bourses, ainsi que sur les protocoles et les taux d’acceptation du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada au niveau de la maîtrise.

Tim Wilson, directeur exécutif, Subventions de recherche et partenariats, présente une compilation des données recueillies sur les taux de réussite obtenus aux concours de subventions du CRSH, laquelle témoigne des pressions qui s’exercent sur le système d’évaluation du mérite.

Une fois les présentations terminées, les leaders discutent des moyens que le CRSH et les universités pourraient prendre pour atténuer ces pressions et formulent quelques suggestions.

Ursula Gobel fait le point sur les activités de rayonnement menées en lien avec l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada. Elle anime ensuite une discussion de groupe au cours de laquelle les leaders pour le CRSH présentent un compte rendu des activités régionales tenues dans leurs établissements respectifs en ce qui a trait aux six domaines des défis de demain. Marilyn Taylor (Royal Roads University), Ruby Heap (Université d’Ottawa), Carmen Robertson (University of Regina), Marie-Andrée Roy (Université du Québec à Montréal), Andrew Nelson (Western University), Julia Wright (Dalhousie University) et Sandra Crocker (Carleton University) prennent la parole.

Les leaders pour le CRSH sont invités à se joindre au personnel du CSRH pour assister à une présentation spéciale du vice-président exécutif du Forum des politiques publiques, Paul Ledwell, qui est en outre membre du conseil consultatif de l’ERA-Can+. Paul Ledwell donne un aperçu d’Horizon 2020, le nouveau programme-cadre de l’Union européenne pour la recherche et l’innovation.

La dernière séance de la journée consiste en une discussion de groupe à laquelle participent les leaders pour le CRSH et les sous-ministres champions des relations universitaires. Cette discussion porte sur la relation entre les universitaires et les responsables de l’élaboration de politiques, ainsi que sur le rôle de la recherche dans l’établissement de politiques gouvernementales. Les leaders pour le CRSH David Wolfe (University of Toronto) et Serge Brochu (Université de Montréal) ainsi que les sous-ministres champions des relations universitaires. Jean-François Tremblay (sous-secrétaire du Cabinet, Opérations, Bureau du Conseil privé) et Colleen Sword (sous-ministre, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada) y participent.


Vendredi 5 décembre 2014

Ted Hewitt, vice-président directeur et chef des opérations du CRSH, amorce la journée en indiquant que le CRSH continue de se concentrer sur ses priorités stratégiques tout en poursuivant la recherche d’un nouveau président. Il fait ensuite le point sur un certain nombre de priorités stratégiques et occasions de financement du CRSH, parmi lesquelles le Fonds de soutien à la recherche, le Fonds d’excellence en recherche Apogée Canada, dont la création a été annoncée il y a peu, et le Fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux communautés et aux collèges, ainsi que sur les nouvelles politiques des trois organismes subventionnaires en matière de libre accès et de gestion des données.

Ted Hewitt anime ensuite une discussion de groupe sur les initiatives de libre accès et de gestion des données dans le contexte de la recherche et du financement de la recherche. Les panélistes font part de leurs expériences et de leurs points de vue sur la révolution des données et sur la façon de gérer l’accès et la conservation. Kevin Fitzgibbons (vice-président associé, Division de la planification et des politiques organisationnelles, CRSNG), Jean-Marc Mangin (directeur général, Fédération des sciences humaines), Leslie Weir (bibliothécaire en chef, Université d’Ottawa) et Amos Hayes (directeur technique, Geomatics and Cartographic Research Centre, Carleton University) y participent.

Dans le cadre d’une séance « café du monde », les leaders ont la possibilité de participer à des discussions en petits groupes et de poser des questions sur un certain nombre d’éléments nouveaux concernant les programmes et les politiques du CRSH. Il est notamment question du Portail de recherche et du CV commun canadien, de la formation en recherche efficace, des partenariats entre l’industrie et le milieu universitaire, des stages Mitacs en sciences humaines, de l’interdisciplinarité des trois organismes, ainsi que des prix Impacts du CRSH.

La Fédération des sciences humaines présente le rapport intitulé Les incidences de la recherche en sciences humaines et anime une discussion à l’heure du midi qui est axée sur des questions reliées aux bourses d’études, au renforcement des capacités, au moyen du mentorat par exemple, et à l’incidence de la recherche sur l’économie, la société et la culture.

Brent Herbert-Copley anime une séance traitant de la stratégie intégrée sur la recherche autochtone du CRSH, avec la participation de leaders en politiques du CRSH et du milieu de la recherche universitaire. Gail Zboch, agente principale de programmes, donne un aperçu de l’historique et de l’évolution des politiques et des programmes de financement du CRSH en ce qui a trait à la recherche autochtone, en soulignant le rôle clé joué par le Cercle consultatif en matière de recherche autochtone dans l’élaboration d’une définition de la recherche autochtone, d’un énoncé de principes en matière de recherche autochtone et de lignes directrices pour l’évaluation du mérite de la recherche autochtone propres au CRSH. Craig McNaughton, conseiller spécial auprès du vice-président, Programmes de recherche, donne un aperçu de la consultation et du travail de conception en cours en ce qui concerne la partie ayant trait au programme Talent de la stratégie intégrée sur la recherche autochtone, qui mettra l’accent sur les étudiants des cycles supérieurs et les chercheurs émergents.

Carmen Robertson, doyenne associée, études supérieures et recherche, University of Regina, parle de son expérience en recherche sur l’art autochtone. Avant de pouvoir travailler avec les gardiens du savoir autochtone, il faut d’abord établir de solides liens avec eux, explique-t-elle, et il est essentiel que les chercheurs adoptent une approche axée sur le renforcement des capacités communautaires. Carrie Dyck, vice-présidente par intérim, recherche, Memorial University of Newfoundland, souligne elle aussi l’importance de l’établissement de relations avec les Premières Nations et indique que cela sera facilité par les principes directeurs de la stratégie intégrée sur la recherche autochtone.

La réunion se termine par une discussion en plénière.