Aboriginal Research

Aboriginal Research

SSHRC is committed to supporting and promoting social sciences and humanities research by and with Aboriginal Peoples, including First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples. This commitment is a fundamental part of SSHRC’s mandate, approach and efforts.

As an integral part of this commitment, SSHRC works to support the advancement of Aboriginal researchers, including Aboriginal graduate students and Aboriginal postdoctoral researchers working in the social sciences and humanities.

History

In 2002-03, SSHRC sponsored a national Dialogue on Research and Aboriginal Peoples, which resulted in the report Opportunities in Aboriginal Research. Based on this work, SSHRC launched the Aboriginal Research Pilot Program, offering competitions in 2004, 2005, 2007 and 2009. In 2008, SSHRC commissioned an evaluation of the pilot program. The evaluation was based, in part, on the work of a panel of knowledge-keepers drawn from First Nations, Métis and Inuit communities.

In May 2015, in the context of ongoing dialogue with First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples, and in close collaboration with its Aboriginal Advisory Circle, SSHRC launched its Aboriginal Research Statement of Principles and related resources in support of Aboriginal research and talent, including a revised definition of Aboriginal research.

Resources

SSHRC has a number of tools specifically intended to support applicants working in Aboriginal research; merit reviewers assessing applications related to Aboriginal research; and communities and other research partners engaged in Aboriginal research. These include:

Following are some additional resources those involved in Aboriginal research may find helpful:




SSHRC Funding Opportunities

All of SSHRC’s Talent, Insight and Connection funding opportunities welcome applications involving Aboriginal research. See the Funding search tool for a complete list of SSHRC funding opportunities.

Aboriginal Talent

SSHRC is implementing several pilot measures intended to support research by and with Aboriginal Peoples. These are aimed at supporting graduate students and postdoctoral researchers applying for SSHRC Doctoral Fellowships, Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarships Program—Doctoral Scholarships or SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships.

The pilot measures include opportunities for applicants to:

  • self-identify as Aboriginal, using their preferred identity terms, thereby allowing SSHRC to track and assess participation and success rates for First Nations, Métis, Inuit and other Indigenous doctoral and postdoctoral applicants (note: this information is optional, will remain confidential and will not be used in adjudication);
  • identify a proposed program of study as Aboriginal research, such that SSHRC’s Guidelines for the Merit Review of Aboriginal Research will apply; and
  • specify additional circumstances that might impact the academic careers of some Aboriginal applicants.

Concerted efforts will be made by SSHRC to include experts in Aboriginal research in the doctoral and postdoctoral adjudication committees. Committee members will also receive guidance on how to interpret Aboriginal research applications, as well as any special circumstances related to cultural or community responsibilities and/or socio-economic contexts. Other measures of support for Aboriginal talent could follow in subsequent years.

SSHRC welcomes feedback and questions on any or all of these pilot measures. 

To learn more, please consult Aboriginal Talent Measures.

Imagining Canada’s Future

Aboriginal research is a key element for all of the Future Challenge Areas identified though SSHRC’s Imagining Canada’s Future initiative, and, in particular, the question, “How are the knowledge systems, experiences and aspirations of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples essential to building a successful shared future for all Canadians?” This future challenge area includes issues and subquestions in areas such as Aboriginal youth and employment; historical and modern treaties; Aboriginal values, cultures and knowledge systems; and endangered languages and cultures.

In 2015, as part of the Imagining Canada’s Future initiative, the Canadian Association for Graduate Studies organized a series of roundtable discussions in postsecondary institutions across Canada to gain the views of graduate students on the future of Aboriginal Peoples in Canada. See the discussion and summary reports.

SSHRC also launched a Knowledge Synthesis Grants competition in this challenge area in June 2016. Watch the Knowledge Synthesis Grants: Aboriginal Peoples video to learn more about this challenge area.



Funded Aboriginal Research Projects

The concept of research “by and with” Aboriginal Peoples, originally introduced in the 2000s with SSHRC’s Aboriginal Research Pilot Project, has enabled SSHRC to support many Aboriginal research projects, in areas ranging from education, literacy, language retrieval and retention, to governance, laws and treaties, the environment, cultural resources, knowledge systems, histories, violence and corrections, digital infrastructure, economics, poverty and homelessness, youth engagement, employment and many other areas.

Following is a selection of stories on recent SSHRC-supported Aboriginal research:

And justice for all

 

Researcher: John Borrows, University of Victoria

Big hockey in small places

The game really matters to Canada's First Nations

Researcher: Michael Robidoux, University of Ottawa

Bridging the rural gap

Research helps First Nations communities stay connected

Researcher: Susan O'Donnell, University of New Brunswick

Facing crime

Forensic anthropologist Tanya Peckmann works to find missing Aboriginal Canadians

Researcher: Tanya Peckmann, Saint Mary's University

Rediscovering Blackfoot science

How First Nations helped develop a keystone of modern psychology

Researcher: Ryan Heavy Head, Red Crow Community College

For information on additional funded Aboriginal research projects, use SSHRC’s Awards Search Engine or search our indexed Research Stories.




SSHRC Impact Awards

A number of Canada’s top researchers have been recognized for their outstanding achievements in Aboriginal research through SSHRC’s prestigious Impact Awards, including:


Beverley Diamond

Gold Medal

Hadley Friedland

Talent Award


Marguerite MacKenzie

Insight Award

Nico Trocmé

Connection Award


George Nicholas

Partnership Award


SSHRC Storytellers

SSHRC-funded Aboriginal research has also been the focus for a number of the winners, finalists and honourable mentions of SSHRC’s annual Storytellers contest:


Bryan Gallagher
2015 winner


Thomas Burelli
2015 honourable mention


Kyla Mottershead
2015 honourable mention


Daniela Navia
2015 honourable mention

La recherche autochtone et le CRSH

La recherche autochtone et le CRSH

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) s’engage à soutenir et à promouvoir la recherche en sciences humaines menée par et avec les peuples autochtones, à savoir les Premières Nations, les Métis et les Inuits. Cet engagement représente un élément fondamental du mandat, de l’approche et des activités du CRSH.

Le CRSH s’efforce, et cela fait partie intégrante de cet engagement, de soutenir l’avancement des chercheurs autochtones, notamment des étudiants autochtones de maîtrise et de doctorat et des chercheurs postdoctoraux autochtones qui œuvrent dans les disciplines des sciences humaines.

Historique

En 2002-2003, le CRSH a parrainé un dialogue national sur la recherche et les peuples autochtones qui a donné lieu à la rédaction du rapport intitulé Les possibilités de la recherche autochtone. C’est en prenant appui sur ce dialogue que le CRSH a lancé Réalités autochtones, un programme de recherche pilote au moyen duquel il a offert des concours en 2004, 2005, 2007 et 2009. En 2008, le CRSH a commandé une évaluation du programme pilote – évaluation fondée, en partie, sur les travaux d’un groupe de gardiens du savoir des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits.

En mai 2015, dans le cadre d’échanges continus avec les Premières Nations, les Métis et les Inuits, ainsi qu’en étroite collaboration avec le Cercle consultatif en matière de recherche autochtone, le CRSH a rendu public son énoncé de principes en matière de recherche autochtone ainsi que des ressources connexes visant à appuyer la recherche et le développement du talent chez les peuples autochtones, notamment une version révisée de la définition de la recherche autochtone.

Ressources

Le CRSH dispose d’un certain nombre d’outils spécialement conçus pour aider les candidats qui œuvrent dans le domaine de la recherche autochtone, les personnes chargées d’évaluer le mérite des candidatures portant sur la recherche autochtone, ainsi que les collectivités et les autres partenaires qui collaborent à la recherche autochtone. Il s’agit des outils suivants :

Voici quelques autres ressources qui peuvent être utiles aux personnes travaillant dans le domaine de la recherche autochtone :




Occasions de financement du CRSH

Les demandes ayant trait à la recherche autochtone sont acceptées dans le cadre de toutes les occasions de financement offertes par les programmes Talent, Savoir et Connexion. L’outil de recherche de financement permet d’obtenir la liste complète des occasions de financement offertes par le CRSH.

Talent autochtone

Le CRSH met en place plusieurs mesures pilotes afin d’appuyer la recherche menée par et avec les peuples autochtones. Ces mesures s’adressent aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs et aux chercheurs postdoctoraux qui présentent une demande de bourse de doctorat du CRSH, de bourse de doctorat du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Joseph-Armand-Bombardier ou de bourse postdoctorale du CRSH.

Ces mesures offrent aux candidats la possibilité :

  • de déclarer volontairement leur ascendance autochtone au moyen du terme identitaire de leur choix, et ce, afin de permettre au CRSH d’évaluer le taux de participation et le taux de réussite en matière d’obtention de financement des candidats aux bourses de doctorat et aux bourses postdoctorales qui font partie des Premières Nations, du peuple inuit, du peuple métis ou d’autres peuples autochtones (remarque : ces renseignements facultatifs demeurent confidentiels et ne servent pas au processus de sélection);
  • de définir le programme d’études proposé à titre de recherche autochtone, afin d’assurer la prise en compte des lignes directrices pour l’évaluation du mérite de la recherche autochtone du CRSH;
  • de préciser toute autre circonstance pouvant avoir une incidence sur la carrière universitaire de certains candidats autochtones.

Le CRSH déploiera des efforts concertés pour inclure des experts en recherche autochtone au sein des comités de sélection chargés de l’attribution des bourses de doctorat et des bourses postdoctorales. Les membres des comités recevront des conseils sur la manière d’interpréter les demandes concernant la recherche autochtone ainsi que toute circonstance spéciale liée à des responsabilités culturelles ou communautaires ou au contexte socioéconomique. Le CRSH pourrait concevoir d’autres mesures favorisant l’épanouissement du talent autochtone au cours des années à venir.

Le CRSH invite les personnes intéressées à poser leurs questions ou à faire part de leur rétroaction.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter les mesures favorisant l’épanouissement du talent autochtone.

Imaginer l’avenir du Canada

La recherche autochtone est un élément clé de tous les domaines des défis de demain retenus dans le cadre de l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada du CRSH et est abordée plus particulièrement par la question En quoi les expériences de vie et les aspirations des peuples autochtones du Canada sont-elles essentielles pour bâtir un avenir commun prospère? Les sous-questions soulevées portent, entre autres, sur les jeunes Autochtones et l’emploi, les traités historiques et modernes, les valeurs, les cultures et les systèmes de connaissances des Autochtones, ainsi que les langues et les cultures en péril.

En 2015, dans le cadre de l'initiative Imaginer l'avenir du Canada, l'Association canadienne pour les études supérieures a organisé une série de tables rondes dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens afin de recueillir les points de vue des étudiants des cycles supérieurs sur l’avenir des peuples autochtones au pays. Le Résumé des discussions en table ronde fait état des échanges.

Le CRSH a lancé, en juin 2016, un concours de subventions de synthèse des connaissances se rapportant à cette question. La vidéo Subventions de synthèse des connaissances : peuples autochtones permet d’en savoir plus sur ce défi de demain.



Projets de recherche autochtone financés jusqu’à maintenant

Le concept de recherche « par et avec » les peuples autochtones, qui a vu le jour dans les années 2000 dans le cadre du programme de recherche pilote Réalités autochtones du CRSH, a permis au CRSH d’appuyer plusieurs projets de recherche autochtone dans des domaines tels que l’éducation, l’alphabétisation, la sauvegarde et la renaissance des langues autochtones, la gouvernance, les lois et traités, l’environnement, les ressources culturelles, les systèmes de connaissances, l’histoire, la violence et le système correctionnel, l’infrastructure numérique, l’économie, la pauvreté et l’itinérance, la mobilisation des jeunes et l’emploi.

Voici de courts textes portant sur des projets de recherche autochtone appuyés par le CRSH.

Justice pour tous

 

Chercheur : John Borrows, University of Victoria

Lance et compte

Les peuples des Premières Nations du Canada : des passionnés de hockey

Chercheur : Michael Robidoux, Université d’Ottawa

La technologie au service des communautés éloignées

Grâce à une recherche, les Premières Nations sont bien branchées

Chercheure : Susan O'Donnell, Université du Nouveau-Brunswick

Portés disparus

Une technique 3D au service des peuples autochtones du Canada

Chercheure : Tanya Peckmann, Saint Mary’s University

Pyramides d’hier et d’aujourd’hui

Le savoir autochtone : élément d’inspiration de la psychologie moderne

Chercheur : Ryan Heavy Head, Red Crow Community College


Pour en savoir plus sur les autres projets de recherche autochtone financés, veuillez utiliser le moteur de recherche des attributions du CRSH ou parcourir les histoires de recherche indexées.




Prix Impacts du CRSH

Certains des meilleurs chercheurs du Canada se sont vus décerner l’un des prestigieux prix Impacts pour l’excellence de leurs travaux dans le domaine de la recherche autochtone. C’est le cas de :


Beverley Diamond

Médaille d’or

Hadley Friedland

prix Talent


Marguerite MacKenzie

prix Savoir

Nico Trocmé

prix Connexion


George Nicholas

prix Partenariat


Concours J’ai une histoire à raconter

Des lauréats, des concurrents ayant reçu une mention honorable et des finalistes du concours annuel J’ai une histoire à raconter du CRSH ont mis en évidence des projets de recherche autochtone financés par le CRSH, notamment :


Bryan Gallagher
lauréat en 2015 (vidéo en anglais)


Thomas Burelli
mention honorable en 2015


Kyla Mottershead
mention honorable en 2015 (vidéo en anglais)


Daniela Navia
mention honorable en 2015 (vidéo en anglais)


Jessica Jacobson-Konefall
finaliste en 2014 (vidéo en anglais)