Featured News



As we settle into 2017, we look forward to celebrating Canada’s 150th birthday. Much has happened since Confederation in 1867, and Canadians will be marking the occasion with home-grown events right across the country.

SSHRC is helping facilitate festivities through its new Connection Grants—Connecting for Canada’s 150th. These grants support outreach activities organized by postsecondary institutions and their affiliated researchers that underscore the contributions social sciences and humanities research has made to Canadian society.

From coast to coast to coast


Events across Canada

To celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary, SSHRC and its partners are hosting a wide range of events focused on social sciences and humanities research. Check out what is happening in our research community across the country, and find out how you can participate.




Speakers’ Corner


How has social sciences and humanities research advanced Canadian society?



Thanks to SSHRC support, we were able to participate in the sixth Lindau Meetings on Economic Sciences. At this conference, we interacted with 18 Nobel laureates, who shared their ideas, experiences and advice. We also fostered relationships within our group and with other high-achieving PhD students from around the world. We went home with new ideas for our own research and a larger network of potential collaborators and friends. We are confident that these will translate to better research projects in the coming years.


Nine SSHRC-funded doctoral students who attended the Lindau Meeting in Germany in August



Social science and humanities research has enabled data-driven policy and practice. In the field of social work, as in other disciplines, evidence-informed practice is critical. Good research and good practice and policy are inextricably linked, inform one another, and most importantly, contribute to the everyday well-being of Canadians—particularly the most vulnerable among us. With respect to my area, cyberbullying among children, youth and young adults, research is essential in order to inform effective prevention and intervention strategies.


Faye Mishna
SSHRC-funded researcher and dean of the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work at the University of Toronto



SSHRC’s support of Aboriginal research has played an important role in enhancing the understanding and valuing of Aboriginal languages, world views, traditions, knowledge systems and contributions among Canadians. Scholars and Aboriginal Elders agree that mutual understanding, appreciation and respect for one another and for cultural differences are the hallmarks of an inclusive, cohesive and accepting diverse society.


David Perley
SSHRC-funded researcher and SSHRC Knowledge Synthesis Grant recipient

En vedette



En 2017, nous célébrerons le 150e anniversaire du Canada. Il s’est passé beaucoup de choses depuis la création de la Confédération canadienne en 1867 et, pour souligner cet anniversaire, les Canadiens organiseront des activités d’un océan à l’autre.

Par le truchement des subventions Connexion – Initiative 150e anniversaire du Canada, le CRSH aide à l’organisation des festivités. Ces subventions visent à appuyer des activités de rayonnement proposées par des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et des chercheurs qui y sont rattachés. Les activités doivent illustrer l’apport de la recherche en sciences humaines à la société canadienne.


D’un océan à l'autre


Événements partout au Canada

À l’occasion du 150e anniversaire du Canada, le CRSH et ses partenaires organisent toute une gamme d’activités axées sur la recherche en sciences humaines. Tenez-vous au courant de ce qui se passe dans le milieu de la recherche en sciences humaines partout au pays et voyez quelle peut être votre participation.




Parole aux chercheurs


À l'occasion du 150e anniversaire du Canada, nous demandons à des chercheurs de nous dire en quoi la recherche en sciences humaines fait évoluer la société canadienne.



Grâce au soutien du CRSH, nous avons été en mesure de participer à la 6e Rencontre de Lindau sur les sciences économiques. Nous y avons échangé avec 18 lauréats d’un prix Nobel, qui nous ont fait part de leurs idées et de leurs conseils et nous ont parlé de leurs expériences. Nous avons également noué des relations avec les autres membres du groupe ainsi qu’avec des doctorants talentueux de partout dans le monde. Nous revenons avec de nouvelles idées pour nos travaux de recherche et un réseau plus vaste d’amis et de collaborateurs possibles. Nous sommes convaincus qu’il en résultera d'excellents projets de recherche dans les années qui viennent.


Les neuf doctorants financés par le CRSH qui ont assisté à la rencontre de Lindau, en Allemagne, en août 2017



La recherche en sciences humaines a permis d’obtenir des politiques et des pratiques pilotées par les données. En travail social, tout comme dans d’autres disciplines, la pratique éclairée par des données probantes est essentielle. De bonnes recherches et de bonnes politiques et pratiques sont inextricablement liées, s’inspirent les unes les autres et, surtout, contribuent au bien-être quotidien des Canadiens, en particulier des plus vulnérables d’entre nous. Dans mon domaine, à savoir la cyberintimidation chez les enfants, les adolescents et les jeunes adultes, la recherche est essentielle pour inspirer des stratégies de prévention et d’intervention efficaces.


Faye Mishna
chercheure financée par le CRSH et doyenne de la Faculté de travail social Factor-Inwentash de l'University of Toronto



Le soutien apporté par le CRSH à la recherche autochtone a joué un rôle important : il a fait en sorte que les Canadiens comprennent mieux et valorisent désormais les langues, les visions du monde, les traditions, les systèmes de connaissances et les contributions des Autochtones. Universitaires et aînés autochtones s’entendent sur le fait que la compréhension et l’appréciation mutuelles tout comme le respect des uns envers les autres et des différences culturelles sont des caractéristiques d’une société diversifiée qui fait preuve d’inclusion, de cohésion et d’acceptation.


David Perley
chercheur dont le CRSH finance les travaux, notamment au moyen d’une subvention de synthèse des connaissances