Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or record-keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Charles Taylor

SSHRC Gold Medal for Achievement in Research

Charles Taylor is at home with the greats—his work demonstrates a profound engagement with the ideas of philosophers from Plato to Locke to Hegel. His ability to apply these ideas to today’s most challenging questions, including those at the heart of Canada’s political and constitutional debates, has helped establish him as one of this century’s most original thinkers.

His staggering capacity for knowledge and understanding has led to a wealth of writings in English and French that have, in turn, been translated into more than 20 languages. Whether writing on artificial intelligence, language, morality or multiculturalism, Taylor is always provocative, influential and a catalyst for vigorous debate.

The child of an anglophone father and a francophone mother, Taylor has always sought to help English- and French-speaking Canadians better understand each other. In Reconciling the Solitudes, his much-acclaimed collection of essays on federalism and nationalism, published simultaneously in French as Rapprocher les solitudes, Taylor outlined a framework for the renewal of our political system based on the acknowledgement and expression of diversity.

He has not shied away from actively participating in the political process himself. In the 1970s, Taylor stood as a candidate for the New Democratic Party in four federal elections, once challenging Pierre Trudeau in the riding of Mount Royal. His arguments during the 1980 referendum and his presentation before the 1990 Bélanger-Campeau Commission on the political and constitutional future of Québec are two examples of Taylor's efforts to provide solutions based on his understanding of philosophy.

The recipient of numerous honours, including the Order of Canada, the Ordre national du Québec, the Molson Prize and the Prix Léon-Gérin, Taylor remains an influential voice in shaping our understanding of diversity and identity in a globalized world. With American philosopher Hubert Dreyfus, he is currently working on a book on the contemporary relevance of religious belief.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Charles Taylor

Médaille d'or du CRSH pour les réalisations en recherche

Charles Taylor se sent à l’aise auprès des grands. Son travail montre un profond engagement envers les idées de philosophes tels que Platon, Locke et Hegel. Sa capacité d’appliquer celles-ci aux questions les plus épineuses d’aujourd’hui, y compris celles qui sont au coeur des débats politiques et constitutionnels du Canada, a contribué à en faire l’un des penseurs les plus originaux du dernier siècle.

L’incroyable capacité d’apprendre et de comprendre de M. Taylor l’a amené à rédiger une foule de documents en anglais et en français, qui ont été traduits en plus de 20 langues. Qu’il aborde des questions telles que l’intelligence artificielle, la langue, la moralité ou le multiculturalisme, M. Taylor est toujours provocateur et influent, et ne manque jamais de susciter un débat animé.

Fils d’un anglophone et d’une francophone, M. Taylor a toujours cherché à aider les Canadiens anglais et les Canadiens français à mieux se comprendre. Dans Reconciling the Solitudes, son recueil d’essais très bien accueilli sur le fédéralisme et le nationalisme, dont la version française, intitulée Rapprocher les solitudes, est parue simultanément, il présente un cadre pour le renouvellement de notre régime politique fondé sur la reconnaissance et l’expression de la diversité.

Monsieur Taylor n’a pas hésité à participer activement à la vie politique. Dans les années 1970, il s’est présenté comme candidat néo-démocrate lors de quatre élections fédérales, dont une fois contre Pierre Elliott Trudeau dans la circonscription de Mont Royal. Les arguments qu’il a formulés pendant la campagne référendaire de 1980 et l’exposé qu’il a présenté en 1990 à la Commission sur l’avenir politique et constitutionnel du Québec (Commission Bélanger-Campeau) sont des exemples des efforts qu’il a déployés pour fournir des solutions fondées sur sa compréhension de la philosophie.

Titulaire de nombreuses distinctions, y compris l’Ordre du Canada, l’Ordre national du Québec, le prix Molson et le prix Léon-Gérin, M. Taylor demeure un porte-parole influent pour la compréhension de la diversité et de l’identité dans le contexte de la mondialisation. De concert avec le philosophe américain Hubert Dreyfus, il travaille actuellement à la production d’un ouvrage sur la pertinence des croyances religieuses pour la société d’aujourd’hui.