2017 SSHRC Impact Award Winners

The five annual SSHRC Impact Awards recognize the highest achievements in social sciences and humanities research, knowledge mobilization and scholarship supported by SSHRC.


2017 Gold Medal

Katherine Lippel

Katherine Lippel

Katherine Lippel is a professor in the Civil Law Section of the University of Ottawa’s Faculty of Law, where she has held the Canada Research Chair in Occupational Health and Safety Law since 2006. Her research has significantly advanced knowledge about the effectiveness of occupational health and safety regulation.

Learn more 


2017 Talent Award

Claire Battershill

Claire Battershill

Claire Battershill is an innovator in research on the theory and practice of book publishing since the early 20th century. Her current work uses publishers’ archives to follow the life cycles of books from manuscript to finished product, revealing publishers’ roles in helping to shape contemporary culture.

Learn more 


2017 Insight Award

Lori Beaman

Lori Beaman

Lori Beaman is a professor in the University of Ottawa’s Classics and Religious Studies department, and holds the Canada Research Chair on Religious Diversity and Social Change. A leading expert on religion, law and society, she is internationally recognized for her innovative research on how to achieve a fair and just society amid increasing diversity.

Learn more 


2017 Connection Award

Karen Bakker

Karen Bakker

Karen Bakker leads an interdisciplinary team of academic researchers and community-based organizations for the Sustainable Water Governance and Indigenous Law project.

Learn more 


2017 Partnership Award

Carol Kauppi

Carol Kauppi

Carol Kauppi is director of Laurentian University’s Centre for Research in Social Justice and Policy, and a professor at the university’s School of Social Work. Her interdisciplinary work into the social issues facing many northeastern Ontario residents has helped build capacity in the region.

Learn more

Lauréats des prix Impacts de 2017 du CRSH

Les cinq prix annuels visent à reconnaître les meilleures réalisations issues de la recherche en sciences humaines et de la mobilisation des connaissances qu’appuie le CRSH ainsi que les meilleures réalisations découlant de l’attribution d’une bourse du CRSH.

 

Médaille d’or de 2017

Katherine Lippel

Katherine Lippel

Katherine Lippel est professeure à la Section de droit civil de la Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa. Depuis 2006, elle y est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en droit de la santé et de la sécurité du travail. Ses recherches ont beaucoup fait progresser les connaissances sur l’efficacité de la réglementation en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail.

Pour en savoir plus 


Prix Talent de 2017

Claire Battershill

Claire Battershill

Claire Battershill innove dans la recherche sur la théorie et la pratique de l’édition depuis le début du 20e siècle. Pour ses travaux actuels, elle a recours aux archives des éditeurs afin de suivre les cycles de vie des livres, du manuscrit jusqu’au produit fini, révélant ainsi la manière dont les éditeurs contribuent à façonner la culture contemporaine.

Pour en savoir plus 


Prix Savoir de 2017

Lori Beaman

Lori Beaman

Lori Beaman est professeure au Département d’études anciennes et de sciences des religions de l’Université d’Ottawa, et elle est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en diversité religieuse et changement social. Spécialiste de premier plan en matière de religion, de droit et de société, elle est reconnue mondialement pour ses recherches novatrices sur les moyens à prendre pour édifier une société juste et équitable dans un contexte de diversité croissante.

Pour en savoir plus 


Prix Connexion de 2017

Karen Bakker

Karen Bakker

Karen Bakker dirige une équipe interdisciplinaire, formée de chercheurs universitaires et de personnes d’organismes locaux, qui exécute un projet sur la gouvernance durable de l’eau et le droit autochtone.

Pour en savoir plus 


Prix Partenariat de 2017

Carol Kauppi

Carol Kauppi

Carol Kauppi est directrice du Centre de recherche en justice et politique sociales de l’Université Laurentienne et professeure à l’École de service social de cette université. Ses travaux interdisciplinaires au sujet des grandes questions d’ordre social auxquelles font face bon nombre d’habitants du nord-est de l’Ontario ont contribué au renforcement des capacités dans la région.

Pour en savoir plus