Beverley Diamond, Gold Medal winner, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Duration

1:48

Release date

November 3, 2014


Description

Beverley Diamond, renowned feminist musicologist and Canada Research Chair in Ethnomusicology at Memorial University of Newfoundland, accepts the 2014 SSHRC Gold Medal.

Back to profile

Read video transcript

Beverley Diamond: The kind of work that I do has depended on a lot of relations, and it’s depended on generosity and trust from many, many people—musicians, culture bearers, Aboriginal elders, cultural actors of many sorts. I thank everyone who has given me that trust and that generosity over many decades.

I’d also like to thank my colleagues at the Research Centre for Music, Media and Place at Memorial University [of Newfoundland] along with many, many people in Newfoundland and Labrador, where over the last 13 years, they have helped create that centre as a place for collaborative research between community and university researchers.

I want to thank SSHRC for their support over the length of my career, especially for this unbelievable personal honour, but also for all the support that SSHRC gives researchers in the arts and humanities and social sciences.

I think that research support has never been more important than the present moment. Expressive culture is a very powerful tool for telling neglected and hidden histories, for building healthy communities and also for generating global attention to issues of environmental and social concern.

So thank you, SSHRC, for enabling all of the wonderful things that you do across the country and my gratitude particularly for this huge honour today.

Thank you.

Beverley Diamond, Lauréate de la Médaille d’or, Memorial University of Newfoundland


Durée

1 min 48 s

Date de publication

3 novembre 2014


Description

Beverley Diamond, musicologue féministe de renom et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en ethnomusicologie de la Memorial University of Newfoundland, reçoit la Médaille d’or de 2014 du CRSH.

Retour au profil

Lire la transcription de la vidéo

Beverley Diamond : Le type de travail que j’accomplis s’est enrichi de nombreuses relations et a été possible grâce à la générosité et à la confiance de beaucoup de gens, notamment des musiciens, des porteurs de culture, des aînés autochtones et des acteurs culturels de toutes sortes. Je remercie tous ceux et celles qui m’ont accordé leur confiance et démontré leur générosité pendant des dizaines d’années.

J’aimerais également remercier mes collègues au Centre d'étude de la musique, des médias et des lieux à la Memorial University of Newfoundland ainsi que les nombreuses personnes à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, qui, depuis plus de 13 ans, contribuent à bâtir ce centre qui favorise la recherche concertée entre les collectivités et les chercheurs universitaires.

Je souhaite également remercier le CRSH de son appui pendant toute ma carrière, en particulier pour cet honneur personnel incroyable, mais aussi pour tout le soutien qu’il offre aux chercheurs en arts et en sciences humaines.

Selon moi, le soutien à la recherche n’a jamais été aussi important qu’en ce moment. La culture expressive est un outil très puissant pour raconter les histoires laissées pour compte et cachées, pour l’édification de saines collectivités et pour diriger l’attention du monde entier vers les questions de préoccupations environnementales et sociales.

Je remercie donc le CRSH pour tout son travail merveilleux partout au pays et tiens à exprimer ma gratitude, en particulier pour ce grand honneur qu’on me réserve aujourd’hui.

Merci.