COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or record-keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Jill Scott

SSHRC Aurora Prize

In a world where tragedy is too quickly followed by retaliation and revenge, Jill Scott is looking for a little forgiveness.

The Queen’s University professor of German studies and winner of the 2005 SSHRC Aurora Prize is analyzing 20th and 21st century literature, film and photography to explore whether forgiveness still exists in a post-9/11 society obsessed with loss and wrongdoing.

“We hear a lot about memorials, monuments and mourning these days,” says Scott. “But, I want to know whether forgiveness has a place in all this. Looking at how forgiveness is dealt with in fiction and poetry gives us a unique insight into how we—as a society—may be able to move beyond the current cycle of suffering and revenge.”

While still just beginning her career, Scott’s research is at the cutting edge of the humanities. By combining fields such as comparative literature and German studies with feminist theory, history and psychology, she unearths original ideas and timely topics that are just as relevant to popular audiences as they are to the academic community.

Her latest book, Electra after Freud: Myth and Culture, published by Cornell University Press, investigates the psychological connection between the re-emergence of the violent Greek myth of Electra in modern poetry, drama and literature, and the appalling violence witnessed during the Holocaust and other atrocities of the past century.

Scott’s innovative research is quickly making her a sought-after speaker and guest lecturer, and her current work on forgiveness is sure to make an impact far beyond the halls of academia.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Jill Scott

Prix Aurore du CRSH

Dans un monde où les tragédies amènent trop souvent des représailles ou de la vengeance, Jill Scott est à la recherche d’un peu d’indulgence.

Cette professeure en études allemandes de la Queen’s University et récipiendaire du Prix Aurore de 2005 du CRSH analyse la littérature, le cinéma et la photographie des 20e et 21e siècles afin de savoir si le pardon existe toujours dans une société ayant vécu les événements du 11 septembre qui est obsédée par le sentiment de perte et les actes répréhensibles.

« Il est beaucoup question de monuments commémoratifs et de deuil de nos jours, indique Mme Scott. Mais je cherche à savoir si le pardon a sa place dans tout ça. Étudier la manière dont le pardon est considéré dans les romans et la poésie donne un aperçu très particulier de la façon dont, en tant que société, nous pouvons aller au-delà du cycle actuel de souffrance et de vengeance. »

Bien que Mme Scott soit encore en début de carrière, sa recherche est à l’avant-garde des sciences humaines. En combinant des domaines tels que la littérature comparée et les études allemandes avec la théorie du féminisme, l’histoire et la psychologie, elle découvre des idées originales et des sujets opportuns qui sont pertinents autant pour le grand public que pour la communauté universitaire.

Son dernier livre, Electra after Freud: Myth and Culture, publié par les presses de la Cornell University, étudie le lien psychologique existant entre la réapparition du violent mythe grec d’Electra dans la poésie, le théâtre et la littérature modernes ainsi que la violence épouvantable de l’Holocauste et d’autres atrocités du siècle dernier.

La recherche novatrice de Mme Scott fait rapidement d’elle une oratrice et une conférencière invitée populaire, et son travail actuel sur le pardon aura sans doute un impact bien au-delà du milieu universitaire.