SSHRC-funded researchers elected to Royal Society of Canada

The Royal Society of Canada has elected 89 new fellows to its 2016 class, and many are SSHRC-funded researchers. Election to the academies of The Royal Society of Canada is the highest honour a scholar can receive within Canada in the arts, humanities and sciences. Founded in 1883, The Royal Society of Canada comprises the Academy of the Arts and Humanities, the Academy of Social Sciences, and the Academy of Science.

The following were among those elected by their peers in recognition of their outstanding scholarly and scientific achievements:

  • Cindy Blackstock (elected as an honorary fellow), executive director of the First Nations Child & Family Caring Society of Canada, director of Equity and Diversity for the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences, and professor in the School of Social Work at McGill University;
  • the University of Waterloo’s Jennifer Clapp, Canada Research Chair in Global Food Security and Sustainability;
  • Jean-François Gaudreault-Desbiens, Canada Research Chair in North American and Comparative Legal and Cultural Identities at the Université de Montréal;
  • Smaro Kamboureli, an expert in Canadian literary studies, including diasporic and postcolonial literature, of the University of Toronto;
  • Tina Loo, an internationally recognized scholar of global environmental history and critical legal history, of The University of British Columbia;
  • the University of Manitoba’s Janice Ristock, an internationally recognized trailblazer in developing LGBTQ studies in Canada, known, in particular, for her innovative research on violence in LGBTQ relationships; and
  • SSHRC’s 2013 Gold Medal winner Barry Smit, professor emeritus in geography at the University of Guelph, and a pioneer and world leader in research on the human impacts of climate change.

SSHRC congratulates all the researchers who were elected into the society this year.

View the full list of newly elected fellows