Grant Holder's Guide

Aid to Research Workshops and Conferences

This section contains regulations that apply to grants from the Aid to Research Workshops and Conferences funding opportunity.

Dates to Remember
Basic Terms and Conditions
Financial Administration
After the Grant is Completed
Related SSHRC Policies
Contact Us


Dates to Remember

Workshops and Conferences Dates to Remember

Grant Payment Activity report form Final statement of account Proceedings

For workshops and conferences: Paid in one installment in February for the fall competition and in July for the spring competition

Submit activity report form to SSHRC three months after the event

Activity report form for workshops

Activity report form for conferences

Submit final statement of account (PDF document, 476KB) to SSHRC on June 30

Within 2 years of the event—applicable to those whose grant includes an allocation for the publication of proceedings



Top

Basic Terms and Conditions

What is the period of tenure?

SSHRC grants are awarded for one year. Your Notice of Award will tell you what the period of tenure for your particular grant is. Grants must be used for the preparation of, and follow-up to, the activity for which they were awarded.

Can I use my grant funds beyond the grant period indicated on my Notice of Award?

If you have a workshop or conference grant, you receive an automatic one-year extension on the use of residual funds in your account at the end of the grant term. The automatic extension does not qualify as a grant; you can submit another grant application and hold a new grant during the extension year.

What if I change institutions or move to another country?

If you change institutional affiliation between the time the grant is awarded and the time the event will be held, you must contact an awards administration officer in SSHRC's Finance Division to find out how to transfer your grant to another eligible member of the organizing committee.

What if the plans change?

New event date: The event can be postponed to a later date within the fiscal year for which the grant was awarded, provided that the program and the main guest speakers remain essentially the same as those approved by the selection committee. Although prior SSHRC approval is not required, you must inform SSHRC in writing (with a copy to the university) of the date change.

If the event is postponed to the next fiscal year, a written request for approval must be submitted to SSHRC, explaining the rationale for postponement and confirming that the event remains essentially the same. Both you and the university will be informed of SSHRC's decision shortly thereafter.

Program changes: Minor changes (e.g., replacement of guest speakers, the addition of a new topic) do not require prior SSHRC approval provided the event remains essentially the same. Approval for major program changes (e.g., changing the theme or focus of the event) must be requested in writing to SSHRC. If you are unsure about what constitutes a minor or major change, consult a SSHRC program officer.

Guest speakers change: Clearly, it is in the nature of workshops and conferences that some guest speakers may have to be replaced at the last moment. No prior SSHRC approval is required for such limited changes but they must be mentioned in the report of activities submitted at the conclusion of the grant.

Is information about the grant confidential?

Competition results are forwarded to university research administration officers, who inform candidates of the outcome of their applications. By applying through their universities, faculty members implicitly consent to have competition results released to their universities. University research administration officers and their staff must ensure that these results are released only to the applicants and those people directly involved in the administration of the grants program.

Universities are expected to store the material securely, and to ensure that it is not used or disclosed for any other purpose. After the material is no longer required, the university must destroy it promptly and in a secure manner.

What payment conditions can be attached to a grant?

Your grant may have certain conditions attached to it. For example, if you have not completed financial and productivity reports from a previous grant, your current grant payments may be withheld until you have met those conditions. Your Notice of Award will specify which, if any, reports you have not submitted. No grant funds will be released until all payment conditions have been met.


Top

Financial Administration

How are the grants paid?

Grant funds are sent directly to your university research or business office for retention on your behalf in a SSHRC Grant Account. This arrangement relieves you of most of the administration of the grant: the business office maintains custody of the grant funds, disburses salaries and other expenditures authorized by you or your delegated authority and provides periodic reports to you and to SSHRC on the status of the grant funds.

When are the grants paid?

See Workshops and Conferences Dates to Remember.

Who can authorize expenditures from the grant account?

As the applicant, you must authorize all expenditures from your grant fund, thereby certifying that these expenditures are essential for carrying out the activity supported by the grant. No other person may initiate or authorize any expenditure from your SSHRC grant account without your delegated written authority, which must be supplied to your university's business office.

The university is responsible for administering grant funds in accordance with SSHRC guidelines and may decline to release funds for an expenditure you have proposed or authorized if such expenditure contravenes SSHRC regulations or university policies. Administration, personnel and accounting procedures must conform to the standards, practices and policies of your university.

If you do not comply with the regulations outlined in this guide, SSHRC can freeze or close your grant account(s) or all SSHRC accounts at your university. If you use your grant funds to pay expenditures contrary to SSHRC policy, you will have to repay the grant account or SSHRC. Fraudulent use of SSHRC funds will be referred to the appropriate legal authorities.

What signatures are required on which documents?

Statements of Account must be signed by the grant holder and a university finance officer (who may either sign individual statements or sign and attach a covering note when sending the statements in bulk to SSHRC).

Journal vouchers and internal invoices must be signed by the grant holder or a designated representative. (If expenditures are charged to departmental accounts and internal journal vouchers are used to transfer the expenditures to the appropriate SSHRC grant account at a later date, details of the expenditure must be included with the journal voucher.)

Are grant expenditures verified by SSHRC?

Review and Investigation Officers from SSHRC's Finance Division visit universities every year. These visits allow the team to:

  • assess whether grant holders are well supported and have the tools necessary to properly and effectively manage their grant funds;
  • review the effectiveness of policies, controls and systems in place at the university to ensure that SSHRC policies and regulations are followed and that grant funds are well managed;
  • review the expenditures of grant holders to ensure that these were made in accordance with the council's policies, regulations and guidelines and for the purposes intended;
  • share and disseminate information on guidelines and expectations for financial and scientific accountability and integrity.

You must keep all accounts and records of monies received and expenditures, with supporting receipts and vouchers, for two years after the termination of the grant. These accounts and records must be made available to SSHRC or its agent on request.

Can I transfer SSHRC grant funds to another account?

You cannot transfer funds from a SSHRC grant account to any other account.

What expenses can I charge to the grant?

These grants offer limited support to help defray the travel and subsistence expenses of key presenters, Canadian student presenters and administrative costs of organizing the event, as well as publication of the event's proceedings. They are meant mainly as contributions toward the cost of holding the event, rather than as a full subsidy. A more detailed explanation of eligible expenses follows.

Participants

Only presenters are eligible to receive support. However, student presenters are eligible for support only if they are citizens or permanent residents of Canada.

Government employees are eligible for support provided the workshop or conference is not related to their normal duties, they are not representing their employer, and they are presenting a paper on their own research and not on the results of work carried out or funded by their employer.

Travel costs

Travel costs must be based on standard rates or policies in effect at your institution. If no guidelines for travel per diems exist at your institution, the federal government Treasury Board guidelines apply. These are available from SSHRC.

You may claim the cost of air travel, provided that you obtain the lowest fare possible and that the cost does not exceed the equivalent of full economy fare. Subsistence costs may be claimed for the additional days a traveler may be required to stay in order to take advantage of a lower fare, provided that the total cost of the fare and subsistence is less than the cost of a full economy fare. If an upgrade is necessary for medical or other reasons, you must seek reimbursement elsewhere (i.e., your health insurance plan). Rental or mileage costs are allowed only if the use of a car is essential. Normal commuting costs may not be paid from a SSHRC grant account.

You may claim the cost of child care or babysitting expenses while a nursing mother or single parent is travelling. The allowable cost for a single parent is limited to overnight child care costs incurred while travelling.

Subsistence costs

Subsistence costs for the duration of the event are eligible expenses. A half-day's subsistence may be added to the total claim for participants residing in North America who must travel for more than four hours to reach the event site within North America. One day's subsistence may be added to the total claim for participants residing outside North America. Subsistence costs must be based on standard rates or policies in effect at your institution.

Direct costs of holding a research event

Administrative expenses are eligible only if they are directly related to the workshop/conference or travel activity. The following list is not exhaustive and is intended to serve only as a general guideline:

  • secretarial or clerical assistance/personnel costs;
  • postage;
  • long-distance telephone only;
  • advertising, promotion and dissemination (in the case of workshops, as these are closed and invitational, these costs would apply to the publication);
  • translation of workshop or conference documents only;
  • interpretation;
  • publication of proceedings;
  • meeting rooms.
Top

Will I have to provide receipts for all eligible expenses?

You are required to provide supporting documentation for all eligible expenses including internal expense allocations and shared expenses. This documentation must include original receipts or invoices and a statement justifying the expenses in the context of the workshop or conference program. The documentation you submit must be in compliance with university guidelines.

For internal or shared expenses, your documentation must include the amount charged to your SSHRC account, a description of how the amount was calculated and what the charge was for.

Travel claims

Every traveler claiming expenses from a SSHRC grant must prepare an individual claim for each trip. For claimants other than the grant holder, the affiliation with the grant holder must be specified.

Travel claims must be countersigned by the department head or dean as to the relevance of the travel to the funded research. In most universities, the business office or the human resources office is responsible for collecting and storing documentation related to eligible expenses.

Your travel claim must include the following information:

  • purpose of the trip;
  • dates and destinations;
  • official documentation indicating the dates of workshops and conferences;
  • details of daily claims for expenditures, including details of any vehicle used;
  • original receipts, such as hotel bills, car rental agreements, etc. (invoices and credit card slips are not valid receipts);
  • the claimant's signature certifying that all expenditures on the claim are for purposes for which the grant was awarded, that the charges included have not been claimed from other organizations, and that reimbursements for expenditures received from other organizations will be disclosed to the university.

Air travel ticket receipts

Original air travel ticket receipts must be returned with the grant holder's travel claim. Boarding passes will not be accepted in lieu of ticket receipts, except in the case of electronic tickets.

Personnel: compensation and benefits

You must be able to provide signed employment records, which include the employee's name, category, salary level, period of employment and details of any employee benefits paid from the grant.

As of April 1, 2010, payment of honoraria for guest lecturers are now eligible costs.

What costs are ineligible?

Any cost that is not related to the legitimate objectives of the workshop or conference is ineligible. The following list is not exhaustive and is intended to serve as a general guideline:

  • any cost incurred before a grant is awarded (with the exception of airline tickets);
  • registration fees;
  • purchase of computer equipment or software;
  • purchase or rental of standard office equipment such as desks, chairs, filing cabinets, photocopiers, facsimile and answering machines;
  • hospitality expenses such as banquets and alcoholic refreshments;
  • normal commuting costs may not be paid from a SSHRC grant account.

If you are unsure whether or not a particular cost is eligible, consult an award administration officer with SSHRC's Finance Division for clarification before incurring the cost.


Top

After the Grant is Completed

What reports will I be required to submit?

See Workshops and Conferences Dates to Remember.

Can my university business office submit computerized statements of account?

SSHRC accepts computerized statements as long as you use the categories on the Tri-Council Statement of Account form (PDF document, 476KB).

Where should I send a copy of the event's proceedings?

If the proceedings were published with grant funds, you or your publisher must send one or more copies of the proceedings to:

The National Library of Canada, Acquisitions for Canadiana and Legal Deposit Bureau, 395 Wellington Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0N4.

(If you printed less than 100 copies, send one copy; if you printed over 200, send two copies.)

Who retains the intellectual property/copyright to research presented?

Copyright and ownership of intellectual property developed with SSHRC funds belongs to the creator or the creator's university and not to the workshop or conference organizer.

Should I acknowledge SSHRC when communicating my research findings?

As a recipient of Canadian government funds, it is important for you to let Canadians know how their tax money is being spent. Therefore, you should acknowledge the assistance of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council in all workshop and conference materials, publications and media coverage of activities funded through SSHRC grants.

Please see the SSHRC Research Data Archiving Policy and the guidelines on the use of SSHRC's logo.


Top

Related SSHRC Policies

Non-Discrimination Policy
Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research
Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans


Top

Contact Us

For grant information, contact an awards administration officer from SSHRC's Finance Division by telephone at 613-995-2694 or by email at award@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.

Or you can write to us at:

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
350 Albert Street
P.O. Box 1610
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 6G4

Fax: 613-996-0458

Guide des détenteurs de subventions

Aide aux ateliers et aux colloques de recherche

Cette section contient les règlements qui s’appliquent aux subventions destinées à l’Aide aux ateliers et aux colloques de recherche.

Dates à retenir
Conditions de base
Administration financière
À la fin de la subvention
Politiques
Pour nous joindre


Dates à retenir

Paiement de la subvention Rapport d’activités État final des dépenses Compte rendu

Ateliers et colloques : le CRSH verse la subvention en une seule tranche, en février pour le concours de l’automne, et en juillet pour le concours du printemps

Veuillez soumettre votre rapport d'activités au CRSH dans les trois mois suivant la tenue de l'événement.

Rapport d'activité pour atelier

Rapport d'activité pour colloque

Veuillez soumettre votre état final des dépenses au CRSH le 30 juin.

Au courant des deux années suivant l’événement – S’applique aux détenteurs dont la subvention comprend une allocation pour la publication de comptes rendus



Top

Conditions de base

Quelle est la période de validité de la subvention?

La période maximale de validité des subventions du CRSH est d’un an. La période de validité de votre subvention est indiquée sur votre avis d’attribution. Toute subvention doit être affectée à la préparation et au suivi de l’événement pour lequel le CRSH l’a accordée.

Puis-je utiliser les fonds de ma subvention après la fin de la période de validité indiquée sur mon avis d’attribution?

Les détenteurs d’une subvention d’ateliers ou de colloques ont droit à une prolongation automatique d’un an pour utiliser les sommes non dépensées à la fin de la période de validité de leur subvention. La prolongation automatique d’un an d’une subvention n’est pas considérée comme une subvention; le détenteur peut donc présenter une autre demande et obtenir une nouvelle subvention durant l’année de prolongation.

Que se produit-il si je change de pays ou d’établissement?

Si vous changez d’établissement entre le moment où la subvention vous est accordée et celui où l’événement a lieu, veuillez communiquer avec un agent de la section Administration des attributions de la Division des finances du CRSH qui vous dira comment transférer votre subvention à un autre membre admissible du comité organisateur.

Que se produit-il si je change de plans?

Changements de la date de l’événement : L’événement peut être reporté à une date ultérieure dans l’année financière pour laquelle la subvention a été octroyée, à condition que le programme et les principaux conférenciers invités restent fondamentalement les mêmes que ceux qui ont été approuvés par le comité de sélection. Bien que l’approbation préalable du CRSH ne soit pas nécessaire, vous devez toutefois l’informer par écrit du changement de date (avec copie à l’université).

Si l’événement est reporté à l’année financière suivante, vous devrez soumettre par écrit au CRSH une demande d’approbation expliquant les raisons de ce report et confirmant que l’événement reste fondamentalement le même. Le CRSH vous fera part rapidement de sa décision ainsi qu’à votre université.

Changements au programme : Des changements mineurs (comme le remplacement de conférenciers invités, l’ajout d’un sujet) ne nécessitent pas l’approbation préalable du CRSH, pourvu que l’événement reste fondamentalement le même. Des changements importants (comme le changement du thème ou du sujet principal de l’événement) exigent l’approbation écrite du CRSH. Si vous avez des doutes sur l’importance du changement, veuillez consulter un agent de programme du CRSH.

Changements de conférenciers invités : Il est normal que certains des conférenciers invités à des ateliers ou à des colloques doivent être remplacés au dernier moment. L’approbation préalable du CRSH n’est pas nécessaire pour ces changements, mais ceux-ci doivent être indiqués dans le rapport d’activités qui sera remis à la fin de la subvention.

Les renseignements que je fournis restent-ils confidentiels?

Le CRSH fait parvenir les résultats des concours aux administrateurs universitaires de la recherche, qui en informent les candidats. En soumettant leur demande par l’entremise de leur université, les membres du corps professoral consentent implicitement à ce que les résultats des concours soient divulgués à leur université. Les administrateurs universitaires de la recherche et leur personnel doivent s’assurer que ces résultats ne sont communiqués qu’aux candidats et aux personnes qui participent directement à l’administration des programmes de subventions.

Le CRSH s’attend à ce que les universités conservent les documents en lieu sûr et qu’elles n’utilisent ni ne divulguent les renseignements à d’autres fins. Lorsque les documents ne sont plus utiles, les universités doivent les détruire rapidement et de façon sécuritaire.

Quelles conditions sont rattachées à une subvention?

Votre subvention peut avoir des conditions particulières. Par exemple, si vous n’avez pas soumis l’état des dépenses et des revenus ou le rapport final de recherche de votre subvention précédente, les versements de votre nouvelle subvention seront suspendus jusqu’à ce que vous les soumettiez. Votre avis d’attribution explique en détail quel rapport manque pour quelle subvention. Aucuns fonds ne seront débloqués tant que toutes les conditions ne seront respectées.


Top

Administration financière

Comment les subventions sont-elles versées?

La subvention est envoyée directement au service de la recherche ou au service des finances de votre université pour être déposée, en votre nom, dans un compte de subvention du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines. Ainsi, le service des finances de l’université peut vous libérer de la plus grande partie des tâches reliées à l’administration de la subvention en assurant la garde des fonds, en versant les salaires, en réglant les autres dépenses autorisées par vous ou votre représentant désigné et en vous soumettant, ainsi qu’au CRSH, des rapports périodiques sur le compte de la subvention.

Quand les subventions sont-elles versées?

Consultez la section Dates à retenir.

Qui peut autoriser les dépenses à partir de mon compte de subvention?

À titre de candidat, vous devez autoriser toutes les dépenses à acquitter à partir de votre compte de subvention en certifiant que ces dépenses sont essentielles à l’événement appuyé par la subvention. Personne d’autre ne peut engager ni autoriser des dépenses à partir du compte de la subvention du CRSH sans votre autorisation écrite, qui doit être fournie au service des finances de votre université.

L’université est chargée d’administrer la subvention conformément aux lignes directrices du CRSH et peut refuser de débloquer des fonds pour une dépense que vous avez proposée ou autorisée lorsque les règlements du CRSH ou les politiques de l’université ne sont pas respectés. Les méthodes d’administration, de gestion du personnel et de comptabilité doivent être conformes aux normes, aux pratiques et aux politiques de votre université.

Si vous ne respectez pas les règlements énoncés dans le présent guide, le CRSH peut bloquer ou fermer votre compte de subvention ou tous les comptes de subventions du CRSH administrés par votre université. Si vous autorisez le paiement de frais non admissibles à partir de votre subvention du CRSH, vous devrez remettre ces fonds dans le compte de la subvention ou les restituer au CRSH. Les cas d’usage frauduleux des fonds du CRSH seront confiés aux autorités compétentes.

Qui doit signer les documents?

Les états de dépenses doivent être signés par le détenteur de la subvention et l’agent des finances de son université, lequel peut choisir de signer individuellement chaque état de dépenses ou joindre une note signée lorsqu’il les envoie regroupés au CRSH.

Les pièces justificatives et les factures internes doivent être signées par le détenteur de la subvention ou son représentant désigné. Si les dépenses sont portées au compte du département et qu’une écriture comptable interne est utilisée pour transférer plus tard les dépenses au compte de subvention du CRSH approprié, les détails des dépenses doivent être inclus dans l’écriture comptable.

Les dépenses que j’effectue à partir de ma subvention sont-elles vérifiées par le CRSH?

Des agents de la section des examens et des enquêtes de la Division des finances du CRSH visitent les universités chaque année afin :

  • d’évaluer si les chercheurs bénéficient de l’appui et des outils nécessaires pour administrer efficacement leurs subventions;
  • de vérifier les politiques, contrôles et systèmes en place relatifs à l’administration des subventions pour s’assurer que les politiques et les règlements du CRSH sont respectés et que les fonds de recherche sont bien administrés;
  • de s’assurer que les dépenses financées à même les subventions sont conformes aux politiques, aux règlements et aux lignes directrices du CRSH et aux fins pour lesquelles elles sont prévues;
  • de partager et de diffuser de l’information sur les lignes directrices et les attentes en matière d’imputabilité et d’intégrité financières et scientifiques.

Vous devez conserver des relevés et des registres complets de toutes les sommes reçues et de toutes les dépenses effectuées, y compris les pièces justificatives, pendant les deux années qui suivent la fin de la subvention. Le CRSH ou ses fondés de pouvoir doivent, sur demande, avoir accès à ces relevés et à ces registres pour les examiner.

Puis-je transférer des fonds d’une subvention du CRSH à un autre compte?

Vous ne pouvez pas transférer des fonds d’un compte de subvention du CRSH à un autre compte.

Quelles dépenses puis-je effectuer à partir de ma subvention?

Ces subventions sont des formes d’appui limité permettant d’aider à payer les frais de déplacement et de séjour des principaux présentateurs et des étudiants canadiens qui présentent une communication, ainsi que les frais généraux d’organisation et l’édition des comptes rendus de ces événements. Elles représentent une contribution partielle et non totale aux dépenses entraînées par la tenue de l’événement. Une description détaillée des dépenses admissibles est présentée ci-dessous.

Participants

Seuls les présentateurs sont admissibles. Toutefois, les présentateurs étudiants sont admissibles à un financement uniquement s'ils sont citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents du Canada.

Les fonctionnaires sont admissibles à condition que l’atelier ou le colloque ne fasse pas partie de leurs fonctions habituelles, qu’ils ne représentent pas leur employeur et qu’ils présentent une communication sur leurs propres recherches, non sur les résultats d’un travail effectué pour le compte de leur employeur ou financé par celui-ci.

Frais de déplacement

Ces frais doivent respecter les taux habituels ou les politiques en vigueur à votre établissement. Si aucune ligne directrice n’existe à cet effet à votre établissement, les lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor du gouvernement du Canada s’appliquent. Vous pouvez obtenir ces lignes directrices auprès du CRSH.

Pour les déplacements en avion, vous devez obtenir le meilleur taux disponible, ce dernier ne devant pas dépasser l’équivalent du plein tarif en classe économique. Vous pouvez inclure les frais de séjour pour les jours additionnels que vous devrez passer pour bénéficier du tarif économique, pourvu que le coût total du billet et de la prolongation du séjour demeure inférieur au plein tarif en classe économique. Si un surclassement est nécessaire pour des raisons médicales ou autres, vous devez en obtenir le remboursement ailleurs, par exemple auprès de votre régime d’assurance médicale. La location ou l’indemnité pour l’usage d’une voiture ne sont admissibles que si l’usage d’une voiture est indispensable. Les déplacements locaux pour se rendre à l’université ou en revenir ne peuvent pas être payés à partir d’un compte de subvention du CRSH.

Sont admissibles les dépenses pour les soins ou la garde d’un enfant pendant qu’une mère qui allaite ou un chef de famille monoparentale est en voyage. Les coûts admissibles pour un chef de famille monoparentale se limitent à la garde de nuit d’un enfant pendant les déplacements.

Frais de séjour

Sont admissibles les frais de séjour pour la durée de l’événement. Les participants nord-américains qui doivent voyager pendant plus de quatre heures pour se rendre à un atelier ou à un colloque qui a lieu en Amérique du Nord peuvent ajouter une demi-journée à la durée véritable de leur séjour, lorsqu’ils préparent leur note de frais. Les participants de l’extérieur de l’Amérique du Nord peuvent ajouter une journée entière à la durée véritable de leur séjour. Les frais de séjour doivent respecter les taux habituels ou les politiques en vigueur à votre établissement.

Frais directs liés à la tenue de l’événement

Ces frais sont admissibles dans la mesure où ils sont reliés directement à l’événement ou au déplacement. On trouvera ci-après, à titre d’exemple, une liste non exhaustive des frais admissibles :

  • les services de secrétaires et de commis;
  • l’affranchissement postal;
  • les frais d’appels interurbains uniquement;
  • la publicité, la promotion et la diffusion (pour les ateliers, étant donné qu’ils sont organisés sur invitation seulement, il s’agit des frais liés aux publications);
  • la traduction des documents de l'atelier ou du colloque seulement;
  • l’interprétation;
  • la publication du compte rendu;
  • les salles de réunions.

Dois-je produire les reçus pour toutes les dépenses payées à même la subvention?

Les détenteurs de subvention du CRSH doivent fournir des pièces à l’appui de leurs dépenses, notamment des dépenses internes et des dépenses partagées. Ces pièces justificatives consistent en reçus originaux ou en factures originales ainsi qu’en états de dépenses dans le contexte de l’atelier ou du colloque. Les documents soumis doivent être conformes aux lignes directrices de l’université.

Dans le cas des dépenses internes et des dépenses partagées, le montant porté au compte de la subvention, la description de la méthode de calcul appliquée et du bien ou du service obtenu doivent figurer sur les pièces justificatives.

Dépenses relatives à des déplacements

Chaque voyageur qui souhaite porter ses dépenses au compte de la subvention du CRSH doit préparer une demande de remboursement pour chacun de ses déplacements. Dans le cas des voyageurs autres que le détenteur de la subvention, il faut préciser l’affiliation des voyageurs au groupe de recherche du détenteur.

La demande de remboursement doit être signée par le directeur du département ou le doyen afin d’attester de la pertinence du déplacement pour l’événement subventionné. Dans la plupart des universités, le bureau des finances ou le bureau des ressources humaines est chargé de recueillir et de conserver la documentation relative aux dépenses admissibles.

Vous devez inclure dans votre réclamation les renseignements suivants  :

  • l’objet du voyage;
  • les dates et les destinations;
  • les documents officiels précisant les dates des ateliers et des colloques;
  • le détail des allocations journalières, y compris le détail de tout véhicule utilisé;
  • les reçus originaux, comme les factures d’hôtel, les contrats de location de voiture, etc. (les reçus et les relevés de carte de crédit ne sont pas acceptés);
  • la signature du requérant par laquelle il certifie que les dépenses inscrites sur la réclamation sont conformes aux fins pour lesquelles la subvention a été octroyée, qu’elles n’ont pas été remboursées par d’autres sources et que les remboursements obtenus d’autres sources seront divulgués à l’université.

Billets d’avion

Les reçus originaux des billets d’avion doivent accompagner la réclamation du détenteur de la subvention. Les cartes d’embarquement ne sont pas acceptées à la place des reçus, sauf dans le cas des billets d’avion électroniques.

Rémunération et avantages sociaux du personnel

Vous devez fournir les dossiers d’emploi signés dans lesquels figurent le nom des employés, leur catégorie, leur salaire, leur période d’emploi et une description de tout avantage social payé à même la subvention.

Depuis le 1er avril 2010, le versement d’honoraires aux conférenciers invités est considéré comme une dépense admissible.

Quelles sont les dépenses non admissibles?

Les dépenses non admissibles comprennent toutes les dépenses qui n’ont pas été effectuées pour des objectifs légitimes dans le cadre de l’atelier ou du colloque. Vous trouverez ci-après, à titre d’exemple, une liste non exhaustive de dépenses non admissibles :

  • toute dépense effectuée avant l’attribution d’une subvention (à l’exception des billets d’avion);
  • les droits d’inscription;
  • l’achat de matériel ou de logiciel informatiques;
  • l’achat ou la location d’équipement de bureau ordinaire tel que des bureaux, des chaises, des classeurs, des photocopieuses, des télécopieurs et des répondeurs automatiques;
  • les frais de réception, par exemple les banquets ou les boissons alcoolisées;
  • les déplacements habituels entre le domicile et le lieu de travail.

Si vous n’êtes pas certain qu’une dépense soit admissible, veuillez consulter un agent de la section Administration des attributions de la Division des finances du CRSH pour demander des précisions avant d’engager la dépense.


Top

À la fin de la subvention

Quels rapports devrai-je soumettre?

Consultez la section Dates à retenir .

Le service des finances de mon université peut-il soumettre les états de dépenses en version électronique?

Le CRSH accepte les états informatisés pourvu qu’ils soient présentés selon le modèle du formulaire adopté par les trois Conseils.

Où dois-je expédier des exemplaires du compte rendu de l’atelier ou du colloque?

Lorsque des fonds du CRSH sont utilisés pour la publication du compte rendu d’une rencontre, vous ou votre éditeur devez en expédier un ou plusieurs exemplaires à la :

Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, Acquisitions pour Canadiana et bureau du dépôt légal, 395, rue Wellington, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0N4.

(Si vous avez imprimé moins de 100 exemplaires, n’en envoyez qu’un; si vous avez imprimé plus de 200 exemplaires, envoyez-en deux.)

Qui conserve les droits d’auteur et la propriété intellectuelle relatifs à la recherche présentée?

Les droits d’auteur et la propriété intellectuelle relatifs à une recherche effectuée grâce à l’aide financière du CRSH demeurent la propriété du chercheur ou de l’université du chercheur, et non de l’organisateur de l'atelier ou du colloque.

À la diffusion des résultats de ma recherche, dois-je mentionner l'aide que j'ai reçue du CRSH?

Il est important que les contribuables canadiens sachent comment leurs impôts sont dépensés. Par conséquent, le CRSH demande que vous, en tant que bénéficiaire de fonds du gouvernement canadien, mentionniez l'aide reçue du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines dans chaque document d'atelier ou de colloque, publication et reportage médiatique sur les activités financées grâce à une de ses subventions.

Veuillez consulter la Politique du CRSH sur l'archivage des données de recherche ainsi que les normes graphiques pour l'utilisation du « logo » du CRSH.


Top

Politiques

Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche
Énoncé de politique des trois Conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains
Politique de non-discrimination du CRSH


Haut

Pour nous joindre

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur votre subvention, veuillez communiquer avec un agent de la section Administration des octrois de la Division des finances du CRSH par téléphone au 613-995-2694 ou par courriel à awdad@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.

Vous pouvez également écrire à l'adresse suivante :

Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines
350, rue Albert
C.P. 1610
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 6G4

Télécopieur : 613-996-0458