SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships

September 2016 Competition

Value $40,500 per year
Duration 12 to 24 months
Application deadline
(8 p.m. eastern)
September 21, 2016
Results announced February 2017
Apply Web CV, application and instructions

* Note: If a deadline falls on a weekend or a Canadian public holiday, the online application system will remain open until 8 p.m. (eastern time) on the next business day.

Future Challenge Areas
Value and Duration
Application Process
Evaluation and Adjudication
Regulations, Policies and Related Information
Contact Information



SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships proposals are expected to respond to the objectives of the Talent program.

SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships support the most promising Canadian new scholars in the social sciences and humanities and assist them in establishing a research base at an important time in their research careers.

SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships provide stipendiary support to recent PhD graduates who are:

  • undertaking original research;
  • publishing research findings;
  • developing and expanding personal research networks;
  • broadening their teaching experience;
  • preparing for research-intensive careers within and beyond academia; and
  • preparing to become competitive in national research grants competitions.

Fellowships will normally be awarded to candidates affiliated with a university other than that which awarded the PhD. SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship awards are tenable at Canadian or foreign universities and research institutions.

SSHRC welcomes applications involving Aboriginal research, as well as those involving research-creation.

For a complete list of other SSHRC funding opportunities that may be of interest to postdoctoral researchers, please use the Funding search tool and select “Postdoctoral researchers” as the type of applicant.


Future Challenge Areas

SSHRC invites all applicants to review Imagining Canada’s Future’s six future challenge areas and subquestions, and to consider addressing one or more of these areas in their research proposal. While this is not an evaluation criterion for merit review, research that addresses one or more of the future challenge areas further positions the value of the social sciences and humanities to meet Canada’s future, long-term societal challenges and opportunities.

SSHRC monitors research capacity in these areas, and develops and implements strategies and knowledge mobilization activities, including a series of Knowledge Synthesis Grants funding opportunities, to enhance the contribution of humanities and social sciences research across the six challenge areas.


Value and Duration

SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships are valued at $40,500 per year. These are taxable, non-renewable fellowships, tenable for a minimum of 12 months and a maximum of 24 months. The award may begin on the first of any month between May 2017 and January 2018.



Subject matter

Most SSHRC funding is awarded through open competitions. Proposals may involve any disciplines, thematic areas, approaches or subject areas eligible for SSHRC funding. Please see Subject Matter Eligibility for more information.

Proposed research

The research proposed in a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship application must be significantly different and distinct from, or add significantly to, that related to the applicant’s doctoral thesis. Research programs proposing only the adaptation of doctoral theses for publication, the editing of textbooks, translation, or the acquisition of a foreign language are ineligible.


Eligibility to apply

To apply to this funding opportunity, the applicant must:

  • be a citizen or permanent resident of Canada (by the application deadline);
  • be a current doctoral student, or have earned a first doctorate from a recognized university no earlier than September 2014 (date all degree requirements were completed, not the date of graduation), or have completed a first doctorate no earlier than September 2011, but have since had their career interrupted or delayed for the purpose of maternity, childrearing, illness, or health-related family responsibilities;
  • not hold a tenure or tenure-track faculty position;
  • have finalized arrangements for affiliation with a recognized university or research institution;
  • have applied not more than twice before to the SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships funding opportunity;
  • not be applying in the 2016-17 academic year to the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) Postdoctoral Fellowships Program or the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Postdoctoral Fellowship funding opportunity; and
  • not have already received a postdoctoral award (including a Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship) from SSHRC, NSERC or CIHR.

Applicants with a PhD from a foreign university are eligible to apply only if they wish to hold their award at a Canadian university.

Applicants are eligible to apply to hold their award at a foreign university only if their PhD was earned at a Canadian university.

Eligibility to hold a fellowship

To hold the award, applicants must:

  • engage in full-time postdoctoral research for the period of the award; and
  • have completed all requirements for their doctoral degree before taking up the SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship.

Applicants who do not complete all requirements for their doctoral degree by December 31, 2017, may have their offer of an award withdrawn. Note that withdrawn or declined awards will be included in the calculation of the three-application limit for this funding opportunity.

Federal government employees are eligible to hold a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship award only if they are on an unpaid leave of absence (no salary or special allowances permitted).

For other requirements, please consult the Award Holder’s Guide.


Application Process

Before submitting their application, applicants must ensure that they meet the requirements specified under Eligibility (above). Applicants must complete and submit only one application form, together with the CV and the required attachments. Instructions for filling out the application form and CV are available within the form used by applicants to create their online submission.


  • It is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure all required application components (including all attachments and letters) have been submitted.
  • Under no circumstances will any applications be accepted after the deadline.


Evaluation and Adjudication

SSHRC’s Guidelines for the Merit Review of Aboriginal Research are relevant for researchers (applicants and project directors) and students preparing SSHRC applications related to Aboriginal research. SSHRC provides these guidelines to merit reviewers to help build general understanding of Aboriginal research and research-related activities, and to assist committee members in interpreting SSHRC’s specific Challenge, Feasibility and Capability evaluation criteria in the context of Aboriginal research. SSHRC relies on a community of merit reviewers with experience and expertise in Aboriginal research to judge the extent to which the guidelines may be applied to a particular research proposal. The guidelines may also be of use to external assessors, postsecondary institutions and partner organizations that support Aboriginal research.

Competition Process

Step 1: On or before the deadline, the applicant submits to SSHRC his or her completed application and supporting documents. Using SSHRC’s online application system, all referees and institutional nominators must also submit their supporting letters in advance of the deadline.

Step 2: SSHRC staff review all applications and forward eligible applications to the multidisciplinary selection committees.

Step 3: The multidisciplinary selection committees evaluate all eligible applications and make recommendations regarding funding. Committee recommendations are subject to approval by SSHRC.

Step 4: SSHRC informs all applicants of the outcome of their applications in February of each year, in writing. Results are not provided by telephone or email.

Evaluation criteria and scoring

The following criteria and scoring scheme are used by the multidisciplinary committees to evaluate SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship applications:

  1. Challenge—The aim and importance of the endeavour (20%):

    • originality and potential significance of the proposed program of work.
  2. Feasibility—The plan to achieve excellence (30%):

    • feasibility of the proposed program of work;
    • appropriateness of the intended place of tenure; and
    • effectiveness of the overall support provided by the host institution for research training and career development.
  3. Capability—The expertise to succeed (50%):

    • fellowships, scholarships or other awards obtained;   
    • previous research experience and/or publications; and
    • timely completion of doctoral studies, taking into account the nature of the program and any related personal circumstances that may have delayed the applicant’s academic career.

Scoring table

Committee members assign a weighted score for each of the three criteria listed above, based on the following scoring table, and rank the applications within a given committee. To be considered for funding, applications must receive a score of 3.0 or higher for each of the three criteria. The scores assigned to each application indicate the relative standing of an application within a given committee.

Note: The subcriteria listed above are themselves not weighted, and, instead, represent factors that reviewers should consider in scoring the corresponding criteria.

Score Descriptor


Very good - excellent


Good - very good


Satisfactory - good

Below 3

Not considered for funding


Regulations, Policies and Related Information

SSHRC reserves the right to determine the eligibility of applications it receives, based on the information therein. SSHRC also reserves the right to interpret the regulations governing its funding opportunities set out in its published materials.

All applicants and fellowship holders must comply with the Regulations Governing Fellowship and Scholarship Applications and with the regulations set out in the Award Holder's Guide.

Guidelines and Related Support Material

All applicants for SSHRC funding should consult the following guidelines while preparing their applications:

Aboriginal applicants and Aboriginal research

SSHRC is implementing several pilot measures intended to support research by and with Aboriginal Peoples. These are aimed at supporting graduate students or postdoctoral researchers applying for, respectively, SSHRC Doctoral Fellowships, Joseph-Armand Bombardier CGS Doctoral Scholarships or SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships. The pilot measures include:

  • an opportunity for applicants to self-identify as Aboriginal, allowing SSHRC to track and assess participation and success rates for First Nations, Métis, Inuit and other Indigenous doctoral and postdoctoral applicants (note: this information is not used in the adjudication process);
  • an opportunity to identify a proposed program of study as Aboriginal research, such that SSHRC’s Guidelines for the Merit Review of Aboriginal Research will apply; and
  • an opportunity to identify and detail additional special circumstances that might impact the academic careers of some Aboriginal applicants.

To learn more, please consult Aboriginal Talent Measures.

SSHRC welcomes feedback and questions on any or all of these pilot measures.

For more information about the SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships funding opportunity, please visit the Resource Centre.


Contact Information

SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships
Research Training Portfolio
Tel.: 613-943-7777

Bourses postdoctorales du CRSH

Concours de septembre 2016


Aperçu
Valeur 40 500 $ par année
Durée De 12 à 24 mois
Date limite de présentation des demandes
(20 h, heure de l’Est)
21 septembre 2016
Annonce des résultats Février 2017
Faire une demande C.V., formulaire de demande et instructions

* Remarque : si une date limite correspond à un jour de fin de semaine ou à un jour férié au Canada, le système de présentation des demandes en ligne demeure accessible jusqu’à 20 h (heure de l'Est) le jour ouvrable suivant.


Description
Domaines des défis de demain
Valeur et durée
Admissibilité
Processus de demande
Évaluation et sélection
Règlements, politiques et renseignements supplémentaires
Coordonnées


Top

Description

Les demandes de bourse postdoctorale du CRSH doivent correspondre aux objectifs du programme Talent.

Les bourses postdoctorales du CRSH appuient les nouveaux chercheurs canadiens les plus prometteurs dans le domaine des sciences humaines et les aident à se constituer un actif de recherche à un moment crucial de leur carrière.

Les bourses postdoctorales du CRSH fournissent un appui sous forme d’allocations à de récents titulaires de doctorat qui :

  • comptent mener des recherches originales;
  • publient des résultats de recherche;
  • créent ou élargissent des réseaux de personnes-ressources en matière de recherche;
  • enrichissent leur expérience d’enseignement;
  • se préparent à mener une carrière fortement axée sur la recherche en milieu universitaire et non universitaire;
  • se préparent à participer à des concours nationaux visant l’attribution de subventions de recherche.

Les bourses postdoctorales du CRSH sont habituellement attribuées à des candidats affiliés à une autre université que celle de laquelle ils ont obtenu leur doctorat. Les bourses sont valides dans les universités et les établissements de recherche canadiens et étrangers.

Le CRSH accepte également les demandes ayant trait à la recherche autochtone et à la recherche-création.

Pour obtenir la liste complète des occasions de financement du CRSH qui pourraient intéresser les chercheurs postdoctoraux, veuillez utiliser l’outil de recherche de financement et sélectionner « chercheur postdoctoral » comme type de candidat.



Top

Domaines des défis de demain

Le CRSH invite tous les candidats à examiner les six domaines des défis de demain et sous-questions connexes, mis de l’avant dans le cadre de l’initiative Imaginer l’avenir du Canada, et à envisager la possibilité d’aborder un ou plusieurs de ces domaines dans leur proposition de recherche. Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’un critère d’évaluation du mérite, les propositions de recherche qui abordent un ou plusieurs des défis de demain font ressortir le rôle crucial qu’auront à jouer les sciences humaines pour permettre au Canada de saisir les occasions qui se présenteront et de relever les défis sociétaux à long terme auxquels il aura à faire face.

Le CRSH effectue un suivi de la capacité de recherche dans ces domaines, et il conçoit et met en œuvre diverses stratégies et des activités de mobilisation des connaissances, dont des occasions de financement liées aux subventions de synthèse des connaissances, visant à accroître la contribution qu’apportent les sciences humaines aux six domaines des défis de demain.



Top

Valeur et durée

Les bourses postdoctorales du CRSH ont une valeur de 40 500 $ par année. Ces bourses imposables et non renouvelables sont valides pendant une période de 12 à 24 mois. Leur utilisation peut débuter le premier jour du mois, au cours de la période allant de mai 2017 à janvier 2018.



Top

Admissibilité

Sujets de recherche

Généralement, le financement du CRSH est attribué à l’issue de concours ouverts. Les demandes peuvent porter sur toutes les disciplines, tous les thèmes, toutes les approches et tous les domaines admissibles au financement du CRSH. Veuillez consulter la section « Admissibilité des sujets de recherche » pour en savoir plus.

Recherche proposée

La recherche proposée dans une demande de bourse postdoctorale doit être très différente des travaux de doctorat ou représenter un apport important à ces travaux. Les travaux qui visent uniquement à adapter une thèse de doctorat à des fins de publication, à réviser des manuels, à traduire ou encore à acquérir une langue étrangère ne sont pas admissibles.

Candidats

Critères d’admissibilité pour présenter une demande

Pour présenter une demande de bourse postdoctorale du CRSH, les candidats :

  • doivent être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents du Canada (au plus tard à la date limite de présentation de la demande);
  • doivent être étudiants au doctorat ou avoir obtenu un premier doctorat d’une université reconnue en septembre 2014 ou après (il s’agit de la date à laquelle les candidats ont satisfait à toutes les exigences du programme et non de la date d’obtention du diplôme) ou avoir obtenu un premier doctorat en septembre 2011 ou après, mais avoir dû interrompre ou retarder la poursuite de leur carrière de chercheur depuis en raison de la naissance ou de l’éducation d’un enfant, d’une maladie ou d’obligations familiales liées à des soins de santé;
  • ne doivent pas occuper un poste de professeur permanent ou menant à la permanence;
  • doivent avoir pris des arrangements pour être affiliés à une université ou à un établissement de recherche reconnus;
  • ne doivent pas avoir présenté auparavant plus de deux demandes de bourse postdoctorale du CRSH;
  • ne doivent pas présenter de demande de bourse postdoctorale du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG) ou de bourse postdoctorale des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) durant l’année universitaire 2016-2017;
  • ne doivent pas avoir reçu auparavant une bourse postdoctorale (y compris une bourse postdoctorale Banting) du CRSH, du CRSNG ou des IRSC.

Les candidats qui ont obtenu leur doctorat d’une université étrangère peuvent faire une demande uniquement s’ils comptent utiliser leur bourse dans une université canadienne.

Les candidats ne peuvent demander d’utiliser leur bourse dans une université étrangère que s’ils ont obtenu leur doctorat d’une université canadienne.

Critères d’admissibilité pour détenir une bourse

Pour détenir une bourse, les candidats doivent :

  • mener des travaux de recherche à temps plein pendant la période visée par la bourse;
  • avoir satisfait à toutes les exigences de leur programme de doctorat à la date d’entrée en vigueur de la bourse postdoctorale du CRSH.

L’offre de bourse faite à des candidats qui n’auront pas satisfait à toutes les exigences de leur programme de doctorat au plus tard le 31 décembre 2017 pourrait être annulée. Veuillez noter que les offres de bourse annulées ou refusées sont prises en compte dans le calcul de la limite de trois demandes de bourse postdoctorale pouvant être présentées par un candidat dans le cadre de cette occasion de financement.

Les employés du gouvernement fédéral peuvent bénéficier d’une bourse postdoctorale du CRSH à condition d’être en congé non payé (aucun salaire ni aucune allocation spéciale ne sont permis).

Pour connaître les autres exigences liées à cette occasion de financement, les candidats doivent consulter le Guide des détenteurs de bourse – Guide B.



Top

Processus de demande

Avant de présenter leur demande, les candidats doivent s’assurer de satisfaire aux exigences précisées dans la section Admissibilité (ci-dessus). De plus, ils doivent remplir et soumettre un seul formulaire de demande et y joindre leur curriculum vitæ et les documents requis. Les instructions liées à la préparation du formulaire et du curriculum vitæ sont incluses dans le formulaire utilisé par les candidats pour la préparation de leur demande en ligne.

Remarque :

  • Les candidats sont chargés de s’assurer que tous les éléments nécessaires de la demande ont été soumis (y compris les pièces jointes et les lettres).
  • Le CRSH n’accepte sous aucun prétexte que les demandes soient soumises en retard.


Top

Évaluation et sélection

Les Lignes directrices pour l’évaluation du mérite de la recherche autochtone du CRSH s’adressent aux chercheurs (candidats et directeurs de projet) et aux étudiants qui présentent au CRSH une demande visant à effectuer de la recherche autochtone. Le CRSH fournit ces lignes directrices aux évaluateurs afin d’approfondir leur compréhension de la recherche autochtone et des activités de recherche connexes et d’aider les membres de comité à interpréter les critères d’évaluation propres au CRSH dans le contexte de la recherche autochtone. Le CRSH peut compter sur des évaluateurs qui possèdent une expérience et une expertise dans le domaine de la recherche autochtone afin de déterminer dans quelle mesure les lignes directrices peuvent s’appliquer à une proposition de recherche donnée. Les lignes directrices peuvent aussi être utilisées par les évaluateurs externes, les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et les organismes partenaires qui appuient la recherche autochtone.

Déroulement du concours

Étape 1 – Les candidats doivent soumettre au CRSH leur demande dûment remplie et les documents requis au plus tard à la date limite de présentation des demandes. De plus, tous les répondants et les établissements appuyant une candidature doivent faire parvenir leur lettre d’appui avant la date limite au moyen du système de présentation des demandes en ligne du CRSH.

Étape 2 – Le personnel du CRSH examine toutes les demandes et fait parvenir toutes celles qui sont admissibles aux comités de sélection multidisciplinaires.

Étape 3 – Les comités de sélection multidisciplinaires évaluent toutes les demandes admissibles et font des recommandations en ce qui concerne l’attribution du financement. Les recommandations des comités doivent être approuvées par le CRSH.

Étape 4 – Chaque année en février, le CRSH avise par écrit tous les candidats de la décision prise au sujet de leur demande. Les résultats du concours ne sont pas communiqués par téléphone ni par courriel.

Critères d’évaluation et notation

Les demandes de bourse postdoctorale du CRSH sont évaluées par les comités multidisciplinaires en fonction des critères et du tableau de notation ci-dessous.

  1. Défi – Objectif et importance de l’activité de recherche (20 p. 100)

    • originalité et importance prévue du programme de travail proposé
  2. Faisabilité – Plan visant l’atteinte de l’excellence (30 p. 100)

  3. Capacité – Potentiel de réussite (50 p. 100) 

    • bourses de recherche, bourses d’études et autres bourses et prix obtenus
    • expérience en recherche et publications antérieures
    • achèvement des études doctorales en temps opportun, en tenant compte de la nature du programme et de toute situation personnelle pouvant avoir retardé le cheminement du candidat dans la carrière universitaire

Tableau de notation

Les membres des comités attribuent une note pondérée à chacun des trois critères énoncés ci-dessus en fonction des descripteurs suivants, puis classent les demandes par rapport à l’ensemble des demandes évaluées par leur comité respectif. Afin d’être prises en considération pour l’attribution d’un financement, les demandes doivent recevoir une note d’au moins 3 pour chacun des critères. Les notes attribuées indiquent le classement relatif de chaque demande établi par un comité donné.

Remarque : les sous-critères ne sont pas pondérés. Ils représentent simplement les éléments dont les membres des comités doivent tenir compte pour attribuer une note au critère correspondant.

Note Descripteur

De 5 à 6

De très bon à excellent

De 4 à 4,9

De bon à très bon

De 3 à 3,9

De satisfaisant à bon

Moins de 3

Financement non envisagé



Top

Règlements, politiques et renseignements supplémentaires

Le CRSH se réserve le droit de décider si une demande est admissible ou non en fonction des renseignements qu’elle contient. Il se réserve également le droit d’interpréter les règlements régissant ses occasions de financement, lesquels sont énoncés dans ses publications.

Tous les candidats et les détenteurs de bourse doivent satisfaire aux exigences des Règlements régissant les demandes de bourse et des règlements énoncés dans le Guide des détenteurs de bourse – Guide B.

Lignes directrices et autres documents pertinents

Tous les candidats à un financement du CRSH doivent consulter les lignes directrices suivantes pour préparer leur demande :

Candidats autochtones et recherche autochtone

Le CRSH met en place plusieurs mesures à titre de projet pilote afin d’appuyer la recherche menée « par et avec » les peuples autochtones. Ces mesures s’adressent aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs et aux chercheurs postdoctoraux qui présentent une demande de bourse de doctorat du CRSH, de bourse de doctorat du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Joseph-Armand-Bombardier ou de bourse postdoctorales du CRSH.

Ces mesures offrent aux candidats la possibilité :

  • de déclarer volontairement leur ascendance autochtone, et ce, afin de permettre au CRSH d’évaluer le taux de participation et le taux de réussite en matière d’obtention de financement des candidats aux bourses de doctorat et aux bourses postdoctorales qui font partie des Premières Nations, du peuple inuit, du peuple métis ou d’autres peuples autochtones (remarque : ces renseignements ne servent pas au processus de sélection);
  • de définir un programme d’études proposé à titre de recherche autochtone, afin d’assurer la prise en compte des Lignes directrices pour l’évaluation du mérite de la recherche autochtone du CRSH;
  • de préciser toute autre circonstance pouvant avoir une incidence sur la carrière universitaire de certains candidats autochtones.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter les mesures favorisant l’épanouissement du talent autochtone.

Le CRSH invite les personnes intéressées à poser leurs questions ou à faire part de leurs commentaires.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet des bourses postdoctorales, veuillez consulter le Centre de ressources.



Top

Coordonnées

Programme de bourses postdoctorales du CRSH
Portefeuille de la formation en recherche
Courriel : bourses@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Tél. : 613-943-7777