Department of National Defence Research Initiative

2017-18 Competitions

A Joint Initiative of SSHRC and DND

Application deadline Value and duration Results announced Apply
Insight Grants

October 15, 2017, for full application

$20,000 per year for 3 years ($60,000 total) will be awarded to successful Insight Grant recipients Summer 2018 See details under Description below
Insight Development Grants

February 3, 2018
$10,000 will be awarded to successful Insight Development Grant recipients Summer 2018 See details under Description below

Note: If a deadline falls on a weekend or a Canadian public holiday, the online application system will remain open until 8 p.m. (eastern time) on the next business day.


Context
Objectives
Description
Value and Duration
Eligibility
Evaluation and Adjudication
Regulations, Policies and Related Information
Contact Information



Context

Defence Research and Development Canada (DRDC), an agency of the Department of National Defence (DND), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) have signed a joint initiative agreement to support social sciences and humanities research and related activities pertaining to military personnel readiness, organizational and operational effectiveness, and human effectiveness in modern operations.


Top

Objectives

DRDC conducts social science research to support the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) and DND in developing effective, efficient and affordable evidence-based strategies, policies, programs, procedures, processes and technologies that, together:

  • optimize the intake, training and management of the Defence Team, ensuring a workforce at the right numbers, at the right ranks/occupations, and with the appropriate skills and experience to meet future operational needs—this includes research in support of strategic and operational priorities in domains such as attraction and recruitment, selection and assessment, motivation, career management, training and education, and workforce analytics;
  • enhance individual and family well-being, care for the ill and injured, and prepare members for the transition to civilian life—this includes research with a focus on health, resiliency, morale, welfare and compensation;
  • enable the effective employment of the Defence Team in operational and organizational environments, and strengthening of the operational and strategic leadership capacity of the CAF—this includes research addressing the physical, psychological, social and cultural demands of military operations, as well as the efficient governance, agility and adaptiveness of the organization; and
  • enhance the command and intelligence effectiveness of the CAF, and the ability to achieve their missions in complex campaign environments—this includes research with a focus on understanding the social and cultural factors that provide context for effective operations in the non-kinetic sphere; understanding and predicting the intention, behaviour and influence of relevant individuals and collectives; and effective collaborations in contemporary multifunctional mission environments.


Top

Description

The DND Research Initiative (DNDRI) seeks to support research through the Insight Grants and Insight Development Grants funding opportunities.

Target Areas

DNDRI partners are currently interested in proposals focusing on the following specific areas of research:

1. Enabling Sustained and Effective Military Organizational Culture Change

Military institutions are responsible for maintaining organizational effectiveness and the well-being of their members. At the same time, militaries are expected to support culture change, achieve efficiencies, optimize governance and processes, and adapt to a continuously changing environment while facing ever-increasing competition for resources. “Personnel” is recognized as a critical component of organizational culture change, yet current change approaches seem to lack a personnel component rooted in a scientific framework. Thus, projects under this research challenge should focus on approaches and frameworks to understand the interdependencies between the multiple layers in the military organization that include the personnel component.

2. Developing Trust in Diverse Organizational Teams and in Cross-Cultural Settings

Projects under this research challenge should focus on frameworks to understand, and techniques to enhance, development of trust in diverse organizational teams and/or in cross-cultural settings, in the context of defence and security. The intention should be to further existing knowledge to improve engagement, shared understanding, motivation and collaboration, planning, decision making and execution of activities in, and leadership of, multi-organizational and/or multicultural teams. Research could involve the development of frameworks, models and theories to better understand the psychological and group dynamics in either diverse organizational or diverse cultural teams, as well as the development and validation of techniques, approaches and technologies to: facilitate initial trust building, detect decreases in trust, and develop strategies for the repair of broken trust and/or to mitigate the destructive effects of distrust in these settings.

3. Trust in Autonomous Systems

With advances and adaptation of autonomous systems in numerous applications, from vehicles to information management, the relationship between human and technology has evolved and become more complex and important. As the roles of humans increasingly change from “operators” to “partners” of autonomous systems in a team, trust becomes an increasingly complex issue. Projects under this research challenge should focus on, but are not limited to, furthering the knowledge and understanding of trust development with autonomous systems with regard to, for example, human-autonomy teaming; how humans perceive and interact with autonomous systems; approaches/criteria to measure and assess trust; the level of risk and error that humans are willing to tolerate from autonomous systems; the defining attributes of a system that allows humans to establish trust; synergistic interaction between human and machine intelligence; complacency/over-trust in autonomous systems; and differences in human and machine perception and cognition.



Top

Value and Duration

Research Grants

DNDRI supplements are available through Insight Grant and Insight Development Grant applications.

  • DNDRI supplements worth $20,000 per year for three years ($60,000 total) will be awarded to successful Insight Grant recipients in addition to the annual value of the SSHRC Insight Grant.
  • A one-time DNDRI supplement of $10,000 will be awarded to successful Insight Development Grant applicants in addition to the value of the SSHRC Insight Development Grant.


Top

Eligibility

In order to be eligible for and maintain DNDRI funding, all grant holders are expected to meet and follow program funding conditions determined by DND, in addition to the eligibility requirements outlined below for each specific type of grant.

Applications submitted to SSHRC that would be more appropriately evaluated by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council or the Canadian Institutes of Health Research will not be accepted. To determine if your research falls within SSHRC's mandate, please see Subject Matter Eligibility.

Research Grants

Applicants and participants

The DNDRI partners invite proposals from individual researchers and research teams affiliated with an eligible Canadian postsecondary institution who are working in Canada in one or more of the target areas of interest.

All applicants must comply with SSHRC eligibility criteria for the Insight Grants and Insight Development Grants funding opportunities.

Teams may consist of an applicant (principal investigator / project director) and/or one or more co-applicants (co-investigators) or collaborators.

Institutions

Institutions that propose to administer any grant awarded under this funding opportunity must meet the requirements for managing SSHRC funds and must hold or obtain institutional eligibility.



Top

Evaluation and Adjudication

Each application for a DNDRI supplement is adjudicated first by the relevant SSHRC adjudication committee. SSHRC will then provide DND with those Insight Grant and Insight Development Grant applications that have been judged meritorious through SSHRC's existing merit review processes and that were marked explicitly for consideration under the DNDRI.

In June each year, DND will review the Insight Development Grant and Insight Grant applications forwarded by SSHRC. Applications will be ranked by a DND selection committee based on alignment with DND priorities. DND will then select the applications to be awarded a supplement in that year’s competition. To this end, applications must clearly and specifically indicate how the proposed research applies to the DNDRI objectives.

Only applications judged by DND as pertinent to its research priorities will receive supplements under this initiative to the limit of the available funds.

The DND selection committee's decisions cannot be appealed.

DNDRI adjudication timelines

Funding opportunity Review by SSHRC adjudication committees Review by DND Results announced DNDRI supplement start date
Insight Grants March 2018 June 2018 July 2018 January 2019
Insight Development Grants May 2018

Conditions of Funding

In order to receive and maintain eligibility for a DNDRI award, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  1. The proposed research must meet the DNDRI objectives and have a focus on one or more of the target areas of research.
  2. DNDRI award recipients will be required to provide written notification to SSHRC of any changes in research, as continued funding under DNDRI is contingent on the research remaining in a DND research priority area. DND will then determine whether the research is still eligible for funding under the DNDRI.
  3. Recipients are required to submit annual reports at 12 and 24 months from the start of the award, and a final report at the conclusion of the award period for review by DND, using report templates. This will be done in accordance with SSHRC’s awards administration practices.


Top

Regulations, Policies and Related Information

For descriptions of SSHRC terms, see Definitions of Terms.

Research Grants

All applicants and grant holders must comply with the Regulations Governing Grant Applications and with the regulations set out in the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide.



Top

Contact Information

For more information about the DNDRI, please contact:

Chantal Meda
Senior Program Officer
Research Grants and Partnerships Division
SSHRC
350 Albert Street
P.O. Box 1610
Ottawa, ON  K1P 6G4
Tel.: 613-947-2094
Fax: 613-992-7635
Email: chantal.meda@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Initiative de recherche du ministère de la Défense nationale

Concours de 2017-2018

Initiative conjointe du CRSH et du ministère de la Défense nationale

Date limite de présentation des demandes Valeur et durée Annonce des résultats Faire une demande
Subventions Savoir

15 octobre 2017 pour la demande complète

20 000 $ par année sur trois ans (soit 60 000 $ au total) attribués aux détenteurs d’une subvention Savoir Été 2018 Voir les détails dans la description ci-dessous
Subventions de développement Savoir

3 février 2018
10 000 $ attribués aux détenteurs d’une subvention de développement Savoir Été 2018 Voir les détails dans la description ci-dessous

Remarque : si une date limite correspond à un jour de fin de semaine ou à un jour férié au Canada, le système de présentation des demandes en ligne demeure accessible jusqu’à 20 h (heure de l'Est) le jour ouvrable suivant.


Contexte
Objectifs
Description
Valeur et durée
Admissibilité
Évaluation et sélection
Règlements, politiques et renseignements supplémentaires
Coordonnées



Contexte

Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada, un organisme du ministère de la Défense nationale, et le Conseil de recherche en sciences humaines (CRSH) ont signé une entente d’initiative conjointe visant à appuyer les projets de recherche en sciences humaines et les activités connexes traitant de l’état de préparation du personnel militaire, de l’efficacité organisationnelle et opérationnelle ainsi que de l’efficacité humaine dans le cadre d’opérations modernes.


Top

Objectifs

Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada effectue de la recherche en sciences sociales afin d’aider les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) et le ministère de la Défense nationale à élaborer des stratégies, des politiques, des programmes, des procédures, des processus et des technologies efficaces et abordables qui sont fondés sur des données probantes et permettent d’atteindre les résultats suivants :

  • optimiser le recrutement, l’instruction et la gestion de l’Équipe de la Défense pour assurer un nombre suffisant d’effectifs aux bons postes/grades, avec les compétences et l’expérience appropriées pour répondre aux futurs besoins opérationnels. Cela comprend les projets de recherche à l’appui des priorités stratégiques et opérationnelles, notamment dans les domaines de l’attraction et du recrutement, de la sélection et de l’évaluation, de la motivation, de la gestion de carrière, de l’instruction et de l’éducation, ainsi que de l’analyse de l’effectif;
  • améliorer le bien‑être individuel et familial, les soins aux malades et aux blessés ainsi que la préparation des militaires en vue de leur transition vers la vie civile. Cela comprend les projets de recherche qui mettent l’accent sur la santé, la résilience, le moral, le bien‑être et les indemnisations;
  • permettre l’emploi efficace de l’Équipe de la Défense au sein d’environnements opérationnels et organisationnels et renforcer la capacité de leadership opérationnel et stratégique des FAC. Cela comprend les projets de recherche qui répondent aux besoins physiques, sociaux et culturels des opérations militaires, ainsi qu’à la gouvernance efficace, à la souplesse et à la capacité d’adaptation de l’organisation;
  • améliorer l’efficacité du commandement et du renseignement des FAC, ainsi que la capacité de ces derniers à accomplir leurs missions dans des environnements opérationnels complexes. Cela comprend les projets de recherche qui mettent l’accent sur la compréhension des facteurs sociaux et culturels qui servent de contexte pour les opérations efficaces dans la sphère non cinétique; la compréhension et la prévision de l’intention, du comportement et des activités d’influence des personnes et des collectivités pertinentes; ainsi que les efforts de collaboration efficace dans des environnements de missions contemporains et multifonctionnels.


Top

Description

L’Initiative de recherche du ministère de la Défense nationale permet d’appuyer les travaux de recherche financés par l’entremise des subventions Savoir et des subventions de développement Savoir.

Domaines cibles

Les partenaires de l’Initiative de recherche du ministère de la Défense nationale s’intéressent présentement aux propositions portant sur les domaines de recherche suivants :

1. Pour un changement de culture organisationnelle militaire efficace et soutenu

Les institutions militaires sont tenues de préserver l’efficacité organisationnelle et le bien‑être de leurs membres. Parallèlement, les militaires sont tenus d’appuyer le changement de culture, de réaliser des gains d’efficacité, d’optimiser la gouvernance et les procédés et de s’adapter à un milieu en constante évolution, bien qu’ils soient confrontés à une concurrence galopante pour obtenir les ressources. On reconnaît que le « personnel » est une composante essentielle du changement en matière de culture organisationnelle, pourtant les approches actuelles à cet égard ne semblent pas avoir ancré la composante du personnel dans un cadre scientifique. Par conséquent, les projets liés à ce défi en matière de recherche devraient être axés sur des approches et des cadres de travail visant à comprendre les interdépendances entre les multiples niveaux de l’organisation militaire qui incluent la composante du personnel.

2. Pour instaurer un climat de confiance dans les diverses équipes organisationnelles et les milieux interculturels

Les projets liés à ce défi en matière de recherche devraient être axés sur des cadres de travail visant la compréhension et des techniques pour améliorer le climat de confiance au sein des diverses équipes organisationnelles ou des milieux interculturels, dans le contexte de la défense et la sécurité. L’intention devrait être d’approfondir les connaissances actuelles pour améliorer la participation, la compréhension mutuelle, la motivation et la collaboration, la planification, la prise de décision et l’exécution des activités dans les équipes multiorganisationnelles ou multiculturelles, ainsi que la direction de ces équipes. La recherche pourrait inclure la préparation de cadres de travail, de modèles et de théories pour mieux comprendre la dynamique psychologique et la dynamique de groupe dans l’une ou l’autre des équipes organisationnelles diversifiées ou celles qui ont une pluralité culturelle, de même que la conception et la validation de techniques, d’approches et de technologies pour faciliter l’instauration initiale d’un climat de confiance, déceler la perte de confiance et élaborer des stratégies pour réparer les liens de confiance rompus ou trouver une façon de minimiser les effets destructeurs de la méfiance dans ces conditions.

3. Pour instaurer un climat de confiance envers les systèmes autonomes

En raison des progrès et de l’adaptation des systèmes autonomes dans de nombreuses applications, des moyens de gestion de l’information jusqu’à la relation entre les humains, la technologie a évolué et a gagné en complexité et en importance. À mesure que les rôles des humains passent d’« opérateurs » à « partenaires » de systèmes autonomes dans une équipe, la confiance devient un enjeu de plus en plus complexe. Les projets liés à ce défi en matière de recherche devraient être axés sur une meilleure connaissance et compréhension de l’instauration d’un climat de confiance avec les systèmes autonomes, mais sans s’y limiter, en ce qui touche, par exemple, la coopération entre un humain et un système autonome; la perception qu’ont les humains des systèmes autonomes et leur façon d’interagir avec ces systèmes; les approches et les critères pour mesurer le degré de confiance; le niveau de risque et les erreurs que les humains sont prêts à tolérer de la part des systèmes autonomes; les attributs qui définissent un système pour permettre aux humains de lui faire confiance; l’interaction synergétique entre les humains et l’intelligence artificielle; la complaisance et la confiance démesurée envers les systèmes autonomes; les différences entre la perception et la cognition naturelle ou artificielle.



Top

Valeur et durée

Subventions de recherche

Les suppléments offerts par cette initiative de recherche sont disponibles par l’entremise des subventions Savoir et des subventions de développement Savoir.

  • Des suppléments d'une valeur de 20 000 $ par année sur trois ans (soit 60 000 $ au total) sont attribués aux détenteurs d’une subvention Savoir. Cette somme vient s’ajouter à la valeur annuelle de la subvention Savoir accordée par le CRSH.
  • Un supplément de 10 000 $ est attribué aux détenteurs d’une subvention de développement Savoir. Cette somme vient s’ajouter à la valeur de la subvention de développement Savoir accordée par le CRSH.


Top

Admissibilité

Pour être admissibles à un financement de l’Initiative et le conserver, les détenteurs de subvention doivent respecter les conditions de financement définies par le ministère de la Défense nationale en plus de satisfaire aux exigences présentées ci-dessous concernant chaque type de subvention.

Les demandes soumises au CRSH qui relèvent davantage du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie ou des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada ne seront pas retenues. Afin de déterminer si votre recherche correspond au mandat du CRSH, veuillez consulter la page Web portant sur l’admissibilité des sujets de recherche.

Subventions de recherche

Candidats et participants

Les partenaires de l’Initiative acceptent les propositions soumises par des chercheurs individuels et des équipes de recherche affiliés à des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens admissibles et travaillant au Canada dans un ou plusieurs des domaines cibles.

Tous les candidats doivent se conformer aux critères d’admissibilité du CRSH relatifs aux subventions Savoir et aux subventions de développement Savoir.

Les équipes peuvent être composées d’un candidat (chercheur principal ou directeur de projet) et d’un ou de plusieurs cocandidats (cochercheurs) ou collaborateurs.

Établissements

Les établissements qui proposent d’administrer les subventions attribuées dans le cadre de cette occasion de financement doivent satisfaire aux exigences en matière de gestion des fonds du CRSH et doivent être ou devenir des établissements admissibles.



Top

Évaluation et sélection

Toutes les demandes de subvention de recherche présentées dans le cadre de l’Initiative sont d’abord évaluées par les comités de sélection du CRSH appropriés. Le CRSH fournit ensuite au ministère de la Défense nationale les demandes de subvention Savoir et de subvention de développement Savoir qui ont été jugées méritoires à l’issue du processus d’évaluation et dans lesquelles il est précisé explicitement qu’elles doivent être examinées dans le cadre de l’Initiative.

Au mois de juin de chaque année, le ministère de la Défense nationale évalue les demandes de subvention Savoir et de subvention de développement Savoir que le CRSH lui fait parvenir. Ces demandes sont classées par un comité de sélection du ministère de la Défense nationale en fonction de leur harmonisation avec les priorités de ce dernier. Le ministère de la Défense nationale sélectionne alors les demandes des candidats qui méritent de recevoir un supplément dans le cadre du concours de l’année en question. Pour ce faire, les demandes doivent indiquer de façon claire et spécifique en quoi la recherche proposée correspond aux objectifs de l'Initiative.

Seules les demandes que le ministère de la Défense nationale juge pertinentes par rapport à ses priorités de recherche donnent lieu à l’attribution d’un supplément, et ce, dans la limite des fonds disponibles.

On ne peut pas interjeter appel des décisions prises par le comité de sélection du ministère de la Défense nationale.

Échéances relatives à l’évaluation

Occasion de financement Examen des comités d’évaluation du CRSH Examen du comité de sélection du ministère de la Défense nationale Annonce des résultats Début du supplément
Subventions Savoir Mars 2018 Juin 2018 Juillet 2018 Janvier 2019
Subventions de développement Savoir Mai 2018

Conditions du financement

Pour obtenir et conserver leur admissibilité à un supplément dans le cadre de l’Initiative, les candidats doivent remplir les conditions suivantes :

  1. la recherche proposée doit correspondre aux objectifs de l’Initiative et porter sur un ou plusieurs des domaines cibles en matière de recherche;
  2. les  bénéficiaires d’un supplément devront aviser par écrit le CRSH de tout changement dans leurs travaux de recherche, car le financement ne peut continuer que si les travaux portent sur un domaine de recherche que le ministère de la Défense nationale estime prioritaire. En cas de changement, le ministère de la Défense nationale détermine si les travaux sont toujours admissibles à un financement par l’entremise de l’Initiative;
  3. les bénéficiaires d’un supplément sont tenus de soumettre des rapports annuels au bout de 12 et de 24 mois suivant l'attribution du supplément ainsi qu’un rapport final à la fin de la période d'attribution – rapport qui est examiné par le ministère de la Défense nationale à l'aide de modèles de rapports. Cela est en conformité avec les pratiques d’administration du CRSH.


Top

Règlements, politiques et renseignements supplémentaires

Pour obtenir l’explication des termes utilisés par le CRSH, veuillez consulter la page Définitions.

Subventions de recherche

Tous les candidats et les détenteurs de subvention doivent satisfaire aux exigences des règlements régissant les demandes de subvention et des règlements du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.



Top

Coordonnées

Si vous avez des questions concernant l’Initiative de recherche du ministère de la Défense nationale, veuillez communiquer avec :

Chantal Meda
Agente principale de programmes
Division des subventions de recherche et des partenariats
CRSH
350, rue Albert
C.P. 1610
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 6G4
Tél. : 613-947-2094
Téléc. : 613-992-7635
Courriel : chantal.meda@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca