Multiple Applications—Grants, Fellowships and Scholarships

Applying for Grants
Applying for Fellowships and Scholarships
Holding Multiple SSHRC Grants, Fellowships and Scholarships


SSHRC’s regulations on multiple applications and on holding multiple grants, fellowships and scholarships are meant to:

  • avoid duplication of funding for the same research or research-related activities; and
  • optimize the use of resources available for merit review.

SSHRC will not fund the same research project or research-related activity with more than one grant at the same time. However, SSHRC encourages jointly funded research or research-related activities. With some funding opportunities, it is a particular requirement that applicants demonstrate that they have secured or will secure, over and above the budget requested from SSHRC, additional resources from other sources. Applicants may also fund their overall research project or research-related activities by applying for complementary funding for different components of these through more than one source. Applicants must make clear in their proposals to SSHRC that there is no duplication of financial support for identical budget items.

SSHRC will not fund the same individual with more than one fellowship or scholarship at the same time.

Applying for Grants

Applicants

Individuals
In a calendar year, an individual may, as applicant (principal investigator/project director), submit multiple applications for SSHRC funding, provided the proposed projects have different objectives. However:

  • an individual may not, as applicant (principal investigator/project director) submit more than one application in any given competition;
  • an individual may not submit the same proposal at the same time to more than one federal granting agency (SSHRC, Canada Council for the Arts, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research [CIHR], and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council [NSERC]);
  • an individual may not, in a calendar year, submit, as applicant (principal investigator/project director), an application for both an Insight Development Grant and an Insight Grant; and
  • an individual may not, in a calendar year, both submit, as applicant (principal investigator/project director), an application for a Partnership Development Grant and be the named project director in a Partnership Grant.

Institutions/Organizations
An institution may submit multiple applications for Partnership Grants in the same competition, provided the proposals have different objectives and are led by different project directors.

Co-applicants and/or Collaborators

In a calendar year, an individual may participate as co-applicant or collaborator in any number of grant applications.

Other Conditions

A current grant holder may submit a new application for the same type of grant, but only in their grant’s final year (year in which the grant holder receives the final installment of their grant). The grant holder may do so whether or not they intend to request or avail themselves of an extension year in order to finish work associated with the currently held grant.

Applying for Fellowships and Scholarships

Applicants may submit only one fellowship or scholarship application to SSHRC in a given academic year. In addition, applicants may submit only one fellowship or scholarship application in each academic year to either SSHRC, CIHR or NSERC.

Exceptions

  1. Applicants pursuing doctoral studies may apply simultaneously to both the SSHRC Doctoral Awards program and the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS) program (by selecting “social sciences and humanities” in their Vanier CGS application). For more information on Vanier scholarships, or to apply, please visit the Vanier CGS website.
  2. Applicants pursuing postdoctoral research may apply simultaneously to both the SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships and the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships Program.

Holding Multiple Grants, Fellowships and Scholarships

SSHRC Grants

Principal Investigator/Project Director
An individual may hold, as principal investigator/project director, SSHRC grants awarded through different funding opportunities at the same time, provided that each project involves different objectives and that there is no duplication of funding for any of the proposed activities.

Co-applicants and/or Collaborators
An individual holding, as principal investigator/project director, a SSHRC grant awarded through any of the different funding opportunities, may also participate, as co-applicant or collaborator, in any number of other research projects or research-related activities.

Grants from Other Funding Organizations

Individuals may hold one or more SSHRC grants concurrently with grants from other funding organizations, provided that there is no duplication of funding for any of the proposed activities.

Fellowships and Scholarships from Other Federal Granting Agencies

Students and postdoctoral researchers may not hold two or more fellowship or scholarship awards simultaneously from SSHRC, NSERC or CIHR.

Demandes multiples de subvention et de bourse

Demande de subvention
Demande de bourse
Détenir plusieurs subventions ou bourses du CRSH


Voici les objectifs des règlements du CRSH concernant les demandes multiples et le fait de détenir plusieurs subventions ou bourses :

  • éviter le dédoublement du financement pour les mêmes travaux de recherche ou activités connexes;
  • maximiser l’utilisation des ressources disponibles pour l’évaluation du mérite.

Le CRSH n’offre pas plusieurs subventions simultanées pour les mêmes projets de recherche ou activités connexes. Toutefois, il favorise les travaux de recherche ou les activités connexes à financement conjoint. Pour certaines occasions de financement, il existe une exigence particulière selon laquelle les candidats doivent démontrer qu’ils ont obtenu ou qu’ils obtiendront, en plus du budget demandé au CRSH, des ressources provenant d’ailleurs. Par ailleurs, les candidats peuvent financer leur projet de recherche ou des activités connexes en présentant à diverses sources une demande de financement complémentaire pour différents aspects de ces travaux. Dans la proposition qu’ils font parvenir au CRSH, les candidats doivent clairement indiquer qu’il n’y a aucun dédoublement de soutien financier pour un même élément de leur budget.

Le CRSH n’offre pas plusieurs bourses simultanées à une même personne.

Demande de subvention

Candidats

Personnes
Au cours d’une année civile, en tant que candidat (chercheur principal ou directeur de projet), on peut présenter plusieurs demandes de financement au CRSH dans la mesure où les projets proposés comportent des objectifs différents. Toutefois :

  • en tant que candidat (chercheur principal ou directeur de projet), on ne peut pas présenter plusieurs demandes dans le cadre du même concours;
  • on ne peut pas présenter la même proposition à deux des organismes subventionnaires fédéraux (le CRSH, le Conseil des Arts du Canada, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie [CRSNG] ainsi que les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada [IRSC]) en même temps;
  • au cours d’une même année civile, en tant que candidat (chercheur principal ou directeur de projet), on ne peut pas présenter à la fois une demande de subvention de développement Savoir et une demande de subvention Savoir;
  • au cours d’une même année civile, en tant que candidat (chercheur principal ou directeur de projet), on ne peut pas à la fois présenter une demande de subvention de développement de partenariat et être le directeur de projet désigné pour une demande de subvention de partenariat.

Établissements et organisations
Un établissement peut présenter plusieurs demandes de subvention de partenariat dans le cadre d’un même concours dans la mesure où les propositions comportent des objectifs différents et où les projets sont dirigés par des directeurs différents.

Cocandidats et collaborateurs

Au cours d’une même année civile, on peut participer à un nombre illimité de demandes de subvention à titre de cocandidat ou de collaborateur.

Autres conditions

Un détenteur de subvention peut présenter une nouvelle demande pour le même type de subvention, mais uniquement au cours de la dernière année (celle au cours de laquelle il reçoit son dernier versement) de la période de sa subvention. Le détenteur peut de toute façon présenter une demande, et ce, qu’il prévoie ou non présenter une demande de prolongation ou se prévaloir d’une prolongation automatique afin de pouvoir terminer les travaux liés à la subvention qu’il détient déjà.

Demande de bourse

Au cours d’une même année universitaire, les candidats peuvent présenter une seule demande de bourse au CRSH. De plus, ils ne peuvent présenter qu’une demande de bourse à l’un des organismes subventionnaires (le CRSH, le CRSNG et ou les IRSC).

Exceptions

  1. Les candidats menant des études de doctorat peuvent présenter à la fois une demande de bourse de doctorat du CRSH et une demande de bourse d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier (en choisissant « Sciences humaines » dans leur demande de bourse Vanier). Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur les bourses Vanier ou la façon de présenter une demande, veuillez consulter le site Web du Programme de bourse d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier.
  2. Les candidats qui poursuivent des études postdoctorales peuvent présenter une demande à la fois dans le cadre du Programme de bourses postdoctorales du CRSH et du Programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting.

Détenir plusieurs subventions ou bourses du CRSH

Subventions du CRSH

Chercheur principal et directeur de projet
En tant que chercheur principal ou directeur de projet, on peut détenir simultanément des subventions du CRSH liées à diverses occasions de financement dans la mesure où chaque projet comporte des objectifs différents et où il n’existe aucun dédoublement du financement pour les activités proposées.

Cocandidats et collaborateurs
En tant que chercheur principal ou directeur de projet, si l’on détient une subvention dans le cadre d’une occasion de financement du CRSH, on peut participer à un nombre illimité de demandes de subvention à titre de cocandidat ou de collaborateur.

Subventions d’autres organismes subventionnaires

On peut détenir simultanément une ou plusieurs subventions du CRSH et des subventions d’autres organismes subventionnaires dans la mesure où il n’existe aucun dédoublement du financement pour les activités proposées.

Bourses d’autres organismes subventionnaires

Les étudiants et les chercheurs postdoctoraux ne peuvent pas détenir simultanément des bourses du CRSH, du CRSNG ou des IRSC.