Collection, Use and Disclosure of Personal Information

SSHRC is committed to the protection of all personal information collected and used in the operation and management of its activities. This page outlines SSHRC’s authority and purposes for the collection, use and disclosure of personal information.

Section 3 of the Privacy Act defines personal information as any information that identifies an individual. This includes information such as your name, address, IP address, telephone number, birth date, social insurance number, e-mail address and employment information.



Privacy and Access to Information

All personal information provided to SSHRC will be used and disclosed in accordance with the Privacy Act. The Privacy Act gives Canadian citizens, permanent residents and any individual or corporation present in Canada the right to access their personal information that is held by the Government of Canada.

At the time of collection, SSHRC will inform all applicants for what purpose their personal information is being collected, and how to exercise their right of access to, or correction of, that information.  Applicants will be asked for their consent where appropriate (e.g., if the personal information is to be used or disclosed for a purpose that is inconsistent with, or different from, the reason for which the information was originally collected).

SSHRC’s records may also be disclosed in accordance with the Access to Information Act. This Act gives Canadian citizens, permanent residents and any individual or corporation present in Canada the right of access to records held or controlled by a government institution.  However, the Act allows for the protection of sensitive information. For example, records will be redacted to protect an individual’s personal information, or where there is a legal obligation to withhold information. 

For instructions on how to make a request for information under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act, please consult SSHRC’s Access to Information and Privacy webpage.



Legislative Authority for Collection of Personal Information

SSHRC derives authority to collect personal information from three legal and policy frameworks. They are as follows:

  • Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Act: section 4 outlines the functions of SSHRC, including the granting of awards to researchers in the social sciences and humanities.
  • Financial Administration Act: provides a statutory basis for transfer payments by the federal government to individuals. 
  • Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat’s Policy on Transfer Payments: outlines a government institution’s specific requirements when providing transfer payments, including the collection of sufficient personal information to identify the recipient, to assess eligibility and to conduct periodic audits.


SSHRC’S Statement of Privacy Principles

In collecting, disclosing and storing personal information, SSHRC adheres to the ten privacy principles in the Canadian Standards Association’s Model Code for the Protection of Personal Information. The principles and SSHRC’s compliance with each one are outlined below.

1. Accountability for personal information

SSHRC is responsible for the personal information in its custody or control. SSHRC has an appointed manager of ATIP and Corporate Operations who is responsible for ensuring SSHRC staff are trained on their responsibilities related to the protection of privacy.  

SSHRC does not take responsibility for the use and disclosure of the personal information that applicants submit directly to a third party for a joint funding initiative. It is the applicants’ responsibility to read and consent to that organization’s privacy notice. Alternatively, when applicants submit their personal information directly to SSHRC for a joint funding initiative, SSHRC will ensure that it is managed in a manner compliant with the Privacy Act.

2. Identifying purposes: SSHRC’s use of personal information

Before collecting any personal information, SSHRC will identify the purposes for its collection, use or disclosure, and provide notice of these purposes to the individual. SSHRC collects the personal information that is necessary to perform its administrative function as a granting agency, such as for:

  • administrative and merit review of applications;
  • administering awards;
  • establishing databases for program planning and evaluation;
  • sharing names and summaries of research, if an application is successful, for promotional purposes; and
  • developing banks of potential external assessors and committee members.

Note that neither adjudication committees nor external assessors are privy to personal information about gender or age. This information is provided at the discretion of the applicant and is used solely for statistical information. Personal contact details, such as phone numbers and personal addresses, are also not shared with adjudication committees or external assessors.

If necessary, SSHRC may also use this information to:

  • consult with the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council, Canadian Institute for Health Research, Canadian Foundation for Innovation, and the Canada Council for the Arts to determine the most appropriate funding jurisdiction for the proposed activity, or to monitor overlap in federal support;
  • determine if there is an occasion to administer, monitor or fund a grant with other federal or provincial departments. To do this, SSHRC may share applications with those departments;
  • conduct statistical studies on the funding of research, research-related activities and research training; and
  • review allegations of scholarly misconduct in accordance with the provisions of the Tri-Agency Framework: Reponsible Conduct of Research.

More detailed descriptions of the personal information that SSHRC collects and holds, and how SSHRC uses and discloses this information for each funding opportunity, is available on our Info Source chapter.

3. Consent

Except where permitted or required by law, SSHRC will only collect personal information with the knowledge and consent of the individual. SSHRC will use a form of consent (express or implied) that reflects the nature of the information being collected, taking into account its sensitivity and the reasonable expectations of the individual. In accepting the terms and conditions of applying to SSHRC’s funding opportunities, applicants also agree to the collection, use and disclosure of personal information in accordance with federal access and privacy legislation.   

Individuals may withdraw consent, at any time, to SSHRC’s use or disclosure of personal information, subject to reasonable notice, contractual restrictions and/or SSHRC’s legal obligations. However, as personal information is required to administer the application and review process, failure to provide this information will result in SSHRC not accepting an application.

If SSHRC plans to use or disclose personal information for a purpose not previously identified in the Privacy Notice to the individual or the Info Source chapter, SSHRC will inform the individual and seek further consent.

4. Limiting collection

SSHRC will only collect personal information that is necessary to fulfil the purposes identified to the individual. All personal information will be collected by fair and lawful means. Personal information provided to SSHRC that it does not have a need to know will be disposed of in a safe and secure manner. 

When possible, SSHRC will collect personal information directly from the individual. However, SSHRC may collect personal information from other sources when it is available in the public domain (e.g., faculty websites), or from public bodies, government agencies and third parties who have the authority to disclose the information. SSHRC collects scholarly opinions about applicants’ proposals from letters of reference, external assessments, and merit review committees to facilitate the merit review of applications. This material will be shared with merit review committees. Committee members must sign a statement agreeing to adhere to our Conflict of Interest and Confidentiality Policy.

5. Limiting use, disclosure and retention

SSHRC will only use or disclose personal information for the purposes for which it was collected (or for a use identified as consistent with that purpose), unless an individual has otherwise consented or where the use or disclosure is permitted or required by law. SSHRC will, using discretion, also disclose information if it meets the criteria of section 8(2) of the Privacy Act; subsection 8(2)(j) allows SSHRC to release information for research purposes, if conditions regarding confidentiality are met and SSHRC believes the benefit of the research to be of larger value to the research community.

Personal information will be retained only as long as necessary for the fulfillment of identified purposes, and in keeping with the disposition schedules set by Library and Archives Canada. SSHRC also limits the access to personal information to staff on a “need to know” basis, meaning a staff member needs to know that information to perform professional duties. In a similar vein, SSHRC forwards competition results to the appropriate university administration. In practice, these administrators may inform candidates of the outcome of their applications, and use this information to administer awards. Such sharing of applicant information is necessary to facilitate adjudication of applications, administration of grants, and for monitoring and evaluating the programs.

6. Accuracy

SSHRC will take reasonable steps to ensure that personal information collected by the agency is as accurate, complete and up-to-date as necessary to fulfil its intended purposes. In particular, SSHRC will take all reasonable steps to minimize the possibility of the use of inappropriate or inaccurate personal information to make a decision about an individual.

At the same time, SSHRC expects individuals who are concerned about the accuracy and completeness of their personal information to provide updated information as appropriate. To provide updated information, verify the accuracy of SSHRC’s records containing your personal information, or request a correction to your personal information, please contact SSHRC’s ATIP office (address provided below) or submit a Record Correction Request Form to the ATIP office. If SSHRC receives a request to update personal information that it has shared with a third party to fulfil its administrative responsibilities, unless otherwise instructed, SSHRC will share the updated information with that third party. However, please note that the personal information attached to an application remains with the application as originally submitted, unless a change is needed for an administrative purpose.

7. Safeguards

SSHRC protects personal information using safeguards that are appropriate to the sensitivity of the information, taking into account the amount, distribution, format and intended uses. Safeguards may include, but are not limited to the following:

  • physical measures, such as locked filing cabinets and restricted access to offices;
  • organizational measures, such as limiting access on a “need to know basis”;
  • educating employees on the importance of maintaining the confidentiality of personal information;
  • technological measures, such as the use of computer passwords, permissions control on our internal document management system, secure data transmission, and data back-up and recovery procedures; and

appropriate disposal of personal information, in keeping with the disposal schedules mandated by Library and Archives Canada.

8. Openness

SSHRC will readily make available specific information about its policies and procedures related to the management of personal information on its Access to Information and Privacy website and Info Source chapter. This information includes:

  • the title and address of SSHRC’s ATIP co-ordinator;
  • the means of gaining access to one’s own personal information held by SSHRC (a privacy request);
  • the means of updating or requesting a change to personal information; and
  • the means of requesting access to SSHRC’s records (an access to information request).  A record is defined as any documentary material, regardless of medium or form.

9. Individual access

Individuals can make written requests under the provisions of the Privacy Act to view personal information in SSHRC’s custody, or make an informal request for information if the scope is small, such as accessing one’s own application or letters of reference.  When a request is received, staff will identify if SSHRC possesses personal information about the requestor and will provide access to that information under the provisions of the Privacy Act, subject to restrictions due to legal obligations.

Likewise, an individual can ask to view SSHRC’s records in an Access to Information Act request.  SSHRC will gather all relevant records and prepare a release package. However, as permitted or required by law, SSHRC will not release personal information belonging to anyone other than the requester and will redact the information SSHRC is legally obligated to withhold.   SSHRC will inform the requestor if it does not have under its control any records relating to a request; for example, documents related to merit review at the institutional level.  SSHRC may also consult with third parties if needed.

While preparing the requested records, SSHRC will apply relevant sections of the Privacy Act or the Access to Information Act as necessary, and will provide these sections to the requester as an explanation for why information is being withheld.  Individuals have the right to file a complaint with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner or the Office of the Information Commissioner regarding the processing of their request.

10. Challenging Compliance

If you have any questions or enquiries concerning SSHRC’s compliance with the legislation and policies for the protection of personal information, address them in writing to the ATIP office by regular mail or email:

Mail

Manager, ATIP and Corporate Operations
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
350 Albert Street
P.O. Box 1610
Ottawa, Ontario  K1P 6G4
Tel.: 613-992-1058

Email

ATIP-AIPRP@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Collecte, utilisation et communication de renseignements personnels

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) s’engage à protéger tous les renseignements personnels recueillis et utilisés dans l’exploitation et la gestion de ses activités. Cette page présente les raisons pour lesquelles le CRSH recueille, utilise et communique des renseignements personnels, ainsi que les pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés à cette fin.

Selon l’article 3 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, les renseignements personnels représentent l’ensemble des renseignements qui permettent d’identifier une personne, notamment : son nom, son adresse, son adresse IP, son numéro de téléphone, sa date de naissance, son numéro d’assurance sociale, son adresse courriel et les renseignements concernant son emploi.



Protection des renseignements personnels et accès à l’information

Tous les renseignements personnels fournis au CRSH seront utilisés et divulgués conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, laquelle donne aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents et à toute personne physique ou morale présente au Canada le droit d’accès aux renseignements que le gouvernement fédéral possède à leur sujet.

Au moment de recueillir des renseignements personnels, le CRSH explique à tous les candidats pourquoi il en a besoin et comment exercer leur droit d’accéder à ces renseignements ou de les corriger. Les candidats doivent donner leur consentement, s’il y a lieu (p. ex. si leurs renseignements personnels doivent être utilisés ou communiqués pour une raison qui est incompatible, ou différente, de la raison pour laquelle ils ont été recueillis au départ).

Les dossiers du CRSH peuvent également être communiqués conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette loi donne aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents et à toute personne physique ou morale présente au Canada le droit d’accès aux documents détenus par une institution fédérale, ou placés sous son contrôle. Toutefois, elle permet la protection de renseignements de nature délicate. Par exemple, une partie du contenu des dossiers est caviardé de façon à protéger les renseignements personnels d’une personne ou à respecter une obligation légale qui empêche de divulguer certains renseignements.

Pour obtenir des instructions sur la façon de formuler une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, veuillez consulter la page sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels.



Pouvoirs conférés au CRSH de recueillir des renseignements personnels

Trois cadres juridiques et politiques confèrent au CRSH le pouvoir de recueillir des renseignements personnels :

  • la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines – l’article 4 de cette loi exposant les fonctions du CRSH, dont l’attribution de bourses et de subventions à des chercheurs en sciences humaines;
  • la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, qui établit un fondement législatif aux paiements de transfert effectués par le gouvernement fédéral au profit des particuliers;
  • la Politique sur les paiements de transfert du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, qui énonce les exigences spécifiques qu’une institution fédérale doit respecter au moment d’effectuer un paiement de transfert, y compris la collecte de renseignements personnels suffisants pour identifier le bénéficiaire du paiement et évaluer son admissibilité, et effectuer des vérifications périodiques.


Énoncé des principes de protection des renseignements personnels du CRSH

Quand il recueille, conserve et communique des renseignements personnels, le CRSH adhère aux dix principes de protection des renseignements personnels du Code type sur la protection des renseignements personnels de l’Association canadienne de normalisation. Ces principes et la façon dont le CRSH s’y conforme sont décrits ci-dessous.

1. Responsabilité envers les renseignements personnels

Le CRSH est responsable de la protection des renseignements personnels placés sous sa garde ou son contrôle. Le CRSH a nommé un gestionnaire de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) et des opérations organisationnelles qui est chargé de veiller à ce que le personnel du CRSH soit formés au sujet de ses responsabilités quant à la protection des renseignements personnels.

Le CRSH n’est pas responsable de l’utilisation et de la communication des renseignements personnels soumis par les candidats directement à une tierce partie dans le cadre d’une initiative de financement conjointe. Il incombe aux candidats de lire l’avis de confidentialité de cette tierce partie et d’y consentir. Autrement, lorsque les candidats soumettent leurs renseignements personnels directement au CRSH dans le cadre d’une initiative de financement conjointe, le CRSH veille à ce que ces renseignements soient traités de manière à respecter la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

2. Précision des raisons : Utilisation des renseignements personnels par le CRSH

Avant de recueillir des renseignements personnels, le CRSH détermine les raisons pour lesquelles il doit les recueillir, les utiliser ou les communiquer, et en avise les personnes concernées. Le CRSH recueille les renseignements personnels nécessaires à l’exécution de ses fonctions administratives en tant qu’organisme subventionnaire, à savoir :

  • l’examen administratif et l’évaluation du mérite des demandes;
  • l’administration des subventions et des bourses;
  • la création de bases de données pour la planification et l’évaluation des programmes;
  • la communication, à des fins promotionnelles, de noms et de résumés de recherche, si une demande est retenue;
  • l’établissement de banques d’évaluateurs externes et de membres de comité potentiels.

Les renseignements relatifs au sexe et à l’âge des candidats ne sont communiqués ni aux membres des comités de sélection ni aux évaluateurs externes. Ces renseignements sont fournis à la discrétion des candidats et sont utilisés uniquement à des fins statistiques. Les coordonnées personnelles, comme les numéros de téléphone et les adresses, ne sont également pas partagées avec les membres des comités de sélection ou les évaluateurs externes.

Au besoin, le CRSH peut utiliser ces renseignements pour :

  • consulter le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie, les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation et le Conseil des Arts du Canada afin de déterminer quel organisme est le mieux placé pour financer les activités proposées ou afin de vérifier s’il y a chevauchement de l’aide financière accordée par le gouvernement fédéral;
  • déterminer s’il est nécessaire d’administrer, de surveiller ou de verser une subvention ou une bourse en partenariat avec d’autres ministères fédéraux ou provinciaux – dans quel cas le CRSH pourrait partager les demandes avec ces ministères;
  • effectuer des études statistiques concernant le financement de la recherche, des activités de recherche et de la formation en recherche;
  • réviser les allégations d’inconduite dans la recherche et l’érudition conformément aux dispositions du Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche.

Des descriptions plus détaillées des renseignements personnels recueillis et conservés par le CRSH, et de la façon dont le CRSH utilise et communique ces renseignements dans le cadre de chaque occasion de financement, peuvent être consultées dans le chapitre Info Source du CRSH.

3. Consentement

Sauf dans les cas autorisés ou exigés par la loi, le CRSH ne recueille des renseignements personnels que si les personnes concernées le savent et y consentent. Le CRSH utilise un formulaire de consentement (exprès ou implicite) qui reflète la nature de l’information recueillie, compte tenu de la sensibilité des renseignements et des attentes de la personne. En acceptant les conditions liées aux occasions de financement du CRSH, les candidats acceptent également la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication de leurs renseignements personnels conformément aux mesures législatives fédérales relatives à l’accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels.

En tout temps, des personnes peuvent cesser de consentir à ce que le CRSH continue d’utiliser ou de divulguer des renseignements personnels les concernant, sous réserve d’un avis raisonnable, de restrictions contractuelles ou des obligations légales du CRSH. Par contre, comme les renseignements personnels sont nécessaires à l’administration et à l’évaluation des demandes, le CRSH n’accepte pas les demandes qui ne contiennent pas ces renseignements.

Si le CRSH prévoit utiliser ou divulguer des renseignements personnels à des fins qui n’ont pas été déterminées auparavant dans l’avis de confidentialité envoyé aux personnes concernées ou dans le chapitre Info Source, le CRSH avisera ces personnes et sollicitera à nouveau leur consentement.

4. Collecte limitée

Le CRSH ne recueille que les renseignements personnels nécessaires aux fins précisées. Tous les renseignements personnels sont recueillis par des moyens équitables et conformes à la loi. Les renseignements personnels fournis au CRSH qui ne sont pas nécessaires sont éliminés de manière sécuritaire.

Dans la mesure du possible, le CRSH recueille les renseignements personnels directement auprès des personnes concernées. Il peut toutefois recueillir ces renseignements auprès d’autres sources – si ceux-ci sont du domaine public (comme les sites Web de facultés) – ou auprès d’organismes publics, d’organismes gouvernementaux et de tierces parties qui ont le droit de divulguer ces renseignements. Dans le but de faciliter l’évaluation du mérite, le CRSH recueille des opinions d’experts, au sujet des demandes des candidats, au moyen de lettres de recommandation et d’évaluations externes, ainsi qu’auprès de comités d’évaluation du mérite. Ces documents sont transmis aux membres des comités d’évaluation du mérite, qui doivent signer une déclaration par laquelle ils consentent à respecter la Politique sur les conflits d’intérêts et la confidentialité.

5. Utilisation limitée, divulgation et conservation

Le CRSH utilise et divulgue les renseignements personnels qu’aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis (ou pour un usage compatible), à moins qu’une personne ait donné son consentement ou que l’utilisation ou la divulgation des renseignements soit autorisée ou exigée par la loi. En faisant preuve de discernement, le CRSH divulgue également les renseignements s’ils satisfont aux critères énoncés au paragraphe 8(2) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels – l’alinéa 8(2)j) autorisant le CRSH à divulguer les renseignements personnels à des fins de recherche, si les conditions concernant la confidentialité sont respectées et si le CRSH croit que cela apporte une valeur ajoutée à la communauté des chercheurs.

Les renseignements personnels ne sont conservés qu’aussi longtemps qu’ils sont nécessaires à la réalisation des fins précisées, et conformément aux calendriers d’élimination établis par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Le CRSH limite également l’accès aux renseignements personnels de ses employés, c’est-à-dire qu’il communique ces renseignements uniquement aux employés qui en ont besoin pour exécuter leur travail. Dans le même ordre d’idées, le CRSH fait parvenir les résultats des concours aux administrateurs universitaires concernés. En pratique, ces administrateurs peuvent informer les candidats des résultats concernant leurs demandes et utiliser ces renseignements pour administrer les subventions et les bourses. Il est nécessaire de partager les renseignements sur les candidats afin de faciliter l’évaluation des demandes, l’administration des subventions et des bourses ainsi que le contrôle et l’évaluation des programmes.

6. Exactitude

Le CRSH prend des mesures raisonnables pour s’assurer que les renseignements personnels qu’il recueille sont aussi exacts, complets et à jour que l’exigent les fins pour lesquelles ils sont utilisés. Il prend, en particulier, toutes les mesures raisonnables nécessaires pour minimiser les chances que des renseignements personnels inexacts ou inappropriés soient utilisés pour prendre une décision concernant une personne.

Le CRSH s’attend à ce que les personnes soucieuses de l’exactitude et de l’intégralité de leurs renseignements personnels fournissent des renseignements à jour, comme il convient. S’ils désirent mettre leurs renseignements à jour, vérifier l’exactitude des dossiers du CRSH qui contiennent leurs renseignements personnels ou demander une correction à ces derniers, les candidats peuvent communiquer avec le bureau de l’AIPRP du CRSH (voir l’adresse fournie ci-dessous) ou lui faire parvenir un Formulaire de demande de correction de dossier. Si le CRSH reçoit une demande de mise à jour de renseignements qu’il a partagés avec une tierce partie pour s’acquitter de ses responsabilités administratives, il communique cette mise à jour avec elle, à moins d’indication contraire. Toutefois, les renseignements personnels joints à une demande demeurent avec celle-ci tels qu’ils ont été soumis, à moins qu’il soit nécessaire d’y apporter des modifications à des fins administratives.

7. Mesures de sécurité

En tenant compte de la quantité, de la communication et de la présentation des renseignements personnels ainsi que des usages qui sont prévus, le CRSH protège les renseignements personnels au moyen de mesures de sécurité qui conviennent à leur nature délicate. Ces mesures comprennent, entre autres :

  • des mesures matérielles comme des classeurs verrouillés et un accès restreint aux bureaux;
  • des mesures organisationnelles comme un accès limité fondé sur la nécessité de connaître les renseignements personnels;
  • la sensibilisation des employés à l’importance d’assurer la confidentialité des renseignements personnels;
  • des mesures technologiques comme l’utilisation de mots de passe, le contrôle des autorisations dans le système interne de gestion des documents du CRSH, la transmission sécuritaire de données et des procédures de sauvegarde et de récupération des données;
  • l’élimination appropriée des renseignements personnels, conformément aux calendriers d’élimination établis par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

8. Transparence

Le CRSH affiche volontiers tout renseignement particulier relatif à ses politiques et à ses procédures concernant la gestion des renseignements personnels dans la page Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels de son site Web et dans son chapitre Info Source. Ces renseignements comprennent :

  • le titre et l’adresse de son coordonnateur de l’AIPRP;
  • la démarche à suivre pour obtenir l’accès à des renseignements personnels qu’il détient (demande de renseignements personnels);
  • la démarche à suivre pour mettre à jour des renseignements personnels ou demander des modifications à ceux-ci;
  • la démarche à suivre pour demander l’accès à ses dossiers (demande d’accès à l’information) – « dossiers » étant défini comme tout élément d’information, quel qu’en soit le support ou la forme.

9. Accès aux renseignements personnels

Les particuliers peuvent soumettre des demandes écrites en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour consulter des renseignements personnels confiés au CRSH, ou faire une demande de renseignements non officielle si la portée de celle-ci est moindre – par exemple, accéder à leur demande ou à leurs lettres de recommandation. Lorsqu’il reçoit une demande, le CRSH indique s’il possède des renseignements sur les personnes concernées et y donne accès en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, sous réserve de restrictions en raison d’obligations légales.

Les particuliers peuvent également faire une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour consulter les dossiers du CRSH. Ce dernier réunit alors tous les dossiers pertinents dans une trousse. Toutefois, comme l’autorise ou l’exige la loi, il ne divulgue de renseignements personnels à personne d’autre que le demandeur et caviardera les renseignements qu’il doit garder confidentiels en vertu de la loi. Si les dossiers liés à une demande ne sont pas placés sous le contrôle du CRSH, par exemple, des documents liés à l’évaluation du mérite effectuée par un établissement, il en informera le demandeur. Le CRSH peut également consulter de tierces parties, au besoin.

Au moment de préparer les dossiers demandés, le CRSH applique les articles pertinents de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ou de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, au besoin. Il fournit ces articles au demandeur afin de lui expliquer pourquoi certains renseignements ne sont pas divulgués. Les demandeurs ont le droit de porter plainte au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée ou au Commissariat à l’information en ce qui a trait au traitement de leur demande.

10. Possibilité de porter plainte à l’égard du non-respect des principes

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la manière dont le CRSH respecte les lois et les politiques liées à la protection des renseignements personnels, faites les parvenir par écrit au bureau de l’AIPRP :

Par courrier

Gestionnaire, AIPRP et opérations organisationnelles
Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines
350, rue Albert
C.P. 1610
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 6G4
Tél. : 613-992-1058

Par courriel

ATIP-AIPRP@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca