Guidelines for Cash and In-Kind Contributions

These guidelines provide an overview of eligible and non-eligible cash and/or in-kind contributions suitable for submission to SSHRC.

Applicants for any SSHRC grant may fund their projects by drawing on complementary funding from other sources.

For the Partnership Development Grants and Partnership Grants funding opportunities, a cash and/or in-kind contribution from partners and the host institution is mandatory. This contribution reflects the meaningful collaboration and involvement of partners and the host institution.

For most other grant funding opportunities, applicants may also want to—but are not required to—demonstrate other sources of cash and/or in-kind support for their research and/or related activities.




Top

Eligible Contributions

Eligible Cash Contributions

Eligible cash contributions include expenses for the direct costs of research that are directly related to achieving the objectives for which the grant was awarded. For a list and description of direct costs of research that SSHRC considers to be eligible expenses and activities, please refer to the Use of Grant Funds section of the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide.

The Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide is used generally as a baseline for eligible cash contributions from partners.

Note: While the Guide lists faculty salaries as non-eligible expenses, SSHRC will, in the case of Partnership Grants, make an exception to this guideline for SSHRC partnered Chairs. SSHRC's Guidelines for Partnered Chairs provide detailed information about expected contributions.

For all other Partnership Grant applications, compensation for faculty involved in the project cannot be counted toward the minimum 35 per cent contribution over and above SSHRC funding. However, the actual cost of releasing faculty from teaching duty to enable participation in and administration of the partnership is an eligible contribution and can be counted toward the minimum 35 per cent (e.g., the cost of hiring a sessional instructor for course release may be counted).

Eligible In-Kind Contributions

Eligible in-kind contributions include eligible non-monetary resources that partners and the grantee’s institution provide to support the project. While eligible in-kind contributions generally align with the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide, SSHRC will consider other in-kind contributions that are essential to carrying out the project.

Note: Please consult a SSHRC program officer via the contact information listed in the related funding opportunity description before including any in-kind contributions that do not align with the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide.

In-kind contributions considered essential to the research and related activities could be in the form of cash-equivalent goods or services, which, if not donated, would have to be purchased with project funds. In-kind contributions could also include the time of individuals (nonfaculty) within partner organizations (e.g., experts in a specific area) spent in providing direction and participating in the project. In some cases, the partners may provide specialized skills and advice or access to special equipment, space, data sets, etc.



Top

Sources of Eligible Cash and/or In-Kind Support

Canadian and international sources of eligible cash and/or in-kind support may include:

  • the host institution;
  • other academic institutions and organizations (such as universities, research centres, colleges, etc.);
  • philanthropic foundations and trust funds;
  • departments and agencies of the federal government;
  • departments and agencies of provincial, territorial and municipal governments;
  • crown corporations;
  • private sector firms and corporations;
  • not-for-profit organizations and community organizations;
  • professional associations;
  • labour organizations; and
  • individuals.

In cases where leveraging of resources is a requirement of a grant, SSHRC reserves the right to make the final determination of eligibility and value regarding cash and in-kind contributions, to disallow expenditures and, if necessary, to reduce the amount of SSHRC funding awarded.


Top

Exclusions

Grant funds received from the Canada Foundation for Innovation, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), SSHRC and tri-agency programs (e.g., Networks of Centres of Excellence and related programs, the Canada Research Chairs Program, the Canada Excellence Research Chairs Program and the Indirect Costs Program) may not be counted as required contributions. For Partnership Grants and Partnership Development Grants, SSHRC will allow some eligible expenses to be covered by these non-eligible partners. However, in the case of Partnership Grants, contributions from non-eligible partners cannot be counted toward the minimum 35 per cent contribution over and above SSHRC funding.

A partner contribution that has already been used in full or in part to support another project funded by CIHR, NSERC, SSHRC or any tri‑agency program will not be recognized as an eligible partner contribution for a SSHRC-funded partnership project.



Top

Stacking Provisions of Public Funds

The maximum level—or stacking limit—of total government assistance (federal, provincial and municipal assistance for the same eligible expenditures) will not exceed 100 per cent of eligible expenditures. In the event that total government assistance to a recipient exceeds the stacking limit, SSHRC will adjust the level of assistance so that the stacking limit is not exceeded and there is no duplication of funding.

When an award holder is successful in attracting other funding, from either governmental or non-governmental sources, the additional funds do not displace the grant provided by SSHRC. The award holder is encouraged to use the additional funds to extend or accelerate the achievement of their project’s overall objectives by expanding its research program, increasing its talent development activities, enhancing its knowledge mobilization activities, or conducting other activities for the benefit of scholarship and society.



Top

Valuation of Eligible In-kind Contributions

SSHRC will recognize in-kind contributions at fair market value. “Fair market value” is defined as the agreed-upon price in an open and unrestricted market between knowledgeable and willing parties who are dealing at arm’s length and who are fully informed. The fair market value is the price an institution would be expected to pay in such circumstances, after normal and educational discounts.

It is the responsibility of institutions to ensure that the reported fair-market value for all items involving an in-kind contribution is reasonable.

To guide applicants and partners in identifying in-kind contributions, please refer to the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide as a baseline, and to the list below. This list is not exhaustive. Applicants may contact SSHRC program staff (via the contact information found at the end of the related funding opportunity description) for more information about in-kind contributions.



Top

Examples of Cash and In-Kind Contributions

Category Eligible Non-Eligible

Salaries

Actual salary cost (up to a maximum of $80 per hour, or higher with justification) for employing experts to contribute directly to the project

Portion of the salary of a project manager or research support staff person assigned to fulfill duties specifically related to the project

Payments to the principal investigator as consulting fees or honoraria (additional to his or her salary)

Salary overheads, or external charge-out or consultant rates

Salary and costs of administrative support staff

Salary and costs of management activities not directly related to the project

Professional and technical services/contracts

Consulting fees and/or technical expertise directly related to the funded project (e.g., communications professionals, lawyers, Aboriginal elders, etc.)

Fees not related to the funded project

Faculty remunerations

Actual costs to the institution for release time from teaching duties (e.g., the cost of hiring a sessional instructor for course release may be counted).

Payment to the grantee as consulting fees or honoria (additional to his or her salary)

Partner remunerations

Salary and benefits of partner institution employees (not host institution employees) when they undertake activities related directly to the project

Overhead on salary and benefits of partner institution employees

Travel and subsistence costs

Reasonable out-of-pocket expenses for work that is directly dedicated to the funded project

Use of air mile points to pay for travel

Reasonable conference travel costs related to the funded project

Conference registration fees; or a proportion of these fees if only part of the conference focuses on issues or topics related to the project

Costs to cover conference fees, travel, hotels, food, etc, to attend events, meetings, etc. that are unrelated to issues or topics related to the project

Equipment, materials and supplies
(E.g., computer and electronic communications)

Donated used equipment, material and supplies, at:

  • fair market value
  • company book value

Donated new equipment, material and supplies, at:

  • selling price to most favoured customer (if stock item)
  • cost of manufacture (if one of a kind)

Loaned equipment, material and supplies, based on:

  • rental equivalent based on depreciation
  • rental equivalent to highest-volume rate

Equipment, material and supplies at list price or discounted list price

Rental equivalents exceeding accepted values had the equipment been donated or sold

Development costs

Software, new technologies and databases

Cost of purchasing licenses needed for the project, if not already provided by the institution

Development cost of new technologies related to the project

Access to unique databases

Costs of collecting and archiving data where:

  • the data are critical to the success of the project;
  • there is a commitment to archive the data, once suitably cleaned, in a public database within a reasonable time following the completion of the project; and
  • the database remains in the public domain

Development costs of new software and new technologies that go well outside the scope of the project

See the Canada Foundation for Innovation for funding opportunities that may be applicable in the development of these kinds of tools

Dissemination of results

Preparation of materials (e.g., digital media) for mass and other audiences

Organization of a workshop, seminar, roundtable, conference or public lecture that relates directly to the research project or other funded activities

 

Use of facilities

Donated meeting rooms, space or facilities for which a fee is usually charged

Donated additional office space that may be at the partner’s site or at the academic institution, as long as the office space is over and above what is provided to the applicant as part of his or her regular employment conditions (e.g., additional office space required to accommodate students, international collaborators, etc., who are contributing to the initiative)

Rental costs for specialized equipment needed at events

Note: The value of donated meeting rooms should be calculated at the rates normally charged to staff, and not at rates charged to non-university clients.

 




Top

Expected Contributions for Partnership Development Grants and Partnership Grants

Successful Partnership Development Grants and Partnership Grants proposals will be funded through a combination of funding from SSHRC, the host institution, partners and, in some cases, individual collaborators.

1. Partnership Development Grants—Require a plan demonstrating partner contributions

Applicants are expected to include with their proposal a plan outlining partner contributions in the form of cash and/or in-kind support. In the plan, applicants will identify confirmed partner contributions and any contributions that are expected to be confirmed during the life of the grant (one to three years).

2. Partnership Grants—Require a plan with a minimum 35 per cent contribution above and beyond SSHRC funding

Stage 1—Letter of Intent: Applicants at the letter of intent stage are expected to include a proposed plan to secure, over and above the budget requested from SSHRC, a minimum of 35 per cent in additional resources from sources other than SSHRC during the life of the grant (four to seven years).

Stage 2—Formal Application: Applicants invited to submit a formal application are required to demonstrate that they have already begun to confirm the 35 per cent minimum additional cash and/or in-kind contributions, and to indicate how they will secure the remaining resources during the life of the grant.



Top

Contact Information

Please address questions about these guidelines to the program officer responsible for the funding opportunity to which you are applying (see the Contact Information section at the end of your funding opportunity description).

Lignes directrices pour les contributions en espèces ou en nature

Ces lignes directrices présentent un aperçu des contributions en espèces ou en nature admissibles et non admissibles que l’on peut indiquer dans les demandes présentées au CRSH.

Les candidats à une subvention du CRSH peuvent financer leur projet en obtenant des fonds complémentaires d’autres sources.

Pour les subventions de développement de partenariat et les subventions de partenariat, il est nécessaire d’obtenir une contribution en espèces ou en nature auprès de partenaires et de l’établissement d’accueil. Cette contribution montre la collaboration et l’engagement significatifs de ces partenaires et de l’établissement d’accueil.

Pour la plupart des autres occasions de financement, les candidats peuvent indiquer d’autres sources de soutien en espèces ou en nature pour leurs travaux de recherche ou des activités connexes, mais cela n’est pas obligatoire.




Top

Contributions admissibles

Contributions en espèces admissibles

Les contributions en espèces admissibles comprennent les dépenses qui sont réalisées pour payer les coûts directs de la recherche qui servent expressément à atteindre les objectifs pour lesquels la subvention a été attribuée. Veuillez consulter la section Utilisation des subventions du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes obtenir la liste et la description des dépenses et des activités que le CRSH considère comme des coûts directs de la recherche.

Le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes sert en général de référence pour déterminer les contributions en espèces admissibles des partenaires.

Remarque : Bien que les salaires du personnel enseignant y figurent comme des dépenses non admissibles, le CRSH fera une exception à cette règle pour les chaires de partenariat. Les Lignes directrices concernant les chaires de partenariat donnent des renseignements détaillés sur les contributions prévues.

Pour toutes les autres demandes de subvention de partenariat, la rémunération du personnel enseignant participant au projet ne peut pas servir au calcul de la contribution minimale de 35 p. 100 en sus du financement du CRSH. Toutefois, le coût qui est réellement associé au fait de libérer un professeur de ses tâches d’enseignement pour lui permettre de participer au partenariat et de l’administrer est une contribution admissible et peut servir au calcul de la contribution minimale de 35 p. 100 – par exemple la prise en compte du coût d’embauche d’un chargé de cours à temps partiel pour la libération des tâches d’enseignement.

Contributions en nature admissibles

Les contributions en nature admissible comprennent les ressources non pécuniaires admissibles que les partenaires et l’établissement du détenteur de la subvention fournissent pour soutenir le projet. Bien que les contributions en espèces admissibles soient généralement celles énoncées dans le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes, le CRSH prendra en considération d’autres contributions essentielles à la réalisation du projet.

Remarque : Veuillez consulter un agent de programme du CRSH à partir des coordonnées figurant ci-dessous avant d’inclure toute contribution en nature ne répondant pas aux critères du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.

Les contributions en nature jugées essentielles à la recherche et aux activités connexes pourraient prendre la forme de biens ou de services équivalents qui faudrait acheter avec les fonds du projet en l’absence de dons. Les contributions en nature peuvent également inclure le temps que certaines personnes (non-professeurs) au sein des organismes partenaires (p. ex. des experts d’un domaine particulier) consacrent à orienter le projet et à y participer. Dans certains cas, les partenaires peuvent fournir des compétences et des conseils spécialisés ou l’accès à des appareils spéciaux, à des locaux, à des ensembles de données, etc.



Top

Sources des contributions admissibles en espèces ou en nature

Exemples des sources de contributions admissibles en espèces ou en nature provenant du Canada ou de l'étranger :

  • établissement d’accueil;
  • autres établissements et organismes d’enseignement (universités, centres de recherche, collèges, etc.)
  • organisations caritatives et fonds en fiducie;
  • ministères et organismes fédéraux;
  • ministères et organismes provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux;
  • sociétés d’État;
  • entreprises et sociétés du secteur privé;
  • organismes communautaires et à but non lucratif;
  • associations professionnelles;
  • organisations syndicales;
  • particuliers.

Si l’obtention de ressources constitue une exigence de la subvention, le CRSH se réserve le droit de prendre la décision définitive quant à l’admissibilité et à la valeur des contributions en espèces ou en nature, de refuser certaines dépenses et, au besoin, de réduire le financement qui lui est demandé.


Top

Exclusions

Les fonds de subvention reçus de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation (FCI), des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG), du CRSH et des programmes des trois organismes subventionnaires (p. ex. les Réseaux de centres d’excellence et les programmes connexes, le Programme des chaires de recherche du Canada, le Programme des chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada et le Programme des coûts indirects) ne peuvent pas faire partie des contributions requises. Pour les subventions de partenariat et les subventions de développement de partenariat, le CRSH permettra aux partenaires non admissibles de payer certaines dépenses admissibles. Toutefois, en ce qui a trait aux subventions de partenariat, les contributions de partenaires non admissibles ne peuvent pas servir au calcul de la contribution minimale de 35 p. 100 en sus du financement du CRSH.

La contribution d’un partenaire qui a déjà été utilisée en partie ou en totalité pour soutenir un autre projet financé par les IRSC, le CRSNG, le CRSH ou tout programme des trois organismes subventionnaires sera jugée non admissible en tant que contribution d’un partenaire à un projet de partenariat financé par le CRSH.



Top

Dispositions relatives au cumul du financement public

Le plafond—ou la limite du cumul—de l’aide gouvernementale totale (l’aide fédérale, provinciale et municipale pour les mêmes dépenses admissibles) consentie ne dépassera pas 100 p. 100 des dépenses admissibles. Si l'aide gouvernementale totale fournie à un bénéficiaire est supérieure à la limite du cumul, le CRSH ramènera l’aide à un niveau ne dépassant pas cette limite et s’assurera qu’il n’existe aucun chevauchement du financement.

Lorsqu’un détenteur de subvention réussit à obtenir d'autres fonds, que ce soit de sources gouvernementales ou non gouvernementales, les fonds supplémentaires ne remplacent pas la subvention attribuée par le CRSH. Le détenteur de la subvention est encouragé à utiliser les fonds supplémentaires afin d'accroître la portée ou d'accélérer la réalisation des objectifs globaux de son projet en élargissant son programme de recherche et ses activités visant la culture du talent, en multipliant ses activités de mobilisation des connaissances ou en menant d’autres activités au profit du milieu de la recherche et de la société.



Top

Évaluation des contributions en nature admissibles

Le CHRS reconnaîtra les contributions en nature à la juste valeur du marché. La « juste valeur du marché » désigne le prix convenu dans le cadre d’un marché ouvert et sans restrictions entre des parties averties, consentantes, sans lien de dépendance et pleinement informées. La juste valeur marchande est le prix qu’un établissement serait censé payer en de telles circonstances après remises normales et pour établissements d’enseignement.

Les établissements sont responsables de s’assurer que la juste valeur marchande indiquée pour tous les éléments liés à une contribution en nature est raisonnable.

Pour aider les candidats et les partenaires à déterminer les contributions en nature admissibles, veuillez consulter le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes à titre indicatif de même que la liste ci-dessous. Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive. Les candidats peuvent communiquer avec le personnel des programmes du CRSH (dont les coordonnées se trouvent à la fin de la description de l’occasion de financement) pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les contributions en nature.



Top

Exemples de contribution en espèces ou en nature

Catégorie Admissibles Non admissibles
Salaires

Coût réel des salaires (jusqu’à concurrence de 80 $ de l’heure ou plus moyennant justification) afin d’embaucher des experts pour qu’ils participent directement au projet

Portion du salaire d’un chargé de projet ou d’un employé de soutien à la recherche s’acquittant de tâches spécifiques au projet

Honoraires d’experts-conseils versés au chercheur principal (en sus de son salaire)

Frais généraux ou tarifs des services externes ou des experts-conseils

Salaires et coûts du personnel de soutien administratif

Salaires et frais relatifs aux activités de gestion sans lien direct avec le projet

Contrats de services professionnels et techniques Honoraires d’experts-conseils ou d’experts techniques liés directement au projet financé (p. ex. professionnels des communications, avocats, aînés autochtones, etc.) Frais sans lien avec le projet financé
Rémunération du personnel enseignant Coûts réels associés au fait de libérer un professeur de ses tâches d’enseignement – p. ex. prise en compte du coût d’embauche d’un chargé de cours à temps partiel pour la libération des tâches d’enseignement. Honoraires d’experts-conseils versés au détenteur de la subvention (en sus de son salaire)
Rémunération des partenaires

Salaires et avantages des employés des établissements partenaires (et non des employés de l’établissement d’accueil) lorsqu’ils font des activités liées directement au projet

Frais généraux liés aux salaires et aux avantages des employés des établissements partenaires
Frais de déplacement et de subsistance Menues dépenses raisonnables engagées pour faire du travail en lien direct avec le projet financé Utilisation de points de millage aérien pour voyager Frais de déplacement raisonnables pour assister à des conférences liées au projet financé Droits d’inscription à des conférences ou une portion de ces frais si seulement une partie de la conférence traite de questions ou de sujets liés au projet Dépenses pour couvrir les droits d’inscription à la conférence, les déplacements, l’hébergement à l’hôtel, les repas, etc., pour assister à des événements, à des réunions ou autres sans lien direct avec les questions ou les sujets dont traite le projet

Équipement, matériel et fournitures

(p. ex. communications informatiques et électroniques)

Équipement, matériel et fournitures donnés (usagés) :

  • à la juste valeur du marché
  • à la valeur comptable de l’entreprise

Équipement, matériel et fournitures donnés (neufs) :

  • au prix de vente au client le plus privilégié (si l’article est en stock)
  • au coût de fabrication (si l’article est unique)

Équipement, matériel et fournitures loués selon :

  • l’équivalent de location fondé sur la dépréciation
  • l’équivalent de location selon le taux du volume le plus élevé
Équipement, matériel et fournitures au prix courant ou au prix courant réduit Équivalents de location excédant les valeurs acceptées si l’équipement avait été donné ou vendu Frais de développement
Logiciels, nouvelles technologies et bases de données

Frais d’achat des licences requises pour le projet si l’établissement ne les fournit pas déjà

Frais de développement de nouvelles technologies pour le projet

Accès à des bases de données uniques

Coûts de collecte et d’archivage des données lorsque :

  • les données sont impératives à la réussite du projet;
  • il y a un engagement d’archiver les données, une fois convenablement épurées, dans une base de données publique à l’intérieur d’un délai raisonnable suivant l’achèvement du projet;
  • la base de données reste du domaine public.

Frais de développement de nouveaux logiciels et de nouvelles technologies dépassant de loin la portée du projet

 

Consulter le site Web de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation pour vous renseigner sur les occasions de financement susceptibles de s’appliquer au développement de ce type d’outils

Diffusion des résultats

Préparation de documents (p. ex. pour les medias numériques) pour des publics de masse et autres

Organisation d’un atelier, d’un séminaire, d’une table ronde ou d’une conférence publique ayant un lien direct avec le projet de recherche ou d’autres activités financées

 
Utilisation des installations

Utilisation gratuite habituellement payante de salles de réunion, de locaux ou d’installations

Utilisation gratuite d’autres locaux pouvant se trouver chez le partenaire ou dans un établissement d’enseignement à condition que ces locaux soient en sus de ceux qui sont fournis au candidat dans le cadre de ses conditions normales d’emploi (p. ex. des locaux à bureaux additionnels nécessaires pour recevoir des étudiants, des collaborateurs de l’étranger, etc., qui contribuent à l’initiative)

Frais de location pour des dispositifs spécialisé requis lors d’événements

Remarque : La valeur des salles de réunion utilisées gratuitement devrait être calculée au taux facturé au personnel, et non pas à celui demandé aux clients non universitaires.

 



Top

Contributions prévues pour les subventions de développement de partenariat et les subventions de partenariat

Les demandes de subvention de développement de partenariat et de subvention de partenariat retenues seront financées par des fonds provenant du CRSH, de l’établissement d’accueil, de partenaires et, dans certains cas, de collaborateurs indépendants.

1. Subvention de développement de partenariat : nécessite un plan précisant les contributions des partenaires

Les candidats doivent joindre à leur proposition un plan décrivant les contributions en espèces ou en nature des partenaires. Dans ce plan, les candidats préciseront les contributions confirmées des partenaires et toute contribution censée être confirmée durant la période de la subvention (un à trois ans).

2. Subvention de partenariat : nécessite un plan avec une contribution d’au moins 35 p. 100 en sus du financement du CRSH

Étape 1 : lettre d’intention : Les candidats doivent, à l’étape de la lettre d’intention, proposer un plan pour obtenir au moins 35 p. 100 de ressources en sus du budget demandé au CRSH auprès d’autres sources durant la période de la subvention (de quatre à sept ans).

Étape 2 : demande détaillée : Les candidats invités à présenter une demande détaillée doivent prouver qu’ils cherchent déjà à confirmer l’obtention de contributions d’au moins 35 p. 100 en espèces ou en nature additionnelles. Ils doivent aussi indiquer la façon dont ils obtiendront ces ressources supplémentaires durant la période de la subvention.



Top

Coordonnées

Veuillez adresser toute question sur les présentes lignes directrices à l’agent de programme responsable de l’occasion de financement pour laquelle vous présentez une demande. Veuillez consulter la section sur les personnes-ressources, qui se trouve à la fin de la description de l’occasion de financement.