What’s in an application?—SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships

Note: Your application cannot be submitted without all supporting documentation.

Applicants requiring assistance while preparing their application are encouraged to communicate with SSHRC’s Research Training Portfolio well in advance of the application deadline.

A completed application should address all evaluation criteria presented in the funding opportunity description.

The SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships "Application Profile" section consists of the following subsections:

  • Application title;
  • Preferred adjudication committee;
  • Supplement (if applicable);
  • Joint or special initiatives (if applicable);
  • Does your proposal involve Indigenous research as defined by SSHRC?;
  • Do you hold a teaching appointment? (see section 3, Non-Tenure Appointment Letter, if applicable); and
  • Applicant (applicant information listed here is shared with the SSHRC online CV discussed below, although a different affiliation can be entered here if necessary).

Complete the online SSHRC CV and ensure that all information is accurate and up to date.

If you hold a teaching appointment of any kind, you must upload to your application a letter from a university official confirming that you do not hold a tenure or tenure-track position (i.e., a permanent faculty position, or a faculty position leading to permanency). A scanned copy of your contract will also be accepted.

Note: Teaching appointment letters and contracts are not shared with the selection committee.

You must upload a copy of your program of work to your application. Your application will be reviewed by members of a multidisciplinary selection committee, not all of whom will be familiar with your area of research. Avoid discipline-specific jargon, acronyms and highly technical terms.

You must also ensure that your program of work includes the following:

  • State the title and subject of your doctoral thesis and discuss the relationship of your doctoral thesis to your proposed research. If the two areas of research are closely related, explain how your proposed research will develop or expand your thesis. If the areas of research are not related, describe your proposed area of research.
  • Outline your plans for achieving your research objectives. Clearly describe your theoretical approach, your methodology, and how your proposed research will contribute to the advancement of knowledge.
  • Justify your choice of the proposed university or research institution based on the purpose of the fellowship and its related activities.
  • If applicable, indicate any other organizations with which you will be affiliated, and provide a justification for this choice. You must clearly identify your primary place of affiliation, and outline how your work at the secondary location(s) of tenure will intersect with and enhance your research at the primary location of tenure.
  • If your proposed research overlaps with areas funded by other granting agencies, justify your submission of this proposal to SSHRC (rather than to the Canadian Institutes of Health Research or the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council), based on the General Guidelines for the Eligibility of Subject Matter at SSHRC. If in doubt about the eligibility of your proposed research, consult SSHRC’s Research Training Portfolio prior to the submission of your application.
  • If your proposal involves Indigenous research, please refer to the "Does your proposal involve Indigenous research as defined by SSHRC?" section of the instructions before preparing your program of work.
  • If your project uses a research-creation approach, indicate clearly the research component of your proposed work. Outline the objectives of your research and its context, methodology and contribution to the advancement of knowledge. Make sure your proposal follows the Guidelines for Research-Creation Support Materials.
  • Do not use footnotes or endnotes in your program of work. Cite items in the bibliography.

You must provide a bibliography for your proposed program of work. The bibliography should provide details for all references included in your program of work document. Ensure that your bibliographic citations are clear and complete, to allow reviewers to locate the sources easily.

If you are proposing to remain at the same university where you received your PhD, use this space to explain this decision.

Note: If you are proposing to affiliate with a different institution than the one where you received your PhD, it is not necessary to provide a Tenure Location Justification page, and it will not be accepted. It will subsequently be removed from the application and will not be submitted to the committee for review.

One of the two letters of appraisal is an external, arm’s-length assessment and must be completed by an acknowledged specialist in your proposed area of research. The other letter must be completed by someone who can comment on your past and potential contribution to research (normally, your PhD supervisor).

In both letters, referees must assess and comment on the following:

Applicant’s track record

  • past and potential contributions to scholarly research; and
  • importance to the discipline of the journals in which the applicant has published, and/or the candidate’s prospects for publication.

Applicant’s program of work

  • originality;
  • significance and feasibility;
  • strengths and weaknesses of the proposed program of work;
  • appropriateness of the proposed institutional affiliation; and
  • applicant’s proficiency in the languages necessary to pursue the program of work (if applicable).

Comments should focus on the proposal, its theoretical framework, the relation of the proposal to the field and the methodology.

The Research Appraisal form must be completed by the proposed research supervisor at the institution where you plan to hold your award.

If you propose to affiliate with more than one institution, please ask the supervisor at the primary location of tenure to complete the research appraisal. Research appraisals from supervisors at secondary host institutions are not required and will not be accepted.

If you intend to be supervised by more than one person at the same institution, you must select one supervisor who will be responsible for completing this form.

The research supervisor must describe:

  • how your project relates to the research interests and strengths of the proposed department;
  • how they will serve as a mentor; and
  • what you will be able to offer as a research fellow.

Note: If you intend to be supervised by more than one person, you must select one supervisor who will be responsible for completing this form. You may provide information about the additional supervisor in your program of work.

The Institutional Nomination and Commitment form must be completed by the head of the department or their designate at your proposed institution of affiliation.

If you propose to affiliate with more than one institution, the department head (or designate) at the primary location of tenure should complete the Institutional Nomination and Commitment form. Secondary host institutions do not have to complete this form; only the form from your primary location of tenure will be accepted. If a form from a secondary host institution is provided, it will not be accepted.

Host institutions will be asked to outline how they will support effective research training and career development for the applicant, based on SSHRC’s Guidelines for Effective Research Training.

SSHRC asks its selection committees to take into consideration special circumstances that may have affected candidates’ research, professional career, record of academic or research achievement, or completion of degrees. Relevant circumstances might include administrative responsibilities, maternity/parental leave, child-rearing, illness, disability, cultural or community responsibilities, socio-economic context, or health-related family responsibilities. Please specify the dates for any delays or interruptions.

As part of the Indigenous Talent Measures, Indigenous applicants are encouraged to use the “Allowable Inclusions” section of their application form to describe special circumstances that may have had an impact on their academic or career paths.

Note: Applicants who completed their doctorate between September 2014 and September 2017 must describe in this section the career interruptions or delays experienced since completion of their doctorate.

Applicants who completed their doctorate after September 2017 may also choose to describe relevant career interruptions or delays, should they wish.

You must upload a document listing your research contributions. Provide details, as appropriate, on the contributions you listed, as follows:

  • In the left margin, identify refereed publications with an “R.” A refereed work is assessed:
    • in its entirety—not merely an abstract or extract;
    • before publication; and
    • by appropriately independent, anonymous, qualified experts. (“Independent” in this context means at arm’s length from the author.)
  • Specify your role in co-authored publications.
  • For published contributions, provide complete bibliographic details (including co-authors, title, publisher, journal, volume, date of publication, page numbers, number of pages, etc.) as they appear in the original publication.
  • For publications in languages other than French or English, provide a translation of the title and the name of the publication.

Group your contributions by category in the following order, listing your most recent contributions first:

Refereed contributions

Examples include books (where applicable, subdivide according to those that are single-authored, co-authored and edited works), monographs, book chapters, articles in scholarly refereed journals, conference proceedings, etc.

Other refereed contributions

Examples include papers presented at scholarly meetings or conferences, articles in professional or trade journals, etc.

Non-refereed contributions

Examples include book reviews, published reviews of your work, research reports, policy papers, public lectures, etc.

Forthcoming contributions

Indicate one of the following statuses—“submitted,” “revised and submitted,” “accepted” or “in press.” Provide the name of the journal or book publisher and the number of pages. Contributions not yet submitted should not be listed.

Creative outputs

Applicants whose research outputs include an artistic creation may list their most recent and significant achievements, starting with the most recent, in a separate category: “Creative outputs.” This category may be followed by the categories shown above, as appropriate. Examples of creative outputs may include exhibitions, performances, publications, presentations, film, video, audio recordings, etc.

Note: In the context of Indigenous research and as per the Guidelines for the Merit Review of Indigenous Research, other contributions can be listed within current or additional categories.

If you wish to be considered for a supplement and/or joint or special initiative, and meet the eligibility criteria, you must select the supplement and/or joint or special initiative from the drop-down menu in the "Application Profile" section of the application form. Please provide a maximum one-page justification, or other required information or form, per supplement and/or joint or special initiative selected, as outlined in the "Supplement Justification" and "Specific Requirements for Joint or Special Initiatives" sections of the instructions. Information on supplements and joint or special initiatives is available on SSHRC's Talent program page.

Date modified:

En quoi consiste une demande de bourse postdoctorale?

Remarque : vous ne pouvez pas présenter votre candidature sans l’accompagner de tous les documents d’appui exigés.

Les candidats qui ont besoin d’aide pour préparer leur demande doivent communiquer avec le personnel du Portefeuille de la formation en recherche du CRSH bien avant la date limite fixée pour la présentation des demandes.

Une demande complète doit respecter tous les critères d’évaluation mentionnés dans la description de l’occasion de financement.

La section « Profil de la demande » du formulaire de demande de bourse postdoctorale du CRSH comprend les sous-sections suivantes :

  • Titre de la demande
  • Comité de sélection préféré
  • Supplément (le cas échéant)
  • Initiative conjointe ou spéciale (le cas échéant)
  • Votre proposition est-elle liée à la recherche autochtone telle que le CRSH la définit?
  • Occupez-vous un poste universitaire? (voir la section 3 ci-dessous intitulée Lettre confirmant que vous n'occupez pas un poste permanent ou un poste menant à la permanence, s’il y a lieu)
  • Candidat (les renseignements fournis dans cette section sont les mêmes que ceux qui figurent dans le CV Web du CRSH; toutefois, une affiliation différente peut être inscrite dans cette section, au besoin)

Veuillez remplir le CV Web du CRSH et vous assurer que tous les renseignements qu’il contient sont exacts et à jour.

Si vous occupez un poste universitaire, quel qu’il soit, vous devez télécharger dans votre demande une lettre d’un responsable de votre université confirmant que vous n’occupez pas un poste permanent ou un poste menant à la permanence. Le CRSH accepte aussi de recevoir une copie numérisée de votre contrat.

Remarque : la lettre ou le contrat ne sont pas transmis aux membres du comité de sélection.

Vous devez télécharger une copie de votre programme de travail dans votre demande. Votre demande sera évaluée par les membres d’un comité de sélection multidisciplinaire dont tous ne connaîtront pas forcément bien votre domaine de recherche. Évitez donc l’emploi de jargon, d’acronymes et de termes techniques spécifiques à votre discipline.

Assurez-vous que votre programme de travail contient les éléments énumérés ci-dessous.

  • Indiquez le titre et le sujet de votre thèse de doctorat et démontrez en quoi celle-ci est liée à la recherche postdoctorale que vous proposez. Si les domaines de votre thèse et de votre recherche sont étroitement liés, votre programme de travail doit clairement expliquer comment la thèse sera développée ou élargie; si les domaines de recherche n’ont pas de lien entre eux, vous devez indiquer le domaine de la recherche proposée.
  • Expliquez comment vous prévoyez atteindre vos objectifs de recherche. Vous devez décrire clairement votre approche théorique et la méthodologie que vous utiliserez et montrer comment la recherche proposée contribuera à l’avancement des connaissances.
  • Donnez les raisons qui motivent l’université ou l'établissement de recherche que vous choisissez en fonction de l’objectif de la bourse et des activités connexes.
  • S’il y a lieu, indiquez tout autre organisme avec lequel vous serez affilié et expliquer les raisons justifiant votre choix. Vous devez indiquer clairement le lieu principal d’utilisation de la bourse et expliquer en quoi le travail que vous accomplirez dans le ou les lieux secondaires d’utilisation de la bourse sera lié aux travaux de recherche menés dans le lieu principal et comment il contribuera à l’approfondir.
  • Si votre projet de recherche relève du mandat de plus d'un organisme subventionnaire, expliquez pourquoi vous soumettez cette demande au CRSH (plutôt qu'aux Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada ou au Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie) en vous basant sur les lignes directrices générales pour déterminer l’admissibilité d’un sujet de recherche aux programmes du CRSH. Si vous n’êtes pas certain de l’admissibilité de votre projet de recherche, veuillez consulter le Portefeuille de la formation en recherche avant de présenter votre demande.
  • Si votre projet est lié à la recherche autochtone, consultez la section « Votre proposition est-elle liée à la recherche autochtone telle que le CRSH la définit? » des instructions avant de préparer votre programme de travail.
  • Si votre projet emploie une approche de recherche-création, détaillez clairement le volet recherche. Vous devez décrire les objectifs de votre recherche, son contexte, la méthodologie utilisée et sa contribution à l’avancement des connaissances. Assurez-vous de suivre les lignes directrices concernant les documents d’appui liés à la recherche-création.
  • N’utilisez pas de notes de bas de page et de notes de fin de texte dans votre programme de travail. Tous les éléments cités doivent paraître dans la bibliographie.

Vous devez fournir une bibliographie pour votre programme de travail. Celle-ci doit fournir des détails concernant toutes les références incluses dans votre programme de travail. Assurez-vous que vos références bibliographiques soient claires et complètes afin que les membres du comité de sélection puissent trouver facilement les sources.

S’il y a lieu, expliquez les raisons pour lesquelles vous proposez de demeurer à l’établissement où vous avez obtenu votre diplôme de doctorat.

Remarque : si vous proposez une affiliation avec un établissement qui n’est pas celui où vous avez obtenu votre diplôme de doctorat, vous n’êtes pas requis de remplir la page « Justification du lieu d’utilisation », car celle-ci ne sera pas acceptée. Elle sera retirée de votre demande et, par conséquent, ne sera pas transmise au comité de sélection.

L’une des lettres représente une évaluation externe et indépendante et doit être rédigée par un spécialiste de votre domaine de recherche. L'autre lettre doit être rédigée par une personne qui peut se prononcer sur votre contribution à la recherche – aussi bien antérieure qu'à venir (habituellement le directeur de votre thèse de doctorat).

Dans les deux lettres, les répondants doivent évaluer les aspects suivants :

Dossier de réalisations

  • Réalisations scientifiques passées ou potentielles du candidat
  • Importance pour la discipline du type de revues dans lesquelles le candidat a été publié ou potentiel de publication du candidat

Programme de travail du candidat

  • Originalité
  • Importance et faisabilité
  • Forces et faiblesses du programme de travail proposé
  • Bien-fondé du choix de l’établissement d’affiliation
  • Maîtrise que possède le candidat des langues dont il aura besoin pour effectuer sa recherche, au besoin

Les commentaires doivent porter sur la proposition, son cadre théorique, ses liens avec la discipline et sa méthodologie.

Le formulaire d’appréciation de la recherche doit être rempli par le superviseur de l’établissement où vous comptez utiliser votre bourse.

Si vous proposez de vous affilier à plus d’un organisme, demandez au directeur de recherche de votre principal lieu d’utilisation de la bourse d’effectuer l’appréciation de la recherche. Les appréciations effectuées par les directeurs de recherche des lieux secondaires d’utilisation de la bourse ne sont nécessaires et ne seront pas acceptées.

Si vous prévoyez vous faire superviser par plus d’une personne au sein du même établissement, vous devez choisir quel superviseur est responsable de remplir le formulaire.

Le superviseur doit décrire :

  • en quoi votre projet est lié aux intérêts de recherche et aux points forts du département que vous proposez;
  • son rôle de mentor auprès de vous;
  • l’aide que vous pourrez offrir en tant que chercheur universitaire.

Remarque : si vous prévoyez vous faire superviser par plus d’une personne, vous devez choisir un superviseur responsable de remplir le formulaire. Toutefois, vous pouvez fournir des renseignements sur votre second superviseur dans votre programme de travail.

Le formulaire de mise en candidature par l'établissement et d’engagement doit être rempli par le directeur du département ou la personne désignée de l’établissement auquel vous serez affilié.

Si vous proposez de vous affilier à plus d’un organisme, le directeur du département de votre établissement principal (ou la personne qu’il désigne) devrait remplir le formulaire Mise en candidature par l'établissement et engagement. Les directeurs de département des lieux secondaires d’utilisation de la bourse n’ont pas à remplir ce formulaire, car seul le formulaire présenté par votre principal lieu d’utilisation de la bourse est accepté. Le formulaire d’un lieu secondaire d’utilisation de la bourse ne sera pas accepté.

Le CRSH demande aux établissements d’accueil d’indiquer comment ils favorisent une formation en recherche et un perfectionnement professionnel efficaces pour le candidat, conformément aux lignes directrices liées à une formation en recherche efficace.

Le CRSH demande à ses comités de sélection de tenir compte des circonstances spéciales qui peuvent avoir retardé la carrière professionnelle, la carrière de chercheur, le dossier des réalisations universitaires, le dossier des réalisations en recherche ou l’obtention du diplôme des candidats. Les circonstances spéciales peuvent correspondre à des responsabilités administratives, culturelles ou communautaires, à un congé de maternité ou à un congé parental, à l’éducation d’un enfant, à une maladie, à un handicap, au contexte socioéconomique ou à des obligations familiales liées à des soins de santé. Veuillez préciser les dates du retard ou de l’interruption.

Dans le cadre des mesures favorisant l’épanouissement du talent autochtone, le CRSH encourage les candidats autochtones à se servir de la section « Pièces jointes admissibles » de leur demande pour décrire les circonstances spéciales qui peuvent avoir eu une incidence sur leur parcours universitaire ou professionnel.

Remarque : les candidats qui ont satisfait aux exigences de leur programme de doctorat entre septembre 2014 et septembre 2017 doivent préciser, dans cette section de la demande, les interruptions ou les retards qu’ils ont connus dans leur carrière depuis la fin de leur programme de doctorat.

S’ils le désirent, les candidats qui ont satisfait aux exigences de leur programme de doctorat après septembre 2017 peuvent également préciser les interruptions ou les retards dans leur carrière.

Vous devez télécharger un document présentant vos contributions à la recherche. Fournissez les renseignements suivants, selon le cas, concernant vos contributions :

  • dans la marge de gauche, indiquez par la lettre « R » les publications soumises à un comité de lecture. L’expression « soumise à un comité de lecture » signifie que la publication a été évaluée :
    • dans son intégralité (et non uniquement le résumé ou un extrait);
    • avant son impression;
    • par des experts qualifiés, indépendants et anonymes (dans ce contexte, indépendants signifie « sans lien de dépendance avec l’auteur »);
  • précisez le rôle que vous avez joué dans toute publication avec des coauteurs;
  • dans le cas des contributions publiées, donnez des détails bibliographiques complets (y compris le nom des coauteurs, le titre, le nom de la maison d’édition, le titre de la revue, le numéro de volume, la date de publication, la numérotation et le nombre de pages), tels qu’ils apparaissent dans la publication originale;
  • donnez la traduction des titres des publications qui sont dans une autre langue que l’anglais ou le français et précisez le nom de la publication.

Regroupez les contributions par catégorie en respectant l'ordre des rubriques ci-dessous. Commencez par les plus récentes.

Publications soumises à des comités de lecture

Cela comprend notamment des livres (s'il y a lieu, regroupez votre liste selon les ouvrages dont vous êtes l'auteur unique, les ouvrages dont vous êtes coauteur et les ouvrages révisés), des monographies, des chapitres de livres, des articles, des actes de conférences, etc.

Autres contributions soumises à des comités de lecture

Cela comprend notamment des présentations faites à des conférences ou à des colloques savants, des articles publiés dans les revues professionnelles ou spécialisées, etc.

Contributions non soumises à des comités de lecture

Cela comprend notamment des critiques de livres, des critiques publiées portant sur vos travaux, des rapports de recherche, des documents d'orientation, des conférences publiques, etc.

Contributions à venir

Indiquez l’un des statuts suivants : « soumis », « examiné et soumis », « accepté » ou « sous presse ». Indiquez également le nom de la revue ou de la maison d'édition ainsi que le nombre de pages. Les contributions n’étant pas encore soumises ne devraient pas être indiquées.

Créations artistiques

Les candidats dont les réalisations de recherche comprennent des créations artistiques peuvent énumérer les plus importantes, en commençant par la plus récente, dans une catégorie distincte : « Créations artistiques ». Cette catégorie peut être suivie des catégories mentionnées ci-dessus, s'il y a lieu. Il peut s’agir notamment d’expositions, de spectacles, de publications, de présentations, de films, de vidéos et d’enregistrements sonores.

Remarque : conformément aux Lignes directrices pour l’évaluation du mérite de la recherche autochtone, d’autres contributions peuvent, dans le contexte de la recherche autochtone, être incluses dans les catégories susmentionnées ou dans de nouvelles.

Si vous souhaitez que votre demande soit prise en considération pour un supplément ou une initiative conjointe ou spéciale et que vous répondez aux critères d'admissibilité, vous devez sélectionner le supplément ou l’initiative conjointe ou spéciale approprié dans le menu déroulant de la section « Profil de la demande » du formulaire de demande. Veuillez joindre à votre demande une justification d’une page maximum pour chaque supplément ou initiative conjointe ou spéciale sélectionné ou tout autre renseignement ou formulaire requis, comme cela est indiqué dans les sections « Justification des suppléments » et « Exigences particulières pour les initiatives conjointes ou spéciales » des instructions. Les détails concernant les suppléments et les initiatives conjointes ou spéciales sont disponibles dans la description du programme Talent qui est affichée dans le site Web du CRSH.

Date de modification :