Frequently Asked Questions—SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships

For the latest and most up-to-date information regarding the SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships funding opportunity, including any Upcoming Deadlines, please see the funding opportunity description.


  1. Is my proposed research eligible for SSHRC funding?
  2. Where can I find information on how SSHRC supports Indigenous research and researchers?
  3. Is it possible to hold a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship if I have already held a Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship?
  4. With which institution should I affiliate?
  5. Can I apply if I wish to hold my SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship at the same university that awarded my PhD?
  6. How do I affiliate with an institution?
  7. Can I affiliate with two institutions or have more than one supervisor?
  8. Will I need to reside in the vicinity of the institution with which I am affiliated?
  9. What constitutes a “completed” PhD?
  10. Can I submit an application if I am missing one of my appraisal letters?
  11. What constitutes a teaching appointment, and what type of letter does SSHRC require from my university regarding my appointment?
  12. Should my conference presentation be listed as a refereed or non-refereed contribution?
  13. Can I include a publication in my bibliography and citations if it has been accepted for publication, but has not yet been published?
  14. What do I put in the Funded Research section?
  15. Do I need to send you my transcripts?
  16. Does SSHRC offer other funding opportunities that may be of interest to postdoctoral researchers?
  17. If for any reason I am unable to submit my application in time for the deadline, will I be able to submit it at a later time?
  18. My application is complete! Why can’t I submit?
  19. Can I update my application after I have submitted it?
  20. Who evaluates the applications?
  21. On what criteria will my application be evaluated?
  22. Can I receive feedback from the committee about my score?
  23. Whom can I contact for help if my question is not answered by these FAQs?


Submission process

1. Is my proposed research eligible for SSHRC funding?

We advise you to review the subject matter eligibility guidelines (particularly related to health and psychology research) to ensure that you are applying to the appropriate agency. If upon reviewing the guidelines you are still unsure, you may submit a one-page summary of your program of work to fellowships@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca to enable SSHRC staff to provide a preliminary assessment of its eligibility. Your summary should provide an outline of your research question, context, objectives, methodology and contribution to the advancement of knowledge, and a short justification of why your application is eligible at SSHRC. Please note, however, that a final decision on eligibility can only be made following submission of a full proposal.

2. Where can I find information on how SSHRC supports Indigenous research and researchers?

SSHRC is committed to supporting and promoting research by and with Indigenous Peoples. Please visit the Aboriginal Research page and the Aboriginal Talent Measures page for more information on SSHRC’s commitment and related initiatives.

3. Is it possible to hold a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship if I have already held a Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship?

If you have previously held a Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship, you are not eligible to apply for a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship. However, the reverse could be possible. Please visit other eligibility restrictions on the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships website for more information.

4. With which institution should I affiliate?

Choose the institution that is best suited for your research and your academic career. Both the appropriateness of the institution and the supervisor will be taken into account in the evaluation of your application.

The Consortium of Humanities Centers and Institutes is a great resource, where you can explore the possibility of organizing a residency with one of the consortium’s centres or institutes. Consortium member residencies can help SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship holders strengthen their research, and can provide them with new research training and career development opportunities. For further details, please consult the Eligibility section of the SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships funding opportunity description.

5. Can I apply if I wish to hold my SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship at the same university that awarded my PhD?

Yes, but, as one of the major goals of the fellowship is to develop and expand personal research networks, such circumstances are expected to be rare. If applicable, you should provide a tenure location justification for remaining at the same institution.

6. How do I affiliate with an institution?

Research, contact and negotiate with your proposed supervisor and institution before completing your SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships application. This can be done by telephone, email, visits, etc.

7. Can I affiliate with two institutions or have more than one supervisor?

When completing the application form, you must identify only one place of affiliation and one supervisor. If you propose to affiliate with an additional institution or supervisor, please indicate this in your program of work.

8. Will I need to reside in the vicinity of the institution with which I am affiliated?

SSHRC does not have a residency requirement; however, please keep in mind that among the goals of the fellowship are the development and expansion of personal research networks and the broadening of teaching experience. Your relationship with your institution and supervisor should be consistent with the needs of your project and the goals of the fellowship. You may want to consult the institution of affiliation, as it may have residency requirements.

9. What constitutes a “completed” PhD?

A completed doctoral degree means that you have met all requirements for the degree, including the successful defence and submission of the corrected copy of your doctoral dissertation. The date of completion is the date on which all degree requirements were completed, not the date of graduation.

Should you be awarded a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship, you must, before activating your award, submit official documentation from the university at which you completed your PhD, confirming that you have completed all the degree requirements for your doctoral degree.

10. Can I submit an application if I am missing one of my appraisal letters?

No. All third-party components must be completed and submitted prior to the deadline date before you can submit your application. We suggest verifying that your referees have submitted their letters (and that the letters, therefore, have been uploaded to your application), to ensure your application is complete in advance of the deadline for submission.

Note: Under no circumstances will SSHRC accept any applications or components after the deadline.

11. What constitutes a teaching appointment, and what type of letter does SSHRC require from my university regarding my appointment?

If you are currently teaching any courses at a university, you must upload a letter from a university official confirming that you do not hold a tenure or tenure-track position.

Please note that we will also accept a scanned copy of your contract. Neither the letter nor the contract will be shared with committee members.

12. Should my conference presentation be listed as a refereed or non-refereed contribution?

It can be listed as a refereed contribution only if it meets the criteria for being refereed. Refereed contributions have gone through the merit review process before publication or presentation. A refereed work has been assessed in its entirety (i.e., has not been assessed merely on the basis of an abstract or extract).

13. Can I include a publication in my bibliography and citations if it has been accepted for publication, but has not yet been published?

Yes. You may list accepted publications along with their intended publication date. Please do not list publications that have been submitted but have not yet been accepted for publication.

14. What do I put in the Funded Research section?

The Funded Research section is intended for grants and funding specifically for research, as opposed to general awards, such as scholarships. It is not uncommon for emerging researchers to leave this section blank.

Scholarships, including SSHRC-funded scholarships such as the SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship, should be listed in the Credentials section.

15. Do I need to send you my transcripts?

No. Applications to the SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships funding opportunity do not require transcripts.

16. Does SSHRC offer other funding opportunities that may be of interest to postdoctoral researchers?

To see a complete list of funding opportunities available to postdoctoral researchers through SSHRC, you can use the Funding search tool and select “Postdoctoral researchers” under Type of Applicant.

17. If, for any reason, I am unable to submit my application in time for the deadline, will I be able to submit it at a later time?

No. Under no circumstances will any applications be accepted after the deadline.

Note: SSHRC strongly encourages applicants to submit applications in advance of the deadline date. Typically, there is a very high volume of users in the online system on the last day, which may create delays and put timely submission at risk. Applicants requiring assistance while preparing their application are encouraged to communicate with SSHRC’s Research Training Portfolio well in advance of the application deadline.

18. My application is complete! Why can’t I submit?

A complete application includes all of the required components (including two letters of appraisal, a research appraisal and a completed Institutional Nomination form). If your referees have not completed and uploaded these components, you will not be able to submit. It is your responsibility to encourage your referees to complete their letters well in advance of the deadline, and to ensure that all required application components (including all attachments and letters) have been submitted.

SSHRC’s online application system will not accept applications if it does not recognize the information as valid. Preview and verify each of your pages and address the issues identified by SSHRC’s online system. Note that the online submission system will only accept writing in the “other” field if you have selected “other” from the drop-down list.

19. Can I update my application after I have submitted it?

Once submitted, applications cannot be updated. We do, however, encourage you to update your personal contact information as needed, by emailing fellowships@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.



Top

Selection Process

20. Who evaluates the applications?

Your application will be screened by SSHRC program staff for eligibility. Eligible applications are evaluated by members of a multidisciplinary and bilingual selection committee of academics in an independent merit review process.

21. On what criteria will my application be evaluated?

Your application will be evaluated on the evaluation criteria listed in the SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships funding opportunity description.

22. Can I receive feedback from the committee about my score?

In view of the large number of applications, feedback is not provided. Committee members are not asked to provide written appraisals of individual applications, nor is a record kept of consensus judgments about the strengths or weaknesses of individual applications.

23. Whom can I contact for help if my question is not answered by these FAQs?

For more information about SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowships, contact:
Research Training Portfolio
Email: fellowships@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Tel.: 613-943-7777

For help with technical questions, contact the Helpdesk:

Email: webgrant@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Tel.: 613-995-4273

Questions fréquentes concernant les bourses postdoctorales

Pour obtenir les plus récents renseignements concernant l’occasion de financement liée aux bourses postdoctorales du CRSH, veuillez consulter les prochaines dates limites de présentation des demandes et la description des bourses postdoctorales.


  1. Ma proposition de recherche est-elle admissible à un financement du CRSH?
  2. Où puis-je trouver des renseignements sur la manière dont le CRSH appuie la recherche autochtones et les chercheurs autochtones?
  3. Puis-je obtenir une bourse postdoctorale du CRSH si j’ai reçu une bourse postdoctorale Banting par le passé?
  4. À quel établissement devrais-je m’affilier?
  5. Puis-je présenter une demande de bourse postdoctorale du CRSH si je désire utiliser ma bourse postdoctorale à l’université où j’ai obtenu mon doctorat?
  6. Comment puis-je m’affilier à un établissement?
  7. Puis-je m’affilier à deux établissements ou avoir plus d’un superviseur?
  8. Dois-je résider aux environs de l’établissement auquel je suis affilié?
  9. Qu’est-ce qu’un doctorat achevé?
  10. Puis-je présenter une demande s’il me manque une lettre d’appréciation?
  11. Qu’est-ce qu’un poste universitaire et de quel type de lettre émise par mon université le CRSH a-t-il besoin au sujet de mon poste?
  12. Les présentations de conférence devraient-elles faire partie des contributions soumises à un comité de lecture ou des contributions non soumises à un comité de lecture?
  13. Puis-je inclure, dans ma bibliographie ou mes citations, un ouvrage dont la publication a été acceptée, mais qui n’a pas encore été publié?
  14. Que dois-je inscrire dans la section Recherche financée?
  15. Dois-je transmettre mes relevés de notes?
  16. Le CRSH offre-t-il d’autres occasions de financement intéressantes pour les chercheurs postdoctoraux?
  17. Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, je suis incapable de présenter ma demande avant la date limite, pourrai-je le faire plus tard?
  18. Ma demande est prête. Pourquoi suis-je incapable de l’envoyer?
  19. Puis-je mettre ma demande à jour après l’avoir envoyée?
  20. Qui évalue les demandes?
  21. Selon quels critères ma demande sera-t-elle évaluée?
  22. Puis-je obtenir des commentaires du comité au sujet du résultat de mon évaluation?
  23. À qui puis-je m’adresser si la réponse à ma questionne figure pas sur cette page?


Processus de soumission des demandes

1. Ma proposition de recherche est-elle admissible à un financement du CRSH?

Nous vous suggérons d’examiner les lignes directrices relatives à l’admissibilité des sujets de recherche (en particulier en ce qui concerne la recherche liée à la santé et à la psychologie) afin de vous assurer que vous présentez votre demande à l’organisme subventionnaire compétent. Si, malgré tout, vous éprouvez toujours des doutes, veuillez nous faire parvenir un résumé d’une page de votre programme de travail par courriel (bourses@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca) afin de permettre au personnel du CRSH d’effectuer une évaluation préliminaire en ce qui a trait à son admissibilité. Ce résumé doit comprendre un aperçu de la question de recherche, du contexte, des objectifs, de la méthodologie et de la contribution à l’avancement des connaissances de votre programme de travail. Vous devez aussi expliquer de façon concise pourquoi il est admissible au financement du CRSH. Toutefois, veuillez noter que nous ne pouvons prendre de décision finale sur l’admissibilité que lorsqu’une proposition complète a été soumise.




2. Où puis-je trouver des renseignements sur la manière dont le CRSH appuie la recherche autochtones et les chercheurs autochtones?

Le CRSH s’engage à appuyer et à promouvoir la recherche menée « par et avec » les peuples autochtones. Pour en savoir plus au sujet de l’engagement du CRSH et des initiatives qu’il offre dans ce domaine, veuillez consulter la page dédiée à la recherche autochtone et les mesures favorisant l’épanouissement du talent autochtone.




3. Puis-je obtenir une bourse postdoctorale du CRSH si j’ai reçu une bourse postdoctorale Banting par le passé?

Si vous avez reçu une bourse postdoctorale Banting par le passé, vous ne pouvez pas présenter une demande de bourse postdoctorale du CRSH. Par contre, l’inverse pourrait être possible. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la section Autres restrictions quant à l'admissibilité qui se trouve dans le site Web du Programme de bourses postdoctorales Banting.




4. À quel établissement devrais-je m’affilier?

Choisissez l’établissement qui correspond le mieux à vos travaux de recherche et à votre carrière universitaire. La pertinence de l’établissement et du directeur seront pris en compte dans l’évaluation de votre demande.

Le Consortium of Humanities Centers and Institutes est une ressource précieuse. Vous pouvez y étudier la possibilité d’organiser un stage avec l’un de ses centres ou instituts membres. Ces stages peuvent aider les boursiers postdoctoraux du CRSH à consolider leurs travaux de recherche et à découvrir d’autres possibilités de formation en recherche et de perfectionnement professionnel.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section Admissibilité de la description des bourses postdoctorales.




5. Puis-je présenter une demande de bourse postdoctorale du CRSH si je désire utiliser ma bourse postdoctorale à l’université où j’ai obtenu mon doctorat?

Oui, mais puisque l’un des principaux objectifs de la bourse est de permettre aux chercheurs de créer ou d’étendre leur réseau de personnes-ressources en matière de recherche, on s’attend à ce que de telles circonstances soient rares. Le cas échéant, vous devrez fournir une justification du lieu d'utilisation de la bourse bien étayée des raisons vous poussant à demeurer dans le même établissement.




6. Comment puis-je m’affilier à un établissement?

Faites des recherches, établissez des contacts et négociez avec le directeur et l’établissement proposés avant de compléter votre demande de bourse postdoctorale du CRSH.

Communiquez avec les personnes concernées par téléphone, par courriel, en personne, etc.




7. Puis-je m’affilier à deux établissements ou avoir plus d’un superviseur?

Au moment de remplir votre formulaire de demande, vous ne pouvez indiquer qu’une affiliation ou qu’un superviseur. Si vous proposez une affiliation avec un second établissement ou si vous proposez avoir un second superviseur, veuillez en faire mention dans votre programme de travail.




8. Dois-je résider aux environs de l’établissement auquel je suis affilié?

Le CRSH n’a pas d’exigence liée au lieu de résidence. Toutefois, gardez à l’esprit que ces bourses ont pour objectif, entre autres, de permettre aux chercheurs de créer ou d’étendre leur réseau de personnes-ressources en matière de recherche ainsi que d’enrichir leur expérience d’enseignement. En conséquence, la relation avec votre établissement et votre directeur devrait correspondre aux besoins de votre projet et aux objectifs de la bourse. Veuillez consulter l’établissement auquel vous êtes affilié, car il peut imposer certaines conditions de résidence.




9. Qu’est-ce qu’un doctorat achevé?

Un doctorat achevé signifie que vous avez répondu à toutes les exigences du diplôme, ce qui comprend la soutenance de thèse et la présentation de la version révisée de votre thèse de doctorat. La date d’achèvement du doctorat est la date à laquelle vous avez répondu à toutes les exigences et non pas la date d’obtention du diplôme.

Si vous obtenez une bourse postdoctorale du CRSH, vous devez, avant de pouvoir détenir votre bourse, soumettre des documents officiels provenant de l’université où vous avez obtenu votre doctorat qui confirment que vous avez répondu à toutes les exigences du diplôme.




10. Puis-je présenter une demande s’il me manque une lettre d’appréciation?

Non. Tous les éléments provenant de tierces parties doivent être complétés et joints avant la date limite de manière à ce que vous puissiez soumettre votre demande. Vérifiez auprès de vos répondants afin de vous assurer qu’ils ont soumis leur lettre (et que les lettres ont ainsi été jointes à votre demande) afin de vous assurer que votre demande est complète au moment de la soumettre.

Remarque : le CRSH n’accepte pas, sous aucun prétexte, les demandes ou les éléments en retard.




11. Qu’est-ce qu’un poste universitaire et de quel type de lettre émise par mon université le CRSH a-t-il besoin au sujet de mon poste?

Si vous occupez un poste universitaire, vous devez télécharger une lettre de votre université confirmant que vous n’occupez pas un poste permanent ou un poste menant à la permanence.

Veuillez noter que le CRSH acceptera également une copie numérisée de votre contrat. La lettre ou le contrat ne seront pas transmis aux membres du comité.




12. Les présentations de conférence devraient-elles faire partie des contributions soumises à un comité de lecture ou des contributions non soumises à un comité de lecture?

Les présentations de conférence peuvent faire partie des contributions soumises à un comité de lecture uniquement si elles répondent aux critères appropriés. Les contributions soumises à un comité de lecture ont fait l’objet d’un processus d’évaluation du mérite par les pairs avant leur publication ou leur présentation. Un ouvrage soumis à un comité de lecture a été évalué dans sa totalité (et non pas uniquement en fonction d’un résumé ou d’un extrait).




13. Puis-je inclure, dans ma bibliographie ou mes citations, un ouvrage dont la publication a été acceptée, mais qui n’a pas encore été publié?

Oui. Vous pouvez inclure des ouvrages dont la publication a été acceptée en mentionnant la date de publication prévue. Par contre, veuillez ne pas inclure d’ouvrages dont l’évaluation est en cours et dont la publication n’a donc pas encore été acceptée.




14. Que dois-je inscrire dans la section Recherche financée?

La section « Recherche financée » est réservée aux subventions et au financement obtenus spécialement pour la recherche, par opposition aux bourses générales. Il n’est pas rare que les nouveaux chercheurs n’aient aucune donnée à insérer dans cette section.

Les bourses du CRSH telles les bourses doctorales du CRSH devraient être inscrites dans la section « Prix et distinctions ».




15. Dois-je transmettre mes relevés de notes?

Non. Les demandes de bourses postdoctorales du CRSH ne nécessitent pas les relevés de notes des candidats.




16. Le CRSH offre-t-il d’autres occasions de financement intéressantes pour les chercheurs postdoctoraux?

Pour obtenir la liste complète des occasions de financement du CRSH qui pourraient intéresser les chercheurs postdoctoraux, veuillez utiliser l’outil de recherche de financement et sélectionner « chercheur postdoctoral » comme type de candidat.




17. Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, je suis incapable de présenter ma demande avant la date limite, pourrai-je le faire plus tard?

Non. Le CRSH n’accepte pas, sous aucun prétexte, les demandes en retard.

Remarque : Le CRSH encourage fortement les candidats à soumettre leur demande avant la date limite. En règle générale, un nombre très élevé d’utilisateurs se connectent au système électronique le dernier jour, ce qui peut entraîner des retards et gêner la soumission des demandes en temps voulu. Les candidats qui ont besoin d’aide pour préparer leur demande doivent communiquer avec le personnel du Portefeuille de la formation en recherche du CRSH bien avant la date limite fixée pour la présentation des demandes.




18. Ma demande est prête. Pourquoi suis-je incapable de l’envoyer?

Une demande complète comprend tous les éléments joints exigés (y compris deux lettres d’appréciation, une évaluation de recherche et un formulaire de nomination par l’établissement dûment rempli). Si vos répondants n’ont pas préparé et téléchargés ces documents, vous ne serez pas en mesure de présenter votre demande. Les candidats ont la responsabilité de s’assurer que leurs répondants préparent leur lettre bien avant la date limite fixée pour la présentation des demandes. Ils sont également chargés de s’assurer que tous les éléments nécessaires de la demande ont été soumis (y compris les pièces jointes et les lettres).

Le système électronique de présentation de demandes du CRSH n’accepte aucune demande s’il ne considère pas les renseignements fournis comme valides. Visualisez et vérifiez chaque page de votre demande et réglez les problèmes indiqués par le système. Veuillez noter que le système ne vous permet de remplir le champ « Autre » que si vous avez sélectionné ce champ dans la liste déroulante.




19. Puis-je mettre ma demande à jour après l’avoir envoyée?

Vous ne pouvez pas modifier votre demande après l’avoir soumise. Toutefois, vous pouvez faire parvenir par courrier électronique toute mise à jour de vos coordonnées à l’adresse bourses@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.



Top

Processus de sélection

20. Qui évalue les demandes?

Le personnel de programme du CRSH effectuera un examen préliminaire de votre demande afin d’en déterminer l’admissibilité. Les demandes retenues seront évaluées par les membres d’un comité de sélection multidisciplinaire bilingue formé de chercheurs, conformément à un processus indépendant d’évaluation du mérite.




21. Selon quels critères ma demande sera-t-elle évaluée?

Votre demande sera évaluée selon les critères d’évaluation présentés dans la description de l’occasion de financement liée aux bourses postdoctorales du CRSH.




22. Puis-je obtenir des commentaires du comité au sujet du résultat de mon évaluation?

Étant donné le grand nombre de demandes, aucun commentaire n’est fourni. En effet, les membres de comité ne fournissent pas d’évaluations écrites de chaque demande. De plus, le CRSH ne conserve pas de dossier des avis unanimes au sujet des atouts et des lacunes de chaque demande.




23. À qui puis-je m’adresser si la réponse à ma question ne figure pas sur cette page?

Pour en savoir plus sur les bourses postdoctorales du CRSH, veuillez vous adressez au Portefeuille de la formation en recherche :
Courriel : bourses@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Tél. : 613-943-7777

Pour toute question d’ordre technique, veuillez vous adresser au Bureau de soutien :
Courriel : soutienweb@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca
Tél. : 613-995-4273