Preparing an Insight Development Grants research-creation application

Who is research-creation for?

The Insight Development Grants funding opportunity invites artist-researchers—or teams of artists and researchers—affiliated with Canadian postsecondary institutions to apply for research grants of one or two years' duration, to support research-creation projects.

All applicants and participants must meet the funding opportunity’s eligibility criteria specific to their role in the project. Professional artists may participate as research collaborators, consultants and/or professional service providers, or participants. If artists are involved as paid consultants or participants, their fees should be in accordance with the principal investigator’s institutional requirements. Applicants should consult artist representation agencies, such as the Canadian Artists' Representation / Le Front des artistes canadiens, the Union des artistes, or the Canadian Actors’ Equity Association, for more detailed information about artists’ fees.

What should I do?

Before submitting your proposal, determine whether your research falls within SSHRC’s mandate. First-time applicants may find it helpful to contact the research office of their institution or the program officer to clarify eligibility, assessment criteria or other details.

If working with new technologies, or within the scientific or architectural fields, applicants should take particular care to ensure their research falls within SSHRC's mandate and not that of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council. The objectives and outcomes of the proposed project should be related to the social sciences and the humanities.

Clearly describe the creation process and expected artistic outputs.

Applicants should discuss with their research office any ethical considerations regarding research involving Aboriginal Peoples or, more broadly, research involving humans.

Proposals should contain both a developed scholarly apparatus and an integral connection to contemporary literary/artistic practices. A research-creation approach represents sustained, reflective research set directly and actively within the creation process itself. Research exclusively about the creation process or about literary/artistic productions, or creative work involving minimal scholarly investigation, would not be considered to fall within the scope of research-creation.

A research-creation proposal must:

  • address clear research questions;
  • offer theoretical contextualization within the relevant field(s) of inquiry;
  • present a well-considered methodological approach and creation process; and
  • include plans to produce an artwork as part of the proposed project.

Both the research and resulting artistic works must meet peer standards of excellence and be suitable for publication, public performance and/or viewing.

Proposed projects must meet the requirements outlined in the definition of research-creation, the funding opportunity description, the Regulations Governing Grant Applications, and this web page. It is the applicant’s responsibility to demonstrate that the proposed project is relevant for research-creation.

Applicants must show that their proposed project is well thought out and can be carried out as planned. Ensure that the theory and methodology are aligned with your proposal’s objectives, and that they contribute to the advancement of artistic practice or of the arts in general, and thereby to knowledge. Clearly demonstrate how the research informs the creation process, and how the creation process is integrated and relevant to the project.

Provide relevant background information. Do not presume that adjudication committee members are familiar with your work or the specific terminology and particularities of your field of specialization.

Be concise and to the point. Avoid lengthy, vague, general statements about your proposed project.

Who will assess my application?

Insight Development Grant applications are adjudicated by disciplinary, multidisciplinary, and/or thematic merit review committees, according to the number and nature of applications received, and taking into account information provide by the applicants. The committee that evaluates research-creation proposals includes artist-researchers. The committee is structured to ensure the representation of expert knowledge from a broad range of fields from the research community, as well as regional, linguistic, cultural and gender balance.

How will my application be assessed?

All applications must meet the Insight Development Grants evaluation criteria and the Insight program’s objectives. SSHRC Challenge, Feasibility and Capability evaluation criteria form the basis for the merit review committee’s decisions. Artistic merit and quality measures will be assessed according to the established standards of the discipline and the artistic practice. The Challenge, Feasibility and Capability criteria are applied to both research and artistic merit.

What should I include in the application?

Your application should include your:

  • application form;
  • curriculum vitae; and
  • support material.

What support material should I select for my application?

Support material is a mandatory part of your application. It is the equivalent of your portfolio, and should complement and strengthen the rest of your grant application.

Committees base their ratings of artistic merit on the support material and the evaluation criteria. Artwork provided should be examples of your previous and/or current work, and your artistic development. SSHRC highly recommends applicants submit research-creation support material in the form of an online digital portfolio. See SSHRC’s Guidelines for Research-Creation Support Materials.

Applicants should choose material that reflects the path of their artistic development and achievements, and shows their artistic promise. You should include recent work relevant to the grant application. You can also include some earlier work, to demonstrate for the committee your artistic growth and development.

Make sure that hyperlinks to your online support material work, and that the website is of the best possible quality. Provide the link and any related information in the support material section (one-page attachment) of the application form. Only websites whose links are provided in the support material attachment will be viewed during the adjudication process.

What are the last steps in preparing my application?

Make sure your text is free of spelling errors and that your budget is realistic and well justified.

Ensure that your application is complete. Incomplete applications are automatically ineligible.

Tip: Ask someone who has not previously read your application to read it and give you constructive criticism.

Submit your application to your institution’s research office by its internal deadline.

Préparer une demande de subvention Savoir ou de subvention de développement Savoir portant sur la recherche-création

Qui tire parti de la recherche-création?

Dans le cadre du programme Savoir, le CRSH invite les chercheurs, les chercheurs-créateurs et les équipes d’artistes et de chercheurs à présenter une demande de financement pour leurs projets de recherche-création.

Tous les candidats et les participants aux subventions Savoir et aux subventions de développement Savoir doivent répondre aux critères d’admissibilité propres au rôle qu’ils tiennent dans l’exécution du projet. Les artistes professionnels peuvent participer à titre de collaborateurs à la recherche, de consultants ou de fournisseurs de services professionnels. Si les artistes participent à titre de consultants ou de participants rémunérés, leurs honoraires devraient être conformes aux exigences de l’établissement du chercheur principal. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les honoraires des artistes, le CRSH suggère aux candidats de consulter des organismes de représentation d’artistes, tels que le Front des artistes canadiens, l’Union des artistes ou la Canadian Actors' Equity Association.



Top

Que devrais-je faire?

Déterminez si votre recherche correspond au mandat du CRSH avant de présenter votre demande. Les objectifs et les résultats du projet proposé doivent se rapporter aux sciences humaines.

Les personnes qui présentent une demande pour la première fois pourront obtenir de l'aide en communiquant avec le bureau de la recherche de leur établissement ou l’agent de programme du CRSH approprié pour clarifier les critères d’admissibilité, les critères d’évaluation ou d’autres détails.

S'ils emploient de nouvelles technologies ou font de la recherche dans des domaines liés aux sciences pures ou à l'architecture, les candidats doivent porter une attention toute particulière à leur demande pour s’assurer que leur recherche s’inscrit dans le mandat du CRSH et non dans celui du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie.

Les candidats doivent discuter avec le bureau de la recherche de leur établissement de toute question liées aux normes et aux exigences éthiques se rapportant à la recherche avec des êtres humains et, plus particulièrement, à la recherche visant les peuples autochtones.

Les propositions doivent contenir parallèlement un appareil critique développé et un lien intégral avec les pratiques littéraires ou artistiques actuelles. Une approche axée sur la recherche-création comporte une étude soutenue et réfléchie ancrée directement et concrètement dans le processus de création en soi. La recherche se rapportant exclusivement au processus créatif ou à des productions littéraires ou artistiques et le travail de création impliquant un contexte critique minimal ne seront pas considérés comme de la recherche s’inscrivant dans la définition de la recherche-création.

Une proposition de recherche-création doit :

  • porter sur des questions de recherche claires;
  • offrir une mise en contexte théorique dans les domaines de recherche pertinents;
  • présenter une approche méthodologique et un processus de création bien conçus.

La recherche et les œuvres créatives qui s’ensuivent doivent répondre aux normes d’excellence établies par les pairs et être propices à la publication, à une prestation ou à une présentation publique.

Les projets proposés doivent répondre aux exigences énumérées dans la définition de la recherche-création, la description de l'occasion de financement liée aux subventions Savoir et aux subventions de développement Savoir et les Règlements régissant les demandes de subvention.

Les candidats doivent démontrer que le projet proposé a fait l’objet de mûres réflexions et qu’il peut être accompli comme prévu. La théorie et la méthodologie doivent correspondre aux objectifs de la proposition. En outre, les candidats doivent clairement démontrer dans leur proposition comment leur recherche contribue au processus de création et comment ce dernier est pertinent et intégré au projet.

Les candidats doivent fournir des détails contextuels utiles et ne pas présumer que les personnes chargées de l’évaluation du mérite connaissent leur travail ou le vocabulaire particulier ou les particularités de leur domaine de spécialisation.

Les propositions doivent être concises et aller droit au but. Pour ce faire, les candidats doivent éviter de rédiger de longs énoncés vagues et généraux au sujet du projet qu’ils proposent.



Top

Qui évaluera ma demande?

De façon générale, les demandes de subvention Savoir ou de subvention de développement Savoir portant sur la recherche-création sont évaluées par un comité d’évaluation du mérite de nature multidisciplinaire. Ce comité est composé de manière à assurer la représentation de connaissances spécialisées provenant d’une grande variété de domaines issus de la communauté de recherche, tout en assurant la représentation des régions, des langues, des cultures et des sexes.



Top

Comment ma demande sera-t-elle évaluée?

Les demandes doivent répondre aux critères d’évaluation des subventions Savoir et des subventions de développement Savoir ainsi qu’aux objectifs du programme Savoir. Les décisions du comité d’évaluation du mérite sont fondées sur les critères d’évaluation du CRSH suivants : défi, faisabilité et capacité.



Top

Que devrais-je inclure dans ma demande?

La demande doit comprendre :

  • le formulaire de demande;
  • le curriculum vitæ;
  • le matériel d’appui.


Top

Quel matériel d’appui devrais-je choisir pour ma demande?

Si les candidats indiquent que leur proposition est liée à la recherche-création, ils doivent inclure un lien menant à un site Web qui fournit des échantillons de leur travail afin d’illustrer au mieux les qualifications de leur équipe ou la nature du projet de recherche-création qu’ils proposent. Ils doivent inclure ce lien et tout autre renseignement connexe dans la section appropriée du formulaire de demande, comme le précise les instructions. De plus, ils sont tenus de s’assurer que le site Web est de la meilleure qualité possible et que tous les liens sont fonctionnels au moins six mois après la date limite de présentation des demandes.

Les évaluateurs feront un effort raisonnable pour visionner ou écouter le matériel d’appui. Cependant, en raison des défis techniques que cela implique, le CRSH ne peut pas garantir qu’ils prennent forcément connaissance des échantillons.

Remarque : Le CRSH n’assume aucune responsabilité si les liens fournis ne fonctionnent pas ou que le serveur n’est pas fonctionnel au moment de la période de sélection.

Veuillez vous reporter aux Lignes directrices concernant les documents d’appui liés à la recherche-création du CRSH.

Quelles sont les dernières étapes de préparation de ma demande?

Les candidats doivent :

  • s’assurer que leur texte ne comporte aucune faute d’orthographe et que leur budget est réaliste et bien justifié;
  • veiller à ce que leur demande soit complète, car les demandes incomplètes sont automatiquement considérées comme non admissibles;
  • présenter leur demande au bureau de la recherche de leur établissement selon l’échéance qu’il fixe.