Postsecondary Institutions Applying for Institutional Eligibility (Colleges and Universities)

Application Process

A postsecondary institution can submit an institutional eligibility application to SSHRC at any time.

Requirements

Canadian postsecondary institutions that wish to administer grants and awards must demonstrate that they meet the requirements outlined in the Institutional Eligibility Requirements for the Administration of Grants and Awards by submitting supporting documentation to institutional.eligibility@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.

All documents must be numbered and assembled in the order indicated. All documents should be submitted in PDF or Microsoft Word format to institutional.eligibility@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.

To become eligible to more than one federal research granting agency—i.e. SSHRC, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) or the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)—please request a “joint review.” Ensure that your application specifies which other agencies you wish to apply to, and indicates that you authorize the agencies to share the documentation provided. A joint response will be issued once the review is complete. Please note that you need only send your request to one agency.

Requirements for Institutions With Signed Agreements at the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council or the Canadian Institutes of Health Research

If an institution is already eligible at NSERC or CIHR, this will minimize the institution’s workload in applying for SSHRC institutional eligibility. SSHRC will require the institution’s written permission to access the documents provided to NSERC or CIHR. In addition, the applicant will have to submit:


Guidelines for Research Administrators

The institution’s research administrator is responsible for reviewing applications for SSHRC funding from applicants affiliated with their institution, approving them as appropriate, and forwarding them to SSHRC.

In order to apply for a funding opportunity, each organization eligible to administer grants and awards must have an assigned research administrator.

It is the research administrator’s responsibility to ensure that any application is forwarded to SSHRC in good order by the application deadline. In forwarding an application to SSHRC, the research administrator confirms that the organization will take responsibility for the administration of SSHRC funds, if the application receives funding.

The research administrator is defined as an authorized official designated by the organization, who:

  • has the authority to bind the organization to the general conditions governing grants and awards, as outlined in the Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions (the Agreement);
  • has financial signing authority;
  • holds an official, paid position with the organization; and
  • is not listed as a member of the research team (applicant, co-applicant, collaborator) on the application for funding.

Review Process

SSHRC will declare an institution eligible only once a copy of the Agreement signed by SSHRC’s president and the president / principal / executive director of the organization is received by SSHRC. A postsecondary institution is invited to become a signatory to the Agreement once SSHRC is satisfied that the institution meets all the eligibility requirements.

Under no circumstances will an institution be recognized as conditionally eligible if it has not fully met all the requirements.

SSHRC will not release funding to an institution before receiving the signed Agreement. Payments may commence upon receipt of the signed Agreement from the organization.

Institutional eligibility determinations cannot be appealed. However, an organization can submit new information demonstrating compliance with SSHRC’s requirements at any time.


Status Retraction

Full eligibility status can be revoked if:

  • an organization is found to have breached the Agreement and/or its policies; and/or
  • financial monitoring visits find that the organization is not compliant with the Agreement.

If an organization becomes ineligible, then no more payments can be made to that organization, and active grants or awards will be put on hold.

An organization can restore its institutional eligibility once sufficient assurance is provided that the issues have been resolved.

Demande d’admissibilité des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire (collèges et universités)

Processus de demande

Les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire peuvent présenter une demande d’admissibilité au CRSH en tout temps.

Exigences

Les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens qui souhaitent administrer des subventions et des bourses doivent prouver qu’ils satisfont les exigences en matière d’admissibilité des établissements relativement à l’administration des subventions et des bourses en présentant des documents à l’appui de leur demande à admissibilite.etablissements@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.

Tous les documents doivent être numérotés et assemblés dans l’ordre indiqué. Ils doivent être présentés en format PDF ou Microsoft Word à admissibilite.etablissements@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca.

Pour être admissible selon les critères de plus d’un organisme subventionnaire fédéral, soit le CRSH, le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG) ou les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), un établissement doit demander un « examen conjoint ». Dans sa demande, il doit mentionner à quels autres organismes subventionnaires il souhaite présenter une demande et autoriser les organismes subventionnaires à partager les documents fournis. Une réponse conjointe sera envoyée une fois l’examen terminé. La demande ne doit être envoyée qu’à un seul organisme subventionnaire.

Exigences concernent les établissements liés par une entente signée avec le CRSNG ou les IRSC

Un établissement déjà admissible auprès du CRSNG ou des IRSC voit sa charge de travail réduite pour présenter une demande d’admissibilité au CRSH. Le CRSH exigera la permission écrite de l’établissement d’accéder aux documents fournis au CRSNG ou aux IRSC. Le candidat devra également fournir :


Lignes directrices à l’intention des administrateurs de recherche

L’administrateur de recherche de l’établissement est chargé d’examiner les demandes de financement du CRSH que présentent les candidats affiliés à leur établissement, de les approuver et de les faire parvenir au CRSH.

Afin de présenter une demande dans le cadre d’une occasion de financement, chaque établissement admissible doit nommer un administrateur de recherche qui sera responsable de l’administration des bourses et des subventions.

L’administrateur de recherche doit s’assurer que la demande est envoyée au CRSH en bonne et due forme et dans les délais prescrits. En faisant parvenir une demande au CRSH, il confirme que l’établissement assume la responsabilité d’administrer les fonds du CRSH si la demande est retenue.

L’administrateur de recherche est un représentant autorisé qui est nommé par l’établissement et qui répond aux critères suivants :

  • il dispose du pouvoir d’engager l’établissement à respecter les conditions générales régissant les subventions et les bourses telles qu’elles sont énoncées dans l’entente sur l’administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche (l’entente);
  • il possède le pouvoir de signature quant aux questions de nature financière;
  • il occupe un poste officiel rémunéré au sein de l’établissement;
  • il ne fait pas partie de l’équipe de recherche (en tant que candidat, cocandidat ou collaborateur) qui présente la demande de financement.

Processus d’évaluation

Le CRSH considérera un établissement comme admissible lorsqu’il aura reçu l’entente dûment signée par le président du CRSH et le recteur, le principal ou le directeur général de l’établissement. Un établissement est invité à signer l’entente lorsque le CRSH considère qu’il respecte toutes les exigences en matière d’admissibilité.

Aucun établissement n’est déclaré admissible sous condition s’il ne répond pas encore à toutes les exigences du CRSH.

Le CRSH ne versera pas de fonds à un établissement avant de recevoir sa copie signée de l’entente. Les versements débuteront sur réception de la copie signée.

On ne peut pas faire appel des décisions liées à l’admissibilité des établissements. Un établissement peut toutefois fournir, en tout temps, de nouveaux renseignements démontrant qu’il répond aux exigences du CRSH.


Retrait du statut

L’admissibilité d’un établissement peut être révoquée :

  • s’il enfreint l’entente ou ses politiques;
  • si les visites de contrôle financier montrent qu’il ne respecte pas l’entente.

Lorsqu’un établissement devient non admissible, aucun versement supplémentaire ne peut lui être fait et ses bourses et ses subventions en cours sont suspendues.

Un établissement peut rétablir son admissibilité en faisant la prouvant qu’il a répondu aux préoccupations soulevées.