Not-for-Profit Organizations Applying for Institutional Eligibility

Some SSHRC funding opportunities (Partnership Grants, Connection Grants and Aid to Scholarly Journals) allow for a not-for-profit organization to be the applicant, while the Partnership Development Grants opportunity allows for applicants to be from a not-for-profit organization. However, in these cases, the grant funding, once awarded, may only be administered by an eligible institution who is a signatory to the Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions (the Agreement) or the Terms and Conditions.

As virtually all universities and the majority of colleges in Canada have the required policies and infrastructure in place to administer SSHRC grants and awards and are already signatories to the Agreement, it is often useful to work out agreements whereby partners agree to have the postsecondary institution administer the grant. If this is not possible, the lead not-for-profit organization may apply for its own institutional eligibility with SSHRC.

Deciding Whether to Apply for Institutional Eligibility as a Not-For-Profit Organization?

  • Institutional eligibility granted to not-for-profit organizations is for the following specific funding opportunities only.
    • Provisional institutional eligibility: not-for-profit organizations applying for institutional eligibility for Partnership Development Grants or Partnership Grants funding opportunities. An application to renew eligibility must be submitted for each new granting cycle.
    • Restricted institutional eligibility: not-for-profit organizations applying for institutional eligibility for Connection Grants or Aid to Scholarly Journals funding opportunities. An application to renew eligibility must be submitted for each new granting cycle.
  • SSHRC will sign the Agreement or Terms and Conditions with a not-for-profit organization only if their funding opportunity application is successful and they are declared eligible to administer SSHRC grants and awards.
  • A decision on the organization’s institutional eligibility will only be made after the announcement of competition results.
  • For a sample letter, “Oversight Agreement letter between a university and a not-for-profit organization,” please contact SSHRC.

SSHRC will not release grant funding to an organization before the organization becomes a signatory to the Agreement or Terms and Conditions.


Options for Not-For-Profit Organizations


Guidelines for Research Administrators

The institution’s research administrator is responsible for reviewing applications for SSHRC funding from applicants affiliated with their institution, approving them as appropriate, and forwarding them to SSHRC.

In order to apply for a funding opportunity, each organization eligible to administer grants and awards must have an assigned research administrator.

It is the research administrator’s responsibility to ensure that the application is forwarded to SSHRC in good order by the application deadline. In forwarding an application to SSHRC, the research administrator confirms that the organization will take responsibility for the administration of SSHRC funds, if the application receives funding.

The research administrator is defined as an authorized official designated by the organization, who:

  • has the authority to bind the organization to the general conditions governing grants and awards, as outlined in the Agreement or Terms and Conditions;
  • has financial signing authority;
  • holds an official, paid position with the organization; and
  • is not listed as a member of the research team (applicant, co-applicant, collaborator) on the application for funding.

Review Process

SSHRC will declare an institution eligible only once a copy of the Agreement or Terms and Conditions, signed by SSHRC’s president and the president / principal / executive director of the organization is received by SSHRC. A not-for-profit organization is invited to become a signatory to the Agreement or Terms and Conditions once SSHRC is satisfied that the organization meets all the eligibility requirements, and only if their funding opportunity application is successful.

Under no circumstances will an organization be recognized as conditionally eligible if it has not fully met all the requirements.

SSHRC will not release funding to an organization before receiving the signed Agreement or Terms and Conditions. Payments may commence upon receipt of a signed Agreement or Terms and Conditions from the organization. In signing the Agreement or Terms and Conditions, an organization agrees to meet all requirements itemized in that document.

Institutional eligibility determinations cannot be appealed. However, an organization can submit new information demonstrating compliance with SSHRC’s requirements at any time.


Status retraction

Institutional eligibility status can be revoked if:

  • an organization is found to have breached the Agreement or Terms and Conditions, and/or its policies;
  • financial monitoring visits find that the organization is not compliant with the Agreement or Terms and Conditions.

If an organization becomes ineligible, then no more payments can be made to that organization, and active grants or awards are put on hold.

An organization can restore its eligibility once sufficient assurance is provided that the issues have been resolved.

Demande d’admissibilité des organismes sans but lucratif

Certaines occasions de financement du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) [les subventions de partenariat, les subventions Connexion et l’aide aux revues savantes] permettent à un organisme sans but lucratif de présenter une demande. Une subvention de développement de partenariat permet quant à elle à un candidat de provenir d’un organisme sans but lucratif. Dans ce cas, cependant, la subvention, une fois accordée, ne pourra être administrée que par un organisme admissible qui a signé une entente sur l’administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche (l’entente) ou les conditions d'admissibilité.

Comme presque toutes les universités et la majorité des collèges du Canada ont déjà les politiques et les infrastructures requises pour administrer des bourses et des subventions du CRSH et ont déjà signé l’entente, il est souvent pratique d’établir des accords selon lesquels les partenaires communautaires acceptent de laisser un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire administrer la bourse ou la subvention. Si ce n’est pas possible, les organismes sans but lucratif peuvent présenter une demande d’admissibilité au CRSH.

Devriez-vous présenter une demande d’admissibilité en tant qu’organisme sans but lucratif?

  • L’admissibilité accordée aux organismes sans but lucratif vise uniquement les occasions de financement suivantes :
    • admissibilité conditionnelle : organisme sans but lucratif qui présente une demande d’admissibilité dans le cadre des occasions de financement liées aux subventions de développement de partenariat et aux subventions de partenariat. Une demande de renouvellement de l’admissibilité doit être présentée pour chaque nouveau cycle de subvention;
    • admissibilité restreinte : organisme sans but lucratif qui présente une demande dans le cadre des occasions de financement liées aux subventions Connexion et à l’aide aux revues savantes. Une demande de renouvellement de l’admissibilité doit être présentée pour chaque nouveau cycle de subvention.
  • Le CRSH signera l’entente ou les conditions d’admissibilité avec un organisme sans but lucratif seulement si sa demande de financement est acceptée et qu’il est déclaré admissible à administrer des subventions ou des bourses du CRSH.
  • La décision concernant l’admissibilité de l’organisme ne sera prise que lorsque les résultats du concours auront été annoncés.
  • Pour obtenir un exemple de lettre d’entente de supervision entre une université et un organisme sans but lucratif, l’organisme doit communiquer avec le CRSH.

Le CRSH n’attribuera aucune subvention à un organisme avant qu’il ne signe l’entente ou les conditions d’admissibilité.


Possibilités offertes aux organismes sans but lucratif


Lignes directrices à l’intention des administrateurs de recherche

L’administrateur de recherche de l’organisme est chargé d’examiner les demandes de financement du CRSH que présentent des candidats affiliés à leur organisme, de les approuver et de les faire parvenir au CRSH.

Afin de présenter une demande dans le cadre d’une occasion de financement, chaque organisme admissible doit nommer un administrateur de recherche; qui sera responsable de l’administration des bourses et des subventions.

L’administrateur de recherche doit s’assurer que la demande est envoyée au CRSH en bonne et due forme et dans les délais prescrits. En faisant parvenir une demande au CRSH, il confirme que l’organisme assume la responsabilité d’administrer les fonds du CRSH si la demande est retenue.

L’administrateur de recherche est un représentant autorisé qui est nommé par l’organisme et qui répond aux critères suivants :

  • il dispose du pouvoir d’engager l’organisme à respecter les conditions générales régissant les subventions et les bourses telles qu’elles sont énoncées dans l’entente ou les conditions d’admissibilité;
  • il possède le pouvoir de signature quant aux questions de nature financière;
  • il occupe un poste officiel rémunéré au sein de l’organisme;
  • il ne fait pas partie de l’équipe de recherche (en tant que candidat, cocandidat ou collaborateur) qui présente la demande de financement.

Processus d’évaluation

Le CRSH considérera un organisme comme admissible lorsqu’il aura reçu l’entente ou les conditions d’admissibilité dûment signées par le président du CRSH et le recteur, le principal ou le directeur général de l’organisme. Un organisme sans but lucratif est invité à signer l’entente ou les conditions d’admissibilité lorsque le CRSH considère qu’il respecte toutes les exigences en matière d’admissibilité et que sa demande de financement est acceptée.

Aucun organisme n’est déclaré admissible sous condition s’il ne répond pas encore à toutes les exigences du CRSH.

Le CRSH ne versera pas de fonds à un organisme avant de recevoir sa copie signée de l’entente ou des conditions d’admissibilité. Les versements débuteront sur réception de la copie signée. En signant l’entente ou les conditions d’admissibilité, l’organisme s’engage à répondre à toutes les exigences qui y sont énoncées.

On ne peut pas faire appel des décisions liées à l’admissibilité des organismes. Un organisme peut toutefois fournir, en tout temps, de nouveaux renseignements démontrant qu’il répond aux exigences du CRSH.


Retrait du statut

L’admissibilité d’un organisme peut être révoquée :

  • s’il enfreint l’entente ou les conditions d’admissibilité ou ses politiques;
  • si les visites de contrôle financier montrent qu’il ne respecte pas l’entente ou les conditions d’admissibilité.

Lorsqu’un organisme devient non admissible, aucun versement supplémentaire ne peut lui être fait, et ses bourses et ses subventions en cours sont suspendues.

Un organisme peut rétablir son admissibilité en faisant la preuve qu’il a répondu aux préoccupations soulevées.