Partnerships for Success: Network Joins Industry and Academics


Duration

2:56

Release Date

May 7, 2013


Description

Neil Randall, director of the University of Waterloo’s Games Institute, speaks about the SSHRC Partnership Grant-funded Interactive and Multi-Modal Experience Research Syndicate (IMMERSe), a network that joins together six universities and six industry partners to conduct a variety of studies on game-player immersion and behaviour.

Read the transcript

Neil Randall: We have five academic partners. These are: Concordia University, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, McMaster University, Carleton University and the University of California at Davis. We also have six industry partners, [including]: Microsoft Studios in Redmond, Washington, Electronic Arts in California—their head office in California. We have Communitech—who’s an aggregator and accelerator group in the Kitchener‑Waterloo region.

From my standpoint, the biggest benefit we can bring to the partners is a stronger understanding of how and why people play games. What we’re going to bring to them is a stronger understanding of what that process is and how the kinds of engagements that do happen do, in fact, happen. But there’s another side of this. Games companies tend to focus on engineering, computer science initiatives.

Where the arts come in typically is in graphics, animation and those sorts of fine‑arts kinds of activities. What we want to bring to them is the understanding that games are about stories and about storytelling. And if you want the best storytellers you have to turn to the people who understand stories. And that’s where the humanities and the social sciences come into play in a really strong way. My goal is to help game companies truly understand that.

Our research, in effect, would not be possible without the involvement of partners outside the academy. We need the games industries in order to drive our research, not so that we’re providing research for them—although, that’s certainly part of our goal—but so that we know what the questions are. And people I’ve talked to at Electronic Arts and Microsoft are very interested in this. Microsoft just told us specifically this is sort of a project area they want to move forward on.

Without the buy‑in from industry into what we’re trying to accomplish, this simply wouldn’t be anywhere near as effective.

In our case, because we were dealing with the games industry, which is a large industry—we have to remember it’s larger than the movie industry—one of the things we wanted to do was take advantage of existing partnerships that we might have and then expand it into other companies that we really knew we wanted to work with.

What we decided to was to focus on a group of about 10 companies and then narrow it down to five or six—whoever was going to jump in at the time—and the trick there is really a matter of just continuing to ask them what they’d like to get out of [the partnership] in the context of what we know we can deliver.

Le partenariat : clé de la réussite – Rapprocher l'industrie et le milieu universitaire


Durée

2 min 56 s

Date de publication

7 mai 2013


Description

Neil Randall, directeur du Games Institute de l’University of Waterloo, présente le réseauInteractive and Multi-Modal Experience Research Syndicate (IMMERSe), financé dans le cadre d’une subvention du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines. Ce réseau, qui réunit six universités et six partenaires de l’industrie, mène diverses études sur le comportement et l’immersion des amateurs de jeux vidéo.

Lire la transcription

Neil Randall : Nous avons cinq partenaires universitaires : l’Université Concordia, l’University of Ontario Institute of Technology, la McMaster University, la Carleton University et l’University of California (campus de Davis). Nous pouvons également compter sur six partenaires de l’industrie, dont Microsoft Studios, situé à Redmond, dans l’État de Washington; Electronic Arts, dont le siège social se trouve en Californie; et Communitech, un groupe de la région de Kitchener‑Waterloo qui s’occupe d’agrégateurs et d’accélérateurs.

Selon moi, nos partenaires profiteront de leur collaboration avec nous avant tout parce que nous les aiderons à mieux comprendre comment et pourquoi les gens jouent à des jeux vidéo. Ils sauront mieux en quoi consiste ce processus et comment se déroulent réellement les diverses formes de participation, lorsqu’elles surviennent. Mais il y a plus encore. Les entreprises de jeux vidéo ont tendance à se concentrer sur les initiatives liées à l’ingénierie et aux sciences informatiques.

Les arts ne font généralement leur apparition que dans les éléments graphiques, les animations et ce genre d’activités liées aux beaux-arts. Nous souhaitons faire comprendre à nos partenaires que les histoires et la manière de les raconter sont à la base du jeu vidéo. Par conséquent, s’ils veulent que les meilleurs conteurs fassent partie de leur équipe, ils doivent se tourner vers ceux qui comprennent les histoires. Voilà où les sciences humaines deviennent un élément clé. Mon but est d’aider les entreprises de jeux vidéo à vraiment comprendre ce principe.

En fait, il nous serait impossible de réaliser notre recherche sans l’engagement de partenaires extérieurs au milieu universitaire.

Nous avons besoin de la participation de l’industrie des jeux vidéo afin de mener notre recherche, non pas pour partager avec eux les résultats de nos recherches, même si cet échange fait partie de nos objectifs, mais pour être capables de mieux cerner les questions.

Notre projet intéresse beaucoup les personnes avec qui j’ai parlé chez Electronic Arts et Microsoft.

En effet, les gens de Microsoft nous ont récemment dit très clairement qu’il s’agit là d’un domaine qu’ils veulent développer. Si l’industrie des jeux vidéo n’appuyait pas ce que nous tentons d’accomplir, le processus serait loin d’être aussi efficace.

Dans notre cas, étant donné que nous traitions avec l’industrie des jeux vidéo qui, rappelons‑le, est plus importante que celle du cinéma, nous voulions, entre autres, tirer parti des partenariats que nous avions déjà établis, puis communiquer avec d’autres entreprises avec lesquelles nous souhaitions vraiment travailler.

Nous avons donc décidé de nous concentrer sur un groupe de 10 entreprises, puis de réduire ce nombre à cinq ou six, celles qui décideraient de faire partie du projet à ce moment‑là. La clé du succès, dans ce cas‑ci, c’est de toujours leur demander quels avantages elles aimeraient retirer du partenariat, compte tenu de ce que nous savons pouvoir offrir.