COVID-19 Update

COVID-19: Impact on SSHRC programs, experts database and perspectives from our community.


Partnerships for Success: Building Communities


Duration

1:48

Release Date

July 19, 2013


Description

David Newhouse and Tricia McGuire-Adams speak about their research partnership, which examines how people build successful communities.

Instead of a deficit-based approach to research, this model centers on success and is mutually beneficial for the researchers and the community members.

Read the transcript

David Newhouse: Our partners in Urban Aboriginal Knowledge Network are the National Association of Friendship Centres, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, and 57 other partners right across the country.

Our focus is on trying to understand how people build good communities. We’re trying to focus on success and focus on what people are doing. And that is a very different view of aboriginal communities than has usually been part of research literature.

Our research benefits from the experience of the National Association of Friendship Centres and their 120 centres across the country. They have an incredible range of experience and incredible knowledge that they bring to the table. [This research] reflects their experience for public policy makers.

Tricia McGuire‑Adams: It’s a community‑driven process. They’re going to let us know what their issues may be and the benefits involved in that. So, it’s certainly going to be focused on community‑centered research and the benefits to [the community members].

David Newhouse: They get the benefits of academic research. They get benefits of other experiences. It was a natural fit.

Tricia McGuire‑Adams: Moving away from the deficit based approach to the community, [with the] regeneration approach, there’s not enough research out there determining what the successes are. It is a mutual‑benefit approach to this research project.

David Newhouse: We brought in the government structure and clearly defined a bit more what we were going to do. What we try to do is bring a whole variety of different perspectives—different knowledge—to a particular phenomenon in hopes that we try to understand it better and in more complex ways. That results in their better ability to support social innovation and social policy, and that results in better communities and better lives for urban aboriginal people.

Le partenariat : clé de la réussite – Créer des communautés solides


Durée

1 min 48 s

Date de publication

19 juillet 2013


Description

David Newhouse et Tricia McGuire‑Adams parlent de leur partenariat de recherche, qui porte sur la façon dont les citoyens parviennent à bâtir des communautés solides.

Leur modèle s’éloigne de l’approche de recherche centrée sur le déficit pour en adopter une qui est axée sur la réussite et qui est profitable tant aux chercheurs qu’aux membres de la communauté.

Lire la transcription

David Newhouse : Nos partenaires au sein de l’Urban Aboriginal Knowledge Network sont l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada ainsi que 57 autres partenaires de tout le pays.

Nous cherchons à comprendre comment les citoyens parviennent à bâtir des communautés solides. Nous tentons de nous concentrer sur les réussites et sur ce que les gens réalisent. Il s’agit là d’une image des communautés autochtones très différente de celle que donnent en général les comptes rendus de recherche.

Dans le cadre de nos recherches, nous tirons parti des acquis de l’Association nationale des centres d’amitié et de plus de 120 centres du pays dotés d’un large éventail d’expériences et de connaissances formidables, ce qui aide les responsables de l’élaboration des politiques publiques.

Tricia McGuire‑Adams : Il s’agit d’un processus qui a la communauté comme levier. C’est elle qui nous fera savoir à quels enjeux elle fait face et comment elle tirera profit de cette démarche. C’est dire que nos recherches porteront sur la communauté et sur les bienfaits qui lui reviendront.

David Newhouse : La communauté bénéficiera des avantages que lui confère la recherche universitaire et tirera profit d’autres expériences. Voilà pourquoi ce partenariat allait de soi.

Tricia McGuire‑Adams : Nous nous éloignons de l’approche centrée sur le déficit pour en adopter une qui s’attache à la régénération de la communauté. Toutefois, les recherches portant sur l’identification de ces réussites sont insuffisantes.

Dans le cadre de ce projet de recherche, nous avons adopté une approche profitable à tous.

David Newhouse : Nous avons fait appel à la structure gouvernementale et défini clairement ce que nous comptions faire, à savoir tenter de rassembler de multiples connaissances et points de vue différents et les appliquer à un phénomène en particulier dans l’espoir de mieux le comprendre et d’en saisir la complexité. Ce faisant, les peuples autochtones urbains seront en mesure d’appuyer l’innovation et les politiques sociales, ce qui se traduira par de meilleures communautés et par une meilleure qualité de vie.