Carolyn Watters

Member of the Programs and Quality Committee


Carolyn Watters

Carolyn Watters was appointed as Dalhousie University’s provost and vice-president, Academic, in 2010, and has been instrumental in development of the university's first strategy for international partnerships, a robust in­house capacity for English-as-a-second-language, and pathways for international students coming to Dalhousie.

As a computer science professor at Acadia University and then Dalhousie, Watters has specialized in human-computer engagement in information spaces from documents to social media. Her interdisciplinary and collaborative work has spanned areas related to all three federal research granting agencies.

In 2006, Watters became dean of Dalhousie’s Faculty of Graduate Studies, as well as president of the Canadian Association for Graduate Studies, where she focused on building international relationships and understanding the changing needs of Canada’s PhD students and postdoctoral fellows.

Watters also serves as chair of the CALDO consortium of research-intensive universities, and has been a member of the Joint Implementation Committee for the Memorandum of Understanding between Canada and the Republic of Chile on Cooperation in Science, Technology and Innovation since its inception in 2011.

Carolyn Watters

Membre du Comité sur les programmes et la qualité


Carolyn Watters

Carolyn Watters a été nommée doyenne et vice-rectrice à l’enseignement à la Dalhousie University en 2010. Elle a grandement contribué à la mise en œuvre de la première stratégie de l’université en matière de partenariats internationaux, au renforcement des capacités internes en anglais langue seconde et à l’élaboration de parcours pour les étudiants internationaux qui viennent étudier à la Dalhousie University.

En tant que professeur en sciences informatiques de l’Acadia University puis de la Dalhousie University, Mme Watters se spécialise dans la coopération entre les humains et les machines dans les espaces d’information, des documents aux médias sociaux. Les travaux interdisciplinaires et collaboratifs qu’elle a réalisés s’étendent sur plusieurs domaines reliés au trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux.

En 2006, Mme Watters a accepté le rôle de doyenne de la Faculté des études supérieures à la Dalhousie University, tout en continuant d’agir à titre de présidente de l’Association canadienne pour les études supérieures. Ses efforts ont porté sur le renforcement des relations internationales et sur la compréhension des besoins en constante évolution des étudiants au doctorat et des boursiers postdoctoraux dans le marché canadien.

Mme Watters est également présidente du consortium CALDO qui regroupe des universités à forte vocation de recherche. Elle a été membre du comité conjoint de mise en œuvre du Protocole d'entente entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République du Chili sur la coopération en matière de science, de technologie et d'innovation depuis sa création en 2011.