Claire M. Morris

Member of the Independent Audit Committee


Claire M. Morris

A native of Ottawa, Ontario, Claire M. Morris holds a bachelor of arts and a master of social work from the University of Toronto. She has been awarded honorary doctorates from the University of New Brunswick, Thompson Rivers University and Cape Breton University.

Morris’s career spans the provincial, federal and non-governmental sectors. Her work reflects her strong commitment to higher education, social and health policy, and public administration.

Morris served as president and CEO of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC) from April 2004 until her retirement in May 2009.

Prior to joining AUCC (now Universities Canada), Morris was deputy minister of intergovernmental affairs in the Privy Council Office of Canada. This followed her three-and-a-half years as deputy minister of Human Resources Development Canada.

Before joining the federal government in 1998, Morris served as secretary to the cabinet and clerk of the Executive Council in the provincial government of New Brunswick. She joined the public service of New Brunswick in 1970, holding progressively responsible positions in the departments of Social Services and Health. She was appointed deputy minister of Health in 1983, and of the newly merged Health and Community Services in 1986. In 1988, Morris was appointed deputy minister of the Policy Secretariat in the Executive Council Office before becoming secretary to the cabinet in 1993.

Morris is a member of the board of governors of St. Thomas University in Fredericton, New Brunswick, and the senior advisory panel to the Auditor General of Canada. She has served on the board of directors of the Trans Canada Trail, Actua, the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute and the Vanier-Banting Secretariat. She also served as chair of the advisory board of the New Brunswick Social Policy Research Network.

Claire M. Morris

Membre du Comité d’audit indépendant


Claire M. Morris

Originaire d’Ottawa, en Ontario, Claire M. Morris est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts et d’une maîtrise en travail social de l’University of Toronto. L’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, la Thompson Rivers University et la Cape Breton University lui ont toutes trois décerné un doctorat honorifique.

Mme Morris a fait carrière au sein de la fonction publique provinciale et fédérale et du secteur non gouvernemental. Son parcours témoigne de son engagement ferme envers l’enseignement supérieur, les politiques sociales et les politiques de santé, de même que l’administration publique.

D’avril 2004 jusqu’à son départ à la retraite en mai 2009, elle a été présidente-directrice générale de l’Association des universités et collèges du Canada (AUCC).

Avant d’œuvrer à l’AUCC (maintenant Universités Canada), Mme Morris était sous-ministre des Affaires intergouvernementales au Bureau du Conseil privé du Canada. Auparavant, elle avait occupé pendant trois ans et demi le poste de sous-ministre à Développement des ressources humaines Canada.

Avant d’entrer au service de l’administration publique fédérale en 1998, Mme Morris était greffière du Conseil exécutif et secrétaire du Cabinet du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick. Entrée à la fonction publique provinciale en 1970, elle s’y était par la suite vu confier des postes comportant toujours plus de responsabilités aux ministères des Services sociaux et de la Santé. Elle a été nommée sous-ministre du ministère de la Santé en 1983, puis du nouveau ministère de la Santé et des Services communautaires, issu de la fusion des deux ministères, en 1986. Elle avait ensuite été nommée sous-ministre du Secrétariat des politiques du Conseil exécutif du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1988, avant de devenir secrétaire du Cabinet en 1993.

Mme Morris est membre du conseil des gouverneurs de la St. Thomas University, établie à Fredericton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et membre du Groupe des conseillers principaux du vérificateur général du Canada. Elle a siégé aux conseils d’administration du Sentier transcanadien, d’Actua, de l’institut de recherche du Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario et du Secrétariat Vanier-Banting. Elle a également été présidente du Conseil consultatif du Réseau de recherche sur les politiques sociales du Nouveau-Brunswick.